Page 2 of 2

Re: Our World Cups:NIGERIA ALWAYS ONE THE YOUNGEST TEAMS

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:49 am
by metalalloy
Orion wrote:The age thing is real and not just down to age cheating. We have a very high turnover because Europe is chewing up most of our promising players. They start off very promising and even make it to the SE in their late teens or early 20s. Then they start this merry go round of one loan spell to another in distant lands, unfamiliar places where they probably can't even speak the language, have no friends and family for support, and maybe have to deal with the prejudice and racism that is prevalent in Europe. This lack of stability will negatively affect a player's development. It would take the very strong-willed, super focused and ambitious player to get through all of that disruption and get to their full potential. Many don't make it and hence drop off from the SE. As much as we think Europe helps our players get better (i.e. better training facilities and a more professional environment) it also chews up a lot of players that would have otherwise grown to greater heights if they had a more stable environment.
Name one Nigerian player that has developed better by not moving to Europe at an early age.

Please go back and read the highlighted and pay particular attention on the bolded portion.

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:54 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Orion wrote:The age thing is real and not just down to age cheating. We have a very high turnover because Europe is chewing up most of our promising players. They start off very promising and even make it to the SE in their late teens or early 20s. Then they start this merry go round of one loan spell to another in distant lands, unfamiliar places where they probably can't even speak the language, have no friends and family for support, and maybe have to deal with the prejudice and racism that is prevalent in Europe. This lack of stability will negatively affect a player's development. It would take the very strong-willed, super focused and ambitious player to get through all of that disruption and get to their full potential. Many don't make it and hence drop off from the SE. As much as we think Europe helps our players get better (i.e. better training facilities and a more professional environment) it also chews up a lot of players that would have otherwise grown to greater heights if they had a more stable environment.
Name one Nigerian player that has developed better by not moving to Europe at an early age.

Please go back and read the highlighted and pay particular attention on the bolded portion.
Pointless hypothetical speculation. We all know the environment is not stable and conducive.

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:03 pm
by wanaj0
chief nfachairman wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:(1) Spot on analysis
(2) As you can see age cheating has a way of catching up with you eventually
(3) You can only cheat nature so far
(4) There is only only one antidote and that is to use kids so they mature
(5) What generally happens is that our “youngsters” are past it in fours years time
(6) I have always said that Father Tiko laid the foundations for Nigeria’s football by clearing out the old guard that won the All African Games football Gold in 1973 and rebut the Eagles with kids
(7) If you look at the team that won the Nations Cup in 1980, they were mainly Father Tiko’s boys from 1973 - Chukwu, Lawal, Odegbami, Odiye, Adokie, Atuegbu, etc
(8) Clemence Westerhoff was equally brave bringing in kids like Oliseh, Okocha, Amokachi, etc
(9) Rohr appears to be going down this route with Uzoho, Ebuehi, Awaziem, Ndidi, Iheanacho, Iwobi, Onyekuru, Aina, etc
(10) What we need to do is blood these boys and keep them together until 2022 and see them blossom
I agree that the ages are probably not credible (especially in the 2002-2014 time frame), but even that is problematic. A few months ago, I spent some time arguing on here on why age cheating was so destructive to our senior national team, and I don't fancy rehashing it...but age cheating or not, we are clearly always "rebuilding"...and that shows a lack of focus.
When you go to the World Cup with 29 year olds, it is inevitable that you will have to rebuild over the next four years. The only antidote is to go to the World Cup with the bulk of your squad being 24 and under.
And trust me, majority of the "youngsters" in the current SE are iver 28! Except for the likes of iwobi, ebuehi and co who pretty much have records properly kept by the government.
More reason for you to drop your opposition to diasporan players. Those who ages we can be 100% certain of include:

Tyrone Ebuehi
Ola Aina
Brian Idowu
William Ekong
Leon Balogun
Victor Moses
Alex Iwobi
Denis Bonaventure
Cyriel Dessers
Noah Bazee

I would like to add Akpoguma and Uduokhai to the squad too, so we know exactly what we are dealing with. At least with these players, you can plan for the future.
SE is not an age grade tournament so not sure why selection should be based on age!

Use the age grade tournaments to plan for the future.
You miss my point. When you have a 34 year old performing well in qualifiers, there is a risk he may be washed up by the time the World cup comes along.

If you look at the most successful teams in world football, they build their teams up over years. Father Tiko, Otto Gloria and Clemence Westerhoff did this very successfully. I like the fact that Gernot Rohr is going for youth. Many of these players will come into their own next June and will be at their peaks come Qatar 2022.

Age is a vital factor in football, especially in today's game where pace and fitness are key. Why do you think Wayne Rooney is no longer playing for England?
Baring injury, a '34' year old performing during the qualifiers will not become crap 8 months later.

For the SE, you are either good or not. You are either fit or not. Your age is NOT required to determine how good you are.

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:41 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
deanotito wrote:
(5) What generally happens is that our “youngsters” are past it in fours years time
(6) I have always said that Father Tiko laid the foundations for Nigeria’s football by clearing out the old guard that won the All African Games football Gold in 1973 and rebut the Eagles with kids
(7) If you look at the team that won the Nations Cup in 1980, they were mainly Father Tiko’s boys from 1973 - Chukwu, Lawal, Odegbami, Odiye, Adokie, Atuegbu, etc
(8) Clemence Westerhoff was equally brave bringing in kids like Oliseh, Okocha, Amokachi, etc
(9) Rohr appears to be going down this route with Uzoho, Ebuehi, Awaziem, Ndidi, Iheanacho, Iwobi, Onyekuru, Aina, etc
(10) What we need to do is blood these boys and keep them together until 2022 and see them blossom
I agree that the ages are probably not credible (especially in the 2002-2014 time frame), but even that is problematic. A few months ago, I spent some time arguing on here on why age cheating was so destructive to our senior national team, and I don't fancy rehashing it...but age cheating or not, we are clearly always "rebuilding"...and that shows a lack of focus.
When you go to the World Cup with 29 year olds, it is inevitable that you will have to rebuild over the next four years. The only antidote is to go to the World Cup with the bulk of your squad being 24 and under.
And trust me, majority of the "youngsters" in the current SE are iver 28! Except for the likes of iwobi, ebuehi and co who pretty much have records properly kept by the government.
More reason for you to drop your opposition to diasporan players. Those who ages we can be 100% certain of include:

Tyrone Ebuehi
Ola Aina
Brian Idowu
William Ekong
Leon Balogun
Victor Moses
Alex Iwobi
Denis Bonaventure
Cyriel Dessers
Noah Bazee

I would like to add Akpoguma and Uduokhai to the squad too, so we know exactly what we are dealing with. At least with these players, you can plan for the future.
SE is not an age grade tournament so not sure why selection should be based on age!

Use the age grade tournaments to plan for the future.
You miss my point. When you have a 34 year old performing well in qualifiers, there is a risk he may be washed up by the time the World cup comes along.

If you look at the most successful teams in world football, they build their teams up over years. Father Tiko, Otto Gloria and Clemence Westerhoff did this very successfully. I like the fact that Gernot Rohr is going for youth. Many of these players will come into their own next June and will be at their peaks come Qatar 2022.

Age is a vital factor in football, especially in today's game where pace and fitness are key. Why do you think Wayne Rooney is no longer playing for England?
Baring injury, a '34' year old performing during the qualifiers will not become crap 8 months later.

For the SE, you are either good or not. You are either fit or not. Your age is NOT required to determine how good you are.[/quote]
Ayo Akinfe wrote: It makes a world of difference. One area where you will get caught out is with pace. In our African qualifiers, you can get by because of our superior talent and know-how but come the World Cup, you will get found out when you play the big boys.

I would be very reluctant to play a 34 year old against Aguero, Messi and De Maria for instance. Did you see their second goal against us in Krasnador?

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:46 pm
by chief nfachairman
chief nfachairman wrote:
deanotito wrote:

Tyrone Ebuehi
Ola Aina
Brian Idowu
William Ekong
Leon Balogun
Victor Moses
Alex Iwobi
Denis Bonaventure
Cyriel Dessers
Noah Bazee

I knew you were gonna say this. if Uduokhai and Akpoguma have rejected moves to play for naija, please they should never be allowed anywhere near the team. No one should go and be using SE to promote his career while not giving a fhucck about the country.

BTW, Denis Bonaventure na bros ooo

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:56 pm
by metalalloy

Pointless hypothetical speculation. We all know the environment is not stable and conducive.

No kidding sherlock! :roll: That is the point!