Sorry to burst some people's bubble

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:01 am
by mystic
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/12/wor ... nts-agali/
Nigerians expecting Super Eagles handler, Gernot Rohr to introduce new players into the team as serious preparations for the Russia 2018 World Cup is set to begin should forget about it if the statement of Rohr’s Chief Scout, Victor Agali is anything to go by.

Victor Agali Speaking on a sports programme, SportsVille on Channels Television monitored in Lagos yesterday, Agali in response to a question on whether new players will be injected into the team ahead of the World Cup, he said there would be no need to do so as Rohr already knows the players he wants. “The players are fired up now, the bonding is strong and they understand themselves, there would be no need to disrupt that understanding,” Agali said, adding, “Rohr already has the players he will need at the World Cup”. He said that the group the Eagles found themselves after the Draw held on Friday was a good one but that the team would prepare well for the matches and ensure they qualify for the second round.

Former goalkeeper, Emmanuel Babayaro who also spoke on the programme said he was not comfortable with the goalkeeping department of the team, blaming the goalkeepers handlers for not doing a good job on the choices they have at hand. “I must confess that I am not comfortable with the three goalkeepers we have in the team now. They are not the best the country has and the coaches handling that department are not doing enough on them,” he stressed.

Re: Sorry to burst some people's bubble

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:12 am
by mystic
Mind you, I expect that Rohr will continue to build his team methodically (step by step) as he has been doing, and in this regard we may see him add a couple of players to the mix. But I simply don't see this mad dash to try out a whole bunch of players who haven't been part of the process. He will mostly concentrate on the players he's been working with that are already a part of his pool. Any new players (which will be 2 or 3 at most) that don't get a look in during the March FIFA window will likely have to forget about the World Cup.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:19 am
by metalalloy
We have 6 months to go and you people want to give Ayo ulcer already? :lol: :lol: :lol:

#manmustwack

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:49 am
by ohenhen1
You start building your team 4 years before the World cup, not 6 months before a world cup. We should stick to the team we currently have, add one or two pieces, work on gelling.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:16 am
by pajimoh
When you get Nigerians expecting a German to think like them can only lead to disappointment. Changing coach and wholesale players is Naija's thinking. The Germans believe in "team" and bunch of talented individuals. They also believe team takes time to build and value experience. They probably have more talented u20 players than we do but will not flood their team with them as some keep advocating for.
Players with big game experience and good temperament, backed up by solid technical abilities will be chosen.
Rohr might take one or two new players with him but essentially the nucleus of the team, barring enforced changes, will make the trip.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:20 am
by Flex Swift
Very reasonable policy by the coach.... if the NFF performed an analysis of our past failures one of the causes would have identified the overhauling of the team close to the tournament.

Team building isn’t always about having the “best” individuals sometimes it’s about individuals that fit into the team that understand each other, cover for each other, and fight for each other.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:22 am
by Flex Swift
pajimoh wrote:When you get Nigerians expecting a German to think like them can only lead to disappointment. Changing coach and wholesale players is Naija's thinking. The Germans believe in "team" and bunch of talented individuals. They also believe team takes time to build and value experience. They probably have more talented u20 players than we do but will not flood their team with them as some keep advocating for.
Players with big game experience and good temperament, backed up by solid technical abilities will be chosen.
Rohr might take one or two new players with him but essentially the nucleus of the team, barring enforced changes, will make the trip.
Kpom

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:51 am
by Eaglezbeak
These Africans wanted atleast 9+ changes to the team and that's why they are not managers or coaches,they never learn from the past the days of throwing in Shola amiobi are done maybe until you find another Nigeria coach that thinks that's how you do it,Rohr knows what building a teams about and is accountable for his decisions!

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:27 pm
Agali needs to shut his mouth and stop giving these stupid interviews. He's a scout not a press officer.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:03 pm
by truetalk
I agree. It would be tough for anyone who has not played for Rohr so far to make it. At most 2 outfield players, and maybe 1 or 2 Goalkeepers.

If any of the guys in Belgium or Holland can score 15-20 goals this season, especially by March, they might get a look in.

Like Babayaro said, Nigeria has better keepers than those who have been in the team, and I think there could be a couple of new faces there as well.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:07 pm
by walesvilla
personally the only change or addition required is a quality goalkeeper and another no9 equal or better than Igalo

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:03 pm
by chief nfachairman
i think we are already seeing the new invites in the team. Kayode and Henry are guys that didnt play against Cameroun and Zambia but made their second appearance in the team. Same with Idowiu and nwakali. We shoudl expect to see 1 new player every friendly we play till last 2 before the WC. And i expct another 1 or 2 new faces in WC Camp if they are turning heads in their clubs

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:23 pm
by green4life
mystic wrote: Any new players (which will be 2 or 3 at most) that don't get a look in during the March FIFA window will likely have to forget about the World Cup.
Kpom. No more than 2 - at best 3 - additions. That is the reality.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:50 pm
by Odas
Coach Rohr, whatever you do Sir, please remember the goalkeeping department. Please add one "good one" to Uzoho.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:03 pm
by cchinukw
Sorry but opinions on this matter aren't complete without a contribution from Verocity Eagle. :boo: :boo:

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:33 pm
metalalloy wrote:We have 6 months to go and you people want to give Ayo ulcer already? :lol: :lol: :lol:

#manmustwack
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:51 pm
pajimoh wrote:When you get Nigerians expecting a German to think like them can only lead to disappointment. Changing coach and wholesale players is Naija's thinking. The Germans believe in "team" and bunch of talented individuals. They also believe team takes time to build and value experience. They probably have more talented u20 players than we do but will not flood their team with them as some keep advocating for.
Watching the highlights of the Argentine /Naija match in that other thread and it just tells you everything we need to know about building a team. Look at how disorganized the team looked, as compared to how organized we were in the friendly some weeks ago?

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:18 pm
by ogasir
Besides Akpoguma (if he does decide to play for us before the March friendlies) and Sarenren Bazee. i do not really see any new players making it to the team. Akpoguma and Bazee are players Rohr has personally recruited or tried to recruit to the SE.

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:52 pm
by vancity eagle
If we are honest we could do with roughly 4 to 5 new players, and that isn't messing up any chemistry or team building.

Henry Onyekuru > Ahmed Musa
Joel Obi > Mikel Agu
Noah Bazee > Someone will have to drop
Brian Idowu > Echiejele
Any keeper > akpeyi

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:53 pm
by The YeyeMan
Agali contradicting what he reportedly said last week.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:07 pm
by walesvilla
vancity eagle wrote:If we are honest we could do with roughly 4 to 5 new players, and that isn't messing up any chemistry or team building.

Henry Onyekuru > Ahmed Musa
Joel Obi > Mikel Agu
Noah Bazee > Someone will have to drop
Brian Idowu > Echiejele
Any keeper > akpeyi
how good is this guy-- no clue of what he can bring to the table as he is always injured- if he is not fit for the march camping- he might as well kiss good bye to Russia

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:24 pm
by mastermind
Fit and chemistry is important. However, we need a goalie o..lol.