Personal Insults & Acceptable Forum Behaviour - Your View

CE Rules on Personal Insults...

Should not be allowed at all
42%
Should be allowed, with modifications to current rules
3%
Should remain as they are - anything goes
26%
Let's first define what a personal insult actually is
19%
It doesn't matter to me
11%

Total votes: 74

Re: Personal Insults & Acceptable Forum Behaviour - Your Vie

john12 wrote:What’s going on here between pokey and odas? How dare you guys disrespect each other personally even on his thread? It’s quite insubordinate. Also, There’s a difference between using defamatory words in response to an unintelligent post by a forumer than outright consistent personal insult. Most people have problems with the latter.
Did I use any other word, except letting Odas know he lacks critical thinking skills?

Odas must improve his analytical skills.....I find it sad he lacks the basic ingredients to analyze simple issues...it concerning
Actually many CE folks do know each other and we've all met...so me stating or answering Odas means nothing..what if those info I gave home were false just to expose him? :D that Odas says he needs 6 months to attack bigpokey :rotf:
... exactly! Six months means I have to police you thoroughly and attack you when I have time. I am not like you who has no JOB and FAMILY :curse: :curse: , and have posted almost 74,000 responses or threads in this Site :shock: :shock: I have family and job, and they need my attentions :clap: :clap: :clap:

Secondly, your so called - critical thinking skills - which you possess should have told you the six months is a "figure of speech", meaning it could be less or even MORE :lol: :lol: :lol: mumu

Just for your information, I don't work in Fiesta grocery store or do Security guard jobs. I did such jobs long time ago (when I was in school), unlike you who is turning such craps into your life-long occupation :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

O'dboy, na me and you for hia-o!
Last edited by Odas on Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aruako1 wrote:
smartbrother wrote:for those in favour of banning personal insults altogether
at which point would you say Bigpokey or odas crossed the line on this thread?

this :
Bigpokey24 wrote: when i say some people lack basic thinking skills, nah true i talk.olodorapata oju egba lo mo jeh
OR
this:
Odas wrote:Mumu, if you have your so called "critical thinking skills", you would have known what the six (6) months I asked for, means. I have told you several times to go back to school and to date you have refused to do so. Continue to believe your Community College education is all you NEED, dummy!
Interesting question you raised. I think the 'ribbing' is good-natured. It is the typical Naija yabbis... the folks who cross the line know exactly when they cross the line.

It is like pornography, I might not be able to define it, but I can tell you it is pornography when I see it.

I like what Sine said, if you don't like how someone interacts with you, put him on your ignore list.

PS., I want to be able to still yab Princess, HemiOshodi, 1Naira, Comrade CICOB, Pa Ohsee, PaJ, Tifco and the list goes on... even BigTurkey sef. People come here to blow off steam. Sometimes they do cross the line... it is then we caution them. But the key for us is to recognize when someone is having a bad day and is just letting off steam and not try to respond in kind... folks should be able to stop when someone says he doesn't find the 'joke' funny.
Thank you. If the recipient objects it is wrong for the perpetrator to continue. It should also stop when it is derailing the thread.
Thank you! :clap: :clap: :clap:

this :
Bigpokey24 wrote: when i say some people lack basic thinking skills, nah true i talk.olodorapata oju egba lo mo jeh
OR
this:
Odas wrote:Mumu, if you have your so called "critical thinking skills", you would have known what the six (6) months I asked for, means. I have told you several times to go back to school and to date you have refused to do so. Continue to believe your Community College education is all you NEED, dummy!
Interesting question you raised. I think the 'ribbing' is good-natured. It is the typical Naija yabbis... the folks who cross the line know exactly when they cross the line.

It is like pornography, I might not be able to define it, but I can tell you it is pornography when I see it.

I like what Sine said, if you don't like how someone interacts with you, put him on your ignore list.

PS., I want to be able to still yab Princess, HemiOshodi, 1Naira, Comrade CICOB, Pa Ohsee, PaJ, Tifco and the list goes on... even BigTurkey sef. People come here to blow off steam. Sometimes they do cross the line... it is then we caution them. But the key for us is to recognize when someone is having a bad day and is just letting off steam and not try to respond in kind... folks should be able to stop when someone says he doesn't find the 'joke' funny.
Agreed. However as I mentioned earlier and I see 12 people agree - what constitutes a personal insult?

Woman wrapper full CE sha :lol: :lol: :lol:

41% of responders thus far na snowflakes. :taunt:

I took part in the poll -first time in many years!

What is personal insult? It is subjective.

Now, Ohenhen, myself, and a few others get insulted on this forum on a daily basis but we don't cry about it (especially Ohenhen....that guy has the thickest skin for real...lol). Shout out to Ohenhen mehn...because I have never seen him insult anybody on this forum...ever!!

Anyways...so after I have been insulted so many times on this forum una now want ban insults? Abeg define insult!! And why is sabinothing Okoro crying about being insulted?

Mods ban everyone who voted, they are of no use

Cristao II wrote:

this :
OR
this:

Agreed. However as I mentioned earlier and I see 12 people agree - what constitutes a personal insult?
I think the discussion should move into this realm now esp as it seems the overwhelmingly largest response is that no 'insults' whatsoever should be allowed.
The challenge then is exactly what you ask - what is an insult?
personally, I love the njakiri culture of CE but where does one stop and the other begin?

Those njakiri 'insults' aka yabbis, strike me as the kind of mockery you can say to the face of a friend whilst sitting across the table and even though he may not like it (depending on how sensitive he/she is) the person will not take it badly and may respond in kind and nuttin go spoil.

So let's test it out:
How do people see the following commonly used 'exchanges' on CE (forgive the deliberate misspellings):

a. "You are an idiyott"
b. "Your head nor dey house"
c. "You are delusional"
d. "You lack thinking skills"
e. "You are a barstarred"
f. "Ewu!"
g. "You have a mental illness"
h. "Your IQ is low/dumbo/retard/brain dead/airhead"
i. "You're a waste of sperm/ illicitly born and bred"
j. "God go punish you"

There are many more, but let's see what people think. Feel free to use your own examples.

Damunk wrote:How do people see the following commonly used 'exchanges' on CE (forgive the deliberate misspellings):

a. "You are an idiyott"

c. "You are delusional"

f. "Ewu!"

j. "God go punish you"

There are many more, but let's see what people think. Feel free to use your own examples.
Highlighted are regular yabis......................Damonkey :mrgreen: , make you no kill CE with OBAnization.
We don't need another baby-murderator :D
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

From letter a to j listed by damunk, I can beat my chest and say Odas is a certified expert from the following b, c,d,h...Bobo no dey carry last. ..

Damunk wrote:How do people see the following commonly used 'exchanges' on CE (forgive the deliberate misspellings):

a. "You are an idiyott"

c. "You are delusional"

f. "Ewu!"

j. "God go punish you"

Highlighted are regular yabis......................Damonkey :mrgreen: , make you no kill CE with OBAnization.
We don't need another baby-murderator :D
I actually agree with you. But this isnt about me or you.
It's about what we all believe and reaching a consensus.
seara

Post by seara »

Damunk all mockery is and attempt to ridicule and not in a nice way. There isn't any friendly mockery. People who like to sometimes post mocking will of course want it allowed on the forum. It doesn't say anything about the person who is being mocked. It shows how the person who is mocking is though.

As to personal insults: There isn't any such thing. People can try to personally insult people but what do they think is there that can be personally insulted? The imagined self (ego) isn't substantial though people can be react to insults as though they're personal.
Don't take us too serious, we're here to Rant and Rave. - otite
accidental on purpose - Cellular

seara wrote:Damunk all mockery is and attempt to ridicule and not in a nice way. There isn't any friendly mockery. People who like to sometimes post mocking will of course want it allowed on the forum. It doesn't say anything about the person who is being mocked. It shows how the person who is mocking is though.

As to personal insults: There isn't any such thing. People can try to personally insult people but what do they think is there that can be personally insulted? The imagined self (ego) isn't substantial though people can be react to insults as though they're personal.
Seara, people tend to yab themselves often as a sign of endearment - e.g. see your big head. That is friendly mockery. It is a part of several cultures and means nothing. Infact in some places, if they dont yab you - they are not close to you.

seara wrote:Damunk all mockery is and attempt to ridicule and not in a nice way. There isn't any friendly mockery. People who like to sometimes post mocking will of course want it allowed on the forum. It doesn't say anything about the person who is being mocked. It shows how the person who is mocking is though.

Seara, like Cristao quite eloquently pointed out, there is a cultural aspect to dialogue which you tend to ignore or fail to recognise. It is very strong in Nigerian culture and tbh, exists in most places all over the world. Even Nigerian parents 'yab' their kids and it is seen as normal. The key is choosing when and how to use it.

Personally, I do not want a sterile environment free of all that. When I first arrived here back in the 90s, on my very first day, like you, I frowned at the heavy yabbis going on. I was obviously tuned into the wrong channel and when I voiced my disapproval, it was yabbis they used to reset my dial.
I came back properly in tune and the rest is beautiful history. :D

The question still remains, what are forumers willing and unwilling to tolerate as yabbis?

I have not voted (for obvious reasons) but my position is pretty clear to most.
seara

Post by seara »

Cristao II wrote:

Seara, people tend to yab themselves often as a sign of endearment - e.g. see your big head. That is friendly mockery. It is a part of several cultures and means nothing. Infact in some places, if they dont yab you - they are not close to you.
Thank you Cristao. :smile: I've seen some yabbing that's as you described and I've not thought of it as mockery but more as friendly or endearing teasing. Some of it I interpret wrongly though, because I don't know that the people might have met so are friendly or endearing yabbing. Also I can't see people's faces and hear the tone of a voice.

Bigpokey24 wrote:Mods ban everyone who voted, they are of no use
Sure! You are the ONLY one who is of use. Oh, I forgot, you have CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS and graduated from Community Colleges; therefore, everyone else is a fool - mumu :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
seara

Post by seara »

Seara, like Cristao quite eloquently pointed out, there is a cultural aspect to dialogue which you tend to ignore or fail to recognise. It is very strong in Nigerian culture and tbh, exists in most places all over the world. Even Nigerian parents 'yab' their kids and it is seen as normal. The key is choosing when and how to use it.
:smile:
Personally, I do not want a sterile environment free of all that. When I first arrived here back in the 90s, on my very first day, like you, I frowned at the heavy yabbis going on. I was obviously tuned into the wrong channel and when I voiced my disapproval, it was yabbis they used to reset my dial.
I came back properly in tune and the rest is beautiful history. :D
:biggrin: :thumb:

I don't want a sterile environment on CE either, Damunk. I enjoy reading creative funny yabbing. :biggrin:
The question still remains, what are forumers willing and unwilling to tolerate as yabbis?
That would depend on the intent. People can say the same words very differently, depending on intent. Not referring to here on CE: I've seen some people say 'I hate you.' in a friendly playful way and some say it in a very violent angry way. Same words, different intent. :smile:

a. "You are an idiyott"

c. "You are delusional"

f. "Ewu!"

j. "God go punish you"

I actually agree with you. But this isnt about me or you.
It's about what we all believe and reaching a consensus.
Damunk: None of your line-item phrases or words are appropriate at anytime, unless one who is OFFENDED is responding in kind. Of what sense or professionalism does it depict for a person to respond to another Forumer who posted or stated his/her opinion without insulting anyone?

If a person hates the position or opinion of other's post and the post is not PERSONALLY referring to you, then leave the post alone and move-on. Responding with insults forces the offended to reply in kind and from there, no telling what it will lead to.

Ban insults of any kind. What is an "insult?" Well, using any of the above examples given by Damunk when UNPROVOKED is an insult.

It seems people are mixing "friendly yabis" with "offensive yabis." Like Seara already pointed out, the same word or phrases when said with seriousness or with voice highly pitched and eyes widely opened can lead to a major commotion. In another time when properly used and in a friendly way, could mean nothing and the laughing or enjoyment continues.

In the internet, when does one know when another person is joking and when not? To avoid any commotion; therefore, any yabis or insult should be BANNED.

Odas wrote:It seems people are mixing "friendly yabis" with "offensive yabis." Like Seara already pointed out, the same word or phrases when said with seriousness or with voice highly pitched and eyes widely opened can lead to a major commotion. In another time when properly used and in a friendly way, could mean nothing and the laughing or enjoyment continues.

In the internet, when does one know when another person is joking and when not? To avoid any commotion; therefore, any yabis or insult should be BANNED.
It is not so clear cut. I would take strong offence at someone calling me an Arsenal fan. However that means nothing for most and really it shouldn't.

It is Christmas season all of una heads no dey house..go and enjoy the holidays , chop rice and chicken instead of this rubbish thread..Odas or damunk needs dem head konked for opening this thread ..

Cristao II wrote:

this :
OR
this:

I think the discussion should move into this realm now esp as it seems the overwhelmingly largest response is that no 'insults' whatsoever should be allowed.
personally, I love the njakiri culture of CE but where does one stop and the other begin?

Those njakiri 'insults' aka yabbis, strike me as the kind of mockery you can say to the face of a friend whilst sitting across the table and even though he may not like it (depending on how sensitive he/she is) the person will not take it badly and may respond in kind and nuttin go spoil.

So let's test it out:
How do people see the following commonly used 'exchanges' on CE (forgive the deliberate misspellings):

a. "You are an idiyott"
c. "You are delusional"
f. "Ewu!"
j. "God go punish you"

Doc, the poll as constituted is faulty.
As at today. Only 41% of the respondents want it changed. While the rest really don’t care one way or the other.

BTW, is distorting someone’s name an insult?

seara

Post by seara »

Cristao II wrote:

this :
OR
this:

So let's test it out:

a. "You are an idiyott"
c. "You are delusional"
f. "Ewu!"
j. "God go punish you"

Doc, the poll as constituted is faulty.
As at today. Only 41% of the respondents want it changed. While the rest really don’t care one way or the other.
40% don't care. !9% was 'Let's first define what a personal insult actually is' which isn't saying they don't care. So the don't cares haven't won yet, Cellular. :biggrin:

Bigpokey24 wrote:It is Christmas season all of una heads no dey house..go and enjoy the holidays , chop rice and chicken instead of this rubbish thread..Odas or damunk needs dem head konked for opening this thread ..
Your best post in a very long time :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo