Page 1 of 4

Watching Awaziem Today

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:19 pm
by Shownoja
Early doors, but he has been tested twice and I must commend his pace and positioning. One last ditch tackle and one resolute clearance sums up his contribution so far. And jut as I type, he lost the ball but his team got lucky. Good player.

Re: Watching Awaziem Today

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:29 pm
by Shownoja
So far, he has had a very decent game. He seems to have that knack to have his foot, head, anything at the right place all the time. He doesn't get beat easily, which is very good.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:40 pm
by Shownoja
Nantes concedes one heck of a goal. Nothing anyone could do about that scotcher.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:43 pm
by Shownoja
Awaziem even showing off long range passing skills. What I am really liking here is his tactical discipline. He is reading the dame all so well. The commentator just said he impresses him more and more each time he sees him. The boy has something special waiting for the bigger stage.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:47 pm
by Shownoja
Awaziem has had a really good first half. If we stick to that back 3, it will be hard to argue against him being the third wheel to Balogun and Troost-Ekong

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:53 pm
by truetalk
Like I said after the game vs. Bafana in Uyo, the dude is a top player and will soon work his way to the starting lineup. It was interesting to see Rohr trying to accommodate him in a fairly stable CD setup by playing 3 at the back vs Argentina. If you know the game, it doesn't take much to see a good player despite what the chatter from the majority may be.

In the same vein, it also doesn't take much to see those who don't measure up to the standard of the team (or what it is trying to attain). Uncles Akpeyi and Elderson readily come to mind.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:00 pm
by Shownoja
truetalk wrote:Like I said after the game vs. Bafana in Uyo, the dude is a top player and will soon work his way to the starting lineup. It was interesting to see Rohr trying to accommodate him in a fairly stable CD setup by playing 3 at the back vs Argentina. If you know the game, it doesn't take much to see a good player despite what the chatter from the majority may be.

In the same vein, it also doesn't take much to see those who don't measure up to the standard of the team (or what it is trying to attain). Uncles Akpeyi and Elderson readily come to mind.
Honestly, the boy is playing really well. The commentator must have mentioned his name more times than any other Nantes player and has been very impressed by him. I can see why.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:05 pm
by niyi
I'm fine with a back 3 but we need to work hard on it in friendlies. Our players seemed lost in the first half vs Argentina.

I suspect we are going to be playing a back 3 at the world cup in which case we should think about taking two utility players (Uche Agbo and Mikel maybe) who can play the CD role. It'll be too dangerous to take 4 central defenders to the world cup if 3 are starters.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:10 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Given how Balogun struggles for pace, will Rohr be bold enough to play Awaziem in his place in a back four? Balogun is our rock at the back but I worry about how he got done for pace by quick Argentine strikers.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:13 pm
by Shownoja
Nantes just denied an equaliser with a dodgy offside call, which replays have proved to be wrong

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:17 pm
by Shownoja
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Given how Balogun struggles for pace, will Rohr be bold enough to play Awaziem in his place in a back four? Balogun is our rock at the back but I worry about how he got done for pace by quick Argentine strikers.
It might become necessary for the coach to mix and match as we progress, so I won't put it past him. The important thing is that he has these very good players at his disposal. Sending Balogun to the left side of the back 3 and leaving Ekong in the center tells you a lot about a man who goes for the best at his disposal.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:21 pm
by Shownoja
Nantes equalises after a sustained period of pressure.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:51 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Whether Akpoguma joins the Eagles is vital. With Ekong, Balogun, Omeruo and Awaziem, we have a little depth although none of them are world class like Taribo, Keshi and Yobo.

To be honest, our only real problem now is in the playmaker position. We need one before the season ends.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:56 pm
by Shownoja
The Nantes striker just wasted a last second opportunity to win the game. Apparently, he had only placed one minute of professional football this season before being brought into the Nantes side. It showed. Anyway, our boy sis really well, and even when injury forced them to change shape to a back four in the second half, he still held his own and played without blemish.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:59 pm
by Damunk
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Whether Akpoguma joins the Eagles is vital. With Ekong, Balogun, Omeruo and Awaziem, we have a little depth although none of them are world class like Taribo, Keshi and Yobo.

To be honest, our only real problem now is in the playmaker position. We need one before the season ends.
Not many would describe Yobo as 'world class' - apart from 1Naira.
Decent at best.
Too many brain farts for a 'world class' defender.

But he's a great guy. :thumb:

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:35 pm
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Whether Akpoguma joins the Eagles is vital. With Ekong, Balogun, Omeruo and Awaziem, we have a little depth although none of them are world class like Taribo, Keshi and Yobo.

Shoelace? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Omeruo has to get passed Agbo first. Seems Agbo is Rohr's preferred 4th choice.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:49 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Meanwhile just saw Otamendi beaten in the air by Ogbonna. Man City are a goal down to lowly West Ham.

Nigeria has a far better defence than Argentina. We really have no excuse not to beat them silly this time around.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:52 pm
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Meanwhile just saw Otamendi beaten in the air by Ogbonna. Man City are a goal down to lowly West Ham.

Nigeria has a far better defence than Argentina. We really have no excuse not to beat them silly this time around.

Speaking of which, they will have Marcos Rojo back next summer. So their 3 at the back should be Rojo, Mascherano, Otamendi. 3 defenders that are very impulsive. We should be able to get one or two of those sent off. :clap:

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:14 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
I do not think Rohr will play with a back three. I believe 4-3-3 suits the team best with the players he has. Victor Moses and Henry Onyekuru are natural wide men, who suit the formation ideally.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:33 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Meanwhile just saw Otamendi beaten in the air by Ogbonna. Man City are a goal down to lowly West Ham.

Meanwhile, I just saw Otamendi score the equalizer...

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:42 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
This Antonio of West Ham has no brains :lol: :lol: :lol: Meanwhile De Bryne is the best footballer on the planet :shock: :shock: :shock:

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:51 pm
How did City pay 40 million for Mangala? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:57 pm
by niyi
danfo driver wrote:How did City pay 40 million for Mangala? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Looks bad but that was his only mistake today.