35 Years: IICC vs Zamalek- Where were you on Dec 8, 1984

Toxicarrow
35 Years: IICC vs Zamalek- Where were you on Dec 8, 1984

Post by Toxicarrow »

Last edited by Toxicarrow on Mon Dec 09, 2019 1:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
Re: 33 Years: IICC vs Zamalek- Where were you on Dec 8, 1984

sort of remember this- days of Nigeria club football used to break ticketing and fans attendance records.
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

Toks, long time! I watched this game in Kaduna.
Our league was blossoming. And Leventis Utd was the talk of the town North and South.
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

I was @ the stadium , ojuelegba, lived nearby @ Salawu street.....Terrible day.
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos

Horrible memories.
Raymond King, Ogbein Fawole, Segun Odegbami, a young Rasheed Yekini.
1984 was meant to be.
The egyptians had Gamal Abdelhamid and Emmanuel Quarshie.

Last edited by Goldleaf on Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The real deal wrote:I was @ the stadium , ojuelegba, lived nearby @ Salawu street.....Terrible day.
I lived at Salawu street - but very young then so cant remember much about the area.
goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

Remember the crowd, Ogbein Fawole, and the ball heading into IICC's net.
Goldenera94
Polly

Post by Polly »

Oloye, where are you abeg? I hereby sue Toxic at your court. Abeg give me justice. Here am I about to kickstart my weekend and this man goes and dregs up real pain. Abeg give me justice. 12 cartons of Gulder against him, and I will be ready to negotiate peace.

It was a very sad day for me. As a teenager, I cried after the game. We really missed Owoblow that day. Wakilu’s missed penalty was the last straw for me.

Goldleaf wrote:Horrible memories.
1984 was meant to be.

Interesting, I met Gamal here at a Saab dealership here at my neck of the wood in Northwest US about 8 years ago and the first thing he remembered when he heard I am a Nigerian was this match.

did that IICC goalie moonlight as a clown

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

One of my happiest day and till today I adore the Emmanuel the Ghanaian genius that tormented sooting on that Happy day. :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

furiously frank wrote:
Goldleaf wrote:Horrible memories.
1984 was meant to be.

Interesting, I met Gamal here at a Saab dealership here at my neck of the wood in Northwest US about 8 years ago and the first thing he remembered when he heard I am a Nigerian was this match.
Whatever Raymond was thinking there can only be captured in one word 'Madness' , a moment of insanity. Your defender had the ball covered,he was in no danger and it was obvious he was going for the ball...why did he rush out again? :curse:

achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

jette1 wrote:did that IICC goalie moonlight as a clown
my thoughts too :?
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

zee wrote:One of my happiest day and till today I adore the Emmanuel the Ghanaian genius that tormented sooting on that Happy day. :thumbs:
:laugh: That was when the Radio Rivers 2 news in pidgin reporter said "the thing wey IICC take their eye see no be small thing"
tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

Terrible day. I cried profusely after the match. I actually believe they deliberately gave Owolabi the yellow card in Egypt so he can miss the second leg. Segun Odegbami was rushed back from injury because of Owolabi's absence. Its a bad day devil drink water. I can never forget that memory of Raymond King picking the ball from the net. Also the politics of other teams not wanting Shooting to be the first team to win the cup for Nigeria again is there with everybody working against them.
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.

Polly wrote:Oloye, where are you abeg? I hereby sue Toxic at your court. Abeg give me justice. Here am I about to kickstart my weekend and this man goes and dregs up real pain. Abeg give me justice. 12 cartons of Gulder against him, and I will be ready to negotiate peace.
My brother i can feel your pains...watching Raymond with that kamikazee move ,brings back sadness even though i am noy a fan of Shooting.

Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

tunde72 wrote:Terrible day. I cried profusely after the match. I actually believe they deliberately gave Owolabi the yellow card in Egypt so he can miss the second leg. Segun Odegbami was rushed back from injury because of Owolabi's absence. Its a bad day devil drink water. I can never forget that memory of Raymond King picking the ball from the net. Also the politics of other teams not wanting Shooting to be the first team to win the cup for Nigeria again is there with everybody working against them.
Yes...it was a terrible day ! Everytime that I remember this game, my heart bleed.
Due to this game, I did not get the time to say "final goodbye" to my maternal grandmom who was lay to rest on this day. While I was at the funeral, my brother and I spent a great deal of the time during the final church service on our portal radio listening to the live commentaries of the match. We were outside in the van following the radio commentaries.

The painful loss on this day and the disbandment of the team the next day by Lt. Col Oladayo Popoola remain the worst moments of my football experience in my entire life. Denmark's "massacre" of SE in WC 1998 came next to these worst moments.
ogiso

Post by ogiso »

I was at the stadium that day. Had to get there by around 10am for 3pm kick-off. Naija always started games against North Africans at 3pm thinking it gave us an advantage. Kick-off was normally 4.45pm when playing sub-Saharan Africans. No buying tickets in advance in those days. If you didn’t get to the stadium early, the chances were that you wouldn’t get in. And then Ogbein gba wole!
Toxicarrow
Re: 35 Years: IICC vs Zamalek- Where were you on Dec 8, 1984

Post by Toxicarrow »

What a day in the history of Oluyole Warriors :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :oops: :oops: :oops:
Sam Agunsoye

Post by Sam Agunsoye »

Very sad day the 2nd leg, I was as the stadium.

What about the 96 Champs league finals? 3sc are known as chokers

folem

Post by folem »

ogiso wrote:I was at the stadium that day. Had to get there by around 10am for 3pm kick-off. Naija always started games against North Africans at 3pm thinking it gave us an advantage. Kick-off was normally 4.45pm when playing sub-Saharan Africans. No buying tickets in advance in those days. If you didn’t get to the stadium early, the chances were that you wouldn’t get in. And then Ogbein gba wole!
U mean 2:00 pm kick off?