June: Nigeria v England confirmed.......

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: June: Nigeria v England confirmed.......

Do we have a date and venue though? This was talked about before the draw but I want to see firm details.

What the English FA said was they want to see who is in their group. It was also not decided whether the game would be at Wembley or in Russia either. We need more information abeg.

Only interested in what we are doing before then. Jan - May.

What's on the schedule?

No date, no place and yet this planned match is CONFIRMED? Really? Ok-oh!

They had an in-principle agreement before the draw. What has happened here is that Mohammed Sanusi has gone and revealed the details to the media. I think he erred in doing this and should have waited until all the details were conformed before doing so.

Before the English FA left for Moscow, they had pencilled Nigeria down as a potential friendly with plans to firm up the details after the draw. Most of us who knew about it refrained from writing anything until the full details were provided and we had a time, date and venue.

Anyway, things should be sorted out over the next few weeks, Mr Rohr is currently securing a training camp in Russia and I suspect that he will pass through London on his way back to agree a date, time and venue for the England game.

Essentially, there are two options:

We play at Wembley before both teams depart for Russia
We play the game in Russia just before the tournament starts

I hope we can play at a neutral venue

Ayo Akinfe wrote:They had an in-principle agreement before the draw. What has happened here is that Mohammed Sanusi has gone and revealed the details to the media. I think he erred in doing this and should have waited until all the details were conformed before doing so.

Before the English FA left for Moscow, they had pencilled Nigeria down as a potential friendly with plans to firm up the details after the draw. Most of us who knew about it refrained from writing anything until the full details were provided and we had a time, date and venue.

Anyway, things should be sorted out over the next few weeks, Mr Rohr is currently securing a training camp in Russia and I suspect that he will pass through London on his way back to agree a date, time and venue for the England game.

ok let wait for confirmation from Engalnd- i hope game is played at wembley

We should arrange friendlies with teams whose style of play is similar to that of our opponents. Iran/Sweden, Serbia/Bosnia, Colombia, Uruguay etc.

bret- hart wrote:We should arrange friendlies with teams whose style of play is similar to that of our opponents. Iran/Sweden, Serbia/Bosnia, Colombia, Uruguay etc.

Rohr has said he wants to play Serbia. Remember it is not just us though. Other teams with African opponents will want to play Nigeria too. I believe Poland for instance will be keen to face us as they have Senegal in their group.

That is hardly an official confirmation even for Nigerian standards,I’ll wait until both nations decide on a date and if it happens to be played at Wembley I’ll be there but until then there’s nothing to say it’s on!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:They had an in-principle agreement before the draw. What has happened here is that Mohammed Sanusi has gone and revealed the details to the media. I think he erred in doing this and should have waited until all the details were conformed before doing so.

Most of us who knew about it :rotf: :rotf: Did you just say you just say "refrained"? Dude there's a thread with your name all over it talking about a potential friendly with England and France depending on the draw. That was weeks before this article. :roll:

Hope it happens. Looking forward to congregating b/4 and after the game with the usual suspects.

SUPER EAGLES TO FACE ENGLAND IN PRE-WORLD CUP FRIENDLY
https://www.sportsvillagesquare.com/201 ... -friendly/
22 MINS AGO
Twitter Facebook Google + Linkedin Comments
BY BOLAJI OKUNOLA.

The Super Eagles will play a pre-World Cup friendly match with England, the UK-based Skysport has reported, quoting the general secretary of the Nigeria Football Federation, Mohammed Sanusi. Skysports however pointed out that it was yet to get a confirmation from The FA, the football governing body of England on the proposed match.

“We plan to play a friendly against England in June, before the World Cup,” Sanusi was quoted by Skysports as saying, adding that the venue and other details of the match were still to be worked out.

Both nations will feature at next year’s World Cup in Russia, with Nigeria drawn in Group D along with Argentina, Croatia and Iceland, while Gareth Southgate’s England will play Belgium, Panama and Tunisia in Group G.

While England might be using Nigeria to gauge what to expect from Tunisia, the Super Eagles would use England as a test case for the duo of European sides, Croatia and Iceland. The latter eliminated England from Euro 2016.

According to Skysport, England are scheduled to play the Netherlands in a friendly on March 23 before hosting Italy four days later. They will meet Tunisia in their World Cup opener at the Volgograd Arena on June 18, the same venue where Nigeria will face Iceland on June 22.

England and Nigeria last played at the 2002 World Cup in Osaka, Japan on June 12, 2002 in a match Coach Adegboye Onigbinde had to ring changes from the earlier line-up of Nigeria in the preceding matches with Argentina and Sweden.

Vincent Enyeama was handed his first World Cup cap. So also was Femi Opabunmi. Before then, the Super Eagles had played a friendly match with England on June 16, 1995 when Amodu Shaibu made his managerial debut with Nigeria.

The encounter, in which the Super Eagles first put on Nike kits, ended 1-0 in favour of England at the old Wembley Stadium.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Why are we playing England? This is a sentimental pick that really doesn’t prepare us at all. We need to be playing Columbia, Italy, Serbia , teams that actually play a style we’re going to face at the wc. England is not going anywhere with their milk toast style, plainly a colo pick on the part of many. Rubbish :boo:

john12 wrote:I hope we can play at a neutral venue
RUSSIA IS THE BEST PLACE TO PLAY THOSE JUNE FRIENDLY.BUT WHY NOT PLAY BRAZIL,GERMANY OR SPAIN.
ENGLAND IS NOT GOOD WASTE OF TIME,SPAIN OR BELGIUM WILL PREPARED THE TEAM FOR CROATIA AND BRAZIL FOR ARGENTINA.MAY BE ENGLAND IS FOR ICELAND PREPARATION

...June too far, many shiit gon happen to derail this. Stay tuned.

bret- hart wrote:We should arrange friendlies with teams whose style of play is similar to that of our opponents. Iran/Sweden, Serbia/Bosnia, Colombia, Uruguay etc.
It doesnt work that way. You dont only play teams that play similar style to your opponent in the FIRST ROUND. You can also play teams that you consider strong, in order to test you ability.

What is Croatia watches our game wirh Serbia and chooses to completely change style???

Quality is the most important thing.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why are we playing England? This is a sentimental pick that really doesn’t prepare us at all. We need to be playing Columbia, Italy, Serbia , teams that actually play a style we’re going to face at the wc. England is not going anywhere with their milk toast style, plainly a colo pick on the part of many. Rubbish :boo:
It doesnt? So after we have played agains Columbia University of New York, and then Serbia and Italy, I suspect that after the first round, of Croatia, Iceland and Argentina, we will pack up and come back home?? After all, we only prepared for the first round and have no interest in moving on to the next round? abi? :roll: :roll:

And for whom in our group, are we preparing with Italy?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why are we playing England? This is a sentimental pick that really doesn’t prepare us at all. We need to be playing Columbia, Italy, Serbia , teams that actually play a style we’re going to face at the wc. England is not going anywhere with their milk toast style, plainly a colo pick on the part of many. Rubbish :boo:
It doesnt? So after we have played agains Columbia University of New York, and then Serbia and Italy, I suspect that after the first round, of Croatia, Iceland and Argentina, we will pack up and come back home?? After all, we only prepared for the first round and have no interest in moving on to the next round? abi? :roll: :roll:

It's silly season.

Indeed. Thats why you want Nigeria to play a practice match with Columbia University. smh

It's silly season.
Indeed. Thats why you want Nigeria to play a practice match with Columbia University. smh
Una go kill persin for CE ooo! :rotf: :rotf: Kai, so persin no fit make mistake for una Kontri?

It's silly season.
Are you stupid enough that you think that's what I want? Poly must be out for xmas break. :laugh:

It's silly season.
Are you stupid enough that you think that's what I want? Poly must be out for xmas break. :laugh:
My thoughts are irrelevant. You said Nigeria should "be playing Columbia." Are you saying that what you said and what you want are two different things? Na wa o. You might need to sync your mouth with your brain, so that you can say what you want. :lol: :lol: