Re: NIGERIA VS ARGENTINA - The series so far

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:37 am
by Enugu II
Emir,

Correct the issue about never taking the lead against them. We opened scoring against them in 1994 in Boston with Siasia scoring within 10 minutes of start.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:57 am
Enugu II wrote:Emir,

Correct the issue about never taking the lead against them. We opened scoring against them in 1994 in Boston with Siasia scoring within 10 minutes of start.
Das right!

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:08 am
by Obiagu
It will be different this time. Messi was at his peak then. Argentina made it to the finals while they almost didn't qualify this time.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:25 am
by ElHadary
It's really starting to turn into a great rivalry.

It's uncanny how often you two play one another.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:27 am
by john12
What’s fascinating among these highlights isn’t how Argentina were slicing our defenders like no one is available. They missed so many chances except in 1994 for me the worse was 2010 game against Argentina

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:37 am
by goldenera94
Eagles played a goal less draw against Argentina at the confederation cup Saudi Arabia in 1994 or 1995.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:06 am
by nanijoe
It's not a rivalry when one side always wins...
ElHadary wrote:It's really starting to turn into a great rivalry.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:34 am
by Undertaker
nanijoe wrote:It's not a rivalry when one side always wins...

You dey mind Elhadary....... rivalry? They have won all four previous games at the WC. More like a every four years molestation...

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:13 am
by charlie

It will become a great rilvalry when we start kicking their butts when it truly matters.
Till then,...its just a promising rivalry, with only one team left with something to prove (Nigeria).

My hope is that 2018 is the year turn the table,...permanently.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:56 am
by mapet
john12 wrote:What’s fascinating among these highlights isn’t how Argentina were slicing our defenders like no one is available. They missed so many chances except in 1994 for me the worse was 2010 game against Argentina

That 2010 game was a total embarrassment for me. We were so unorganised that defended as if we all came to take turns on Messi's dribbles. Players like Aruna Lukeman and Etuhu were like "escourts". Secondly, we were just too frightened to realise that Argentina was not so good defensively as well. We were too edgy taking our chances, especially Martins and Ikechukwu Uche.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:57 am
by mapet
Keshi's team could have come out with a respectable draw, had they been more detailed in defending set pieces. How somebody lost Rojo and got him a cheap goal beats me

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:25 am
90% of all the goals we let in were from dead balls

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:15 am
by Flex Swift
How anyone (except Ayo and co) could have expected 9ja beat Argentina when our team paraded Ambrose, Uchebo, Babatunde and Oshaniwa very substandard players and the bench of Uchebo, Reuben Azeez, Sola, Nwofor. All Keshi had to do to compete was select his Nations cup winning squad and they would have been competitive. Brown in partnership with Emenike and Mba had an understanding with Moses. Joel Obi was available and Ike Uche could have provided much need quality from the bench but no we had better players who had been tested in the qualifiers that somehow made the team.

Some people are still suggesting Rohlr select of Babatunde and Ambrose!!!

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:41 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Spotted Pochettino at 2:00 of the second clip ...

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 12:47 pm
by Scipio Africanus
2:43 of the third clip. Lack of composure personified. That was 1-1 right there!