What To Do About Joel Obi? Great Article.

JOEL OBI RESURGENCE: ANOTHER FALSE DAWN?
Solace Chukwu
Correspondent

The Torino man is undoubtedly everyone's favourite midfielder Nigeria never had. Could he hold together long enough to fulfil his promise in Russia?

The year 2010 was an undeniable point of inflexion, and more than just in the sense of bringing the previous decade to an end. It called time on a generation of Nigerian footballers; the retirement of Kanu sounding the call to finally rebuild the national team after the disappointment of that year's World Cup.

The line of succession was, however, compromised by failure and, to a lesser degree, misfortune. The inability of the Samson Siasia-led Super Eagles to qualify for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations was a rude shock, and consigned the likes of Dele Adeleye, Taye Taiwo, Promise Isaac, the crop from the Under-20 World Cup in 2005, to the compost heap.

Where misfortune struck was in sweeping up behind, doing reconnaissance, as it were, on those who managed to emerge from that debacle with their reputations intact: the promising Olubayo Adefemi was killed in a car crash, while both Onyekachi Apam and Chinedu Obasi remain the great what-ifs of Nigerian football in the 21st century.

Another in the latter category, and an even bigger regret in all likelihood, is Torino midfielder Joel Obi.
To borrow (and slightly paraphrase) a Yoruba saying, a dead child is better than a missing one. It is the hope that blocks the process of healing and cloture, you see. While we know that Obasi will never don the green and white again, and so can 'grieve', Obi presents a hope so real as to be tangible, and yet so tantalizing in it elusiveness.

The former Inter man, now 26, is presumably at the peak of his physical powers, and has made nine appearances (eight of those starts) in all competitions for Torino this season, scoring three times and assisting twice. Then again, there has never been any uncertainty over his productivity and ability. What is rather less apparent is how consistently his skills can be harnessed.

This term, Joel Obi has already missed five weeks due to injury. In 2016/17, that number was 13. In 2015/16, it was 20. This is the tragedy at the very core of a wondrous talent, the thorn in his flesh as it were: to be eternally buffeted by muscular injuries.

Yet so great is his talent and range that, when fit, he is impossible to ignore, and this is true both for club and country. Following that initial stumble, the reboot of the national team did eventually happen under the late Stephen Keshi, and when he had secured a ticket to the 2014 World Cup, it was to Joel Obi he turned to improve the then African champions.

His slaloming brilliance and deft left foot would not have looked out of place in Brazil, the Mecca of the mercurials. Predictably though, just on the eve of the final squad announcement, he suffered yet another injury, drawing a long, plaintive sigh from all and sundry; he has not played for the national team since, withdrawing through injury when turned to for a meeting with Tanzania in September 2015.

This is all the more relevant now, for two reasons. Now that Nigeria know the identities of her three World Cup group-stage opponents, the mapping out of the 23-strong playing delegation will begin, and preparations will kick into gear.

Second of all is that there is so blatantly a need for a player like Obi in the Super Eagles midfield. Both Wilfred Ndidi and Ogenyi Onazi are scrappers, John Ogu is a calm distributor, John Obi Mikel plays in the hole and Oghenekaro Etebo is a runner.

What is lacking is someone who can dribble forward and pick a pass, take risks in possession and, in doing so, shift some of the creative burden off Mikel. Far from being simply an option to have in certain eventualities, this is arguably the one variable that could truly elevate this team, the x-factor.

It is easy to see that Gernot Rohr has the same idea – he invited Manchester City loanee Chidiebere Nwakali out of the blue last month for the Algeria game, and is surely experienced enough to appreciate the slightly blunt edge his midfield wields in the event that his captain gets marked out of a game.

And so, from now till the end of the season, we shall watch Joel Obi with bated breath and muttered supplication, because the question is not so much whether he ought to be a part of this team (that goes without saying), but whether his promise will crumble to dust in our hands once more.

Then again, perhaps it should suffice that we simply enjoy his progress from a distance, like an elegant fawn grazing, and not rustle the bushes, lest the spell be broken.
It seems that, more than his own explosiveness, the sheer weight of a nation's hope might be too much for those brittle hamstrings.

After all, to expect nothing is never to be disappointed again.

http://www.goal.com/en-ng/news/joel-obi ... 5yvjpoop5b
goldenera94
Re: What To Do About Joel Obi? Great Article.

Post by goldenera94 »

Good luck Joel Obi.
Goldenera94

Solace, indeed, captures the feeling of Nigerian fans on the issue of Joel Obi. Well written as always and this one is both insightful and incisiveful.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Ayo will soon list the 10 things he has to do to make the wc.

He will add more depth to the squad. Let hope he can stay injury free, the guy deserves a break.

Honest question. If Joel was fit and called up to Nigeria present squad would he make our starting 11 in his natural midfield position or be a bench player?
icee

Post by icee »

john12 wrote:Honest question. If Joel was fit and called up to Nigeria present squad would he make our starting 11 in his natural midfield position or be a bench player?
Starter. Very smart player , highly skillful. The more clever players we have with great technique ...the better , the better the flow, the better the read

icee wrote:
john12 wrote:Honest question. If Joel was fit and called up to Nigeria present squad would he make our starting 11 in his natural midfield position or be a bench player?
Starter. Very smart player , highly skillful. The more clever players we have with great technique ...the better , the better the flow, the better the read
Squad player IMO.

Starter. I take him over Onazi every day of the week.

bushboy wrote:Starter. I take him over Onazi every day of the week.
He commits too many fouls with his tackling.

This writer totally gets it. MIkel - Onazi - Ndidi is not creative and unpredictable enough. Onazi is not a great ball player, Ndidi is first a "Srapper" but a slightly better ball handler. We need creativity from deep, we need to be able to hold possession in the midfield, while keeping our tightness.

Mikel should not be our only creative point in our midfield. We need more. If MIkel gets marked out, a second midfielder continues.

For me, I want a Obi, Obi, Ndidi midfield

Ogogoro plenty for this thread

This horrible charlatan has written again.

:lol: :lol: The bigot with ugly front teeth talking stupidly again. Not surprised that one of the most densed idiooot will be making such a dumb argument. smh.

If Rohr played 5 in the back again he might be perfect for the LWB role, but in the 4-3-3 I don't think he would displace the current guys, but would be the first off the bench.

Not sure I can call that article great. A lot of filler to say something that is pretty basic and pretty well known

chief nfachairman wrote:This writer totally gets it. MIkel - Onazi - Ndidi is not creative and unpredictable enough. Onazi is not a great ball player, Ndidi is first a "Srapper" but a slightly better ball handler. We need creativity from deep, we need to be able to hold possession in the midfield, while keeping our tightness.

Mikel should not be our only creative point in our midfield. We need more. If MIkel gets marked out, a second midfielder continues.

Problem is if Mikel gets shackled - we're in trouble

deanotito wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:This writer totally gets it. MIkel - Onazi - Ndidi is not creative and unpredictable enough. Onazi is not a great ball player, Ndidi is first a "Srapper" but a slightly better ball handler. We need creativity from deep, we need to be able to hold possession in the midfield, while keeping our tightness.

Not really bros. with Iwobi and Moses, we have 2 other players that can definitely change a game against any team right now IMO.

maceo4 wrote:If Rohr played 5 in the back again he might be perfect for the LWB role, but in the 4-3-3 I don't think he would displace the current guys, but would be the first off the bench.

Not happening. Not when we have capable left backs. Specifically, if Rohr's aim is to play 3-5-2 against difficult opponents.

danfo driver wrote::lol: :lol: The bigot with ugly front teeth talking stupidly again. Not surprised that one of the most densed idiooot will be making such a dumb argument. smh.
Bobrisky,
:bump: :bump: :bump:

The cele offer is still open o. i told them the severity of your mental illness and they suggested theyll drop you inside barbeach water for not less than 6hours. The aftermath is better off to you, your family and the world. We could do with 1 less imbecile!

He's a good option off the bench but he needs to stay fit enough to get a call-up for friendlies.

deanotito wrote:

What’s with folks here and personal insults?? Sometimes, we act like people at online forum knows us personally. We need to learn how to disagree without insulting each other personally. Maybe, an occasional jibe but it shouldn’t be continuous. Look at how Joel Obi thread has been derailed to insulting one another. My brothers it’s not that serious o
Last edited by john12 on Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:08 am, edited 1 time in total.