Personal Insults & Acceptable Forum Behaviour - Your View

CE Rules on Personal Insults...

Should not be allowed at all
42%
Should be allowed, with modifications to current rules
3%
Should remain as they are - anything goes
26%
Let's first define what a personal insult actually is
19%
It doesn't matter to me
11%

Total votes: 74

Re: Personal Insults & Acceptable Forum Behaviour - Your Vie

seara wrote:
Cristao II wrote:
smartbrother wrote:for those in favour of banning personal insults altogether
at which point would you say Bigpokey or odas crossed the line on this thread?

this :
Bigpokey24 wrote: when i say some people lack basic thinking skills, nah true i talk.olodorapata oju egba lo mo jeh
OR
this:
Odas wrote:Mumu, if you have your so called "critical thinking skills", you would have known what the six (6) months I asked for, means. I have told you several times to go back to school and to date you have refused to do so. Continue to believe your Community College education is all you NEED, dummy!
Interesting question you raised. I think the 'ribbing' is good-natured. It is the typical Naija yabbis... the folks who cross the line know exactly when they cross the line.

It is like pornography, I might not be able to define it, but I can tell you it is pornography when I see it.

I like what Sine said, if you don't like how someone interacts with you, put him on your ignore list.

PS., I want to be able to still yab Princess, HemiOshodi, 1Naira, Comrade CICOB, Pa Ohsee, PaJ, Tifco and the list goes on... even BigTurkey sef. People come here to blow off steam. Sometimes they do cross the line... it is then we caution them. But the key for us is to recognize when someone is having a bad day and is just letting off steam and not try to respond in kind... folks should be able to stop when someone says he doesn't find the 'joke' funny.
Agreed. However as I mentioned earlier and I see 12 people agree - what constitutes a personal insult?
I think the discussion should move into this realm now esp as it seems the overwhelmingly largest response is that no 'insults' whatsoever should be allowed.
The challenge then is exactly what you ask - what is an insult?
personally, I love the njakiri culture of CE but where does one stop and the other begin?

Those njakiri 'insults' aka yabbis, strike me as the kind of mockery you can say to the face of a friend whilst sitting across the table and even though he may not like it (depending on how sensitive he/she is) the person will not take it badly and may respond in kind and nuttin go spoil.

So let's test it out:
How do people see the following commonly used 'exchanges' on CE (forgive the deliberate misspellings):

a. "You are an idiyott"
b. "Your head nor dey house"
c. "You are delusional"
d. "You lack thinking skills"
e. "You are a barstarred"
f. "Ewu!"
g. "You have a mental illness"
h. "Your IQ is low/dumbo/retard/brain dead/airhead"
i. "You're a waste of sperm/ illicitly born and bred"
j. "God go punish you"

There are many more, but let's see what people think. Feel free to use your own examples.
Doc, the poll as constituted is faulty.
As at today. Only 41% of the respondents want it changed. While the rest really don’t care one way or the other.
40% don't care. !9% was 'Let's first define what a personal insult actually is' which isn't saying they don't care. So the don't cares haven't won yet, Cellular. :biggrin:
Seara, can you take your dumb :mrgreen: , kumbaya, hippie 'non-yabbing' campaign to the Green party 'one love' dead forums and leave us to be what we are.............Hard-take no prisoners, yabbing Nigerians :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
seara

Post by seara »

zee wrote:Seara, can you take your dumb :mrgreen: , kumbaya, hippie 'non-yabbing' campaign to the Green party 'one love' dead forums

Zee you've again, as you many times have, posted imagining something that isn't happening. On this thread I posted this to Damunk which either you didn't see, you ignored, or you forgot you read:
seara wrote:I don't want a sterile environment on CE either, Damunk. I enjoy reading creative funny yabbing. :biggrin:
Don't take us too serious, we're here to Rant and Rave. - otite
accidental on purpose - Cellular

Cristao II wrote:

this :
Bigpokey24 wrote: when i say some people lack basic thinking skills, nah true i talk.olodorapata oju egba lo mo jeh
OR
this:
Odas wrote:Mumu, if you have your so called "critical thinking skills", you would have known what the six (6) months I asked for, means. I have told you several times to go back to school and to date you have refused to do so. Continue to believe your Community College education is all you NEED, dummy!
Interesting question you raised. I think the 'ribbing' is good-natured. It is the typical Naija yabbis... the folks who cross the line know exactly when they cross the line.

It is like pornography, I might not be able to define it, but I can tell you it is pornography when I see it.

I like what Sine said, if you don't like how someone interacts with you, put him on your ignore list.

PS., I want to be able to still yab Princess, HemiOshodi, 1Naira, Comrade CICOB, Pa Ohsee, PaJ, Tifco and the list goes on... even BigTurkey sef. People come here to blow off steam. Sometimes they do cross the line... it is then we caution them. But the key for us is to recognize when someone is having a bad day and is just letting off steam and not try to respond in kind... folks should be able to stop when someone says he doesn't find the 'joke' funny.
Agreed. However as I mentioned earlier and I see 12 people agree - what constitutes a personal insult?
I think the discussion should move into this realm now esp as it seems the overwhelmingly largest response is that no 'insults' whatsoever should be allowed.
personally, I love the njakiri culture of CE but where does one stop and the other begin?

Those njakiri 'insults' aka yabbis, strike me as the kind of mockery you can say to the face of a friend whilst sitting across the table and even though he may not like it (depending on how sensitive he/she is) the person will not take it badly and may respond in kind and nuttin go spoil.

So let's test it out:
How do people see the following commonly used 'exchanges' on CE (forgive the deliberate misspellings):

a. "You are an idiyott"
c. "You are delusional"
f. "Ewu!"
j. "God go punish you"

There are many more, but let's see what people think. Feel free to use your own examples.
As at today. Only 41% of the respondents want it changed. While the rest really don’t care one way or the other.

BTW, is distorting someone’s name an insult?
Cellular; please Chief, what makes the POLL wrongly constituted? Is 41% not a "majority?" To me, the answer to the poll is already clear. BAN any form of yabis.

Leave our forum alone ...just ban odas.

Cristao II wrote:

this :
OR
this:

So let's test it out:

a. "You are an idiyott"
c. "You are delusional"
f. "Ewu!"
j. "God go punish you"

Cellular; please Chief, what makes the POLL wrongly constituted? Is 41% not a "majority?" To me, the answer to the poll is already clear. BAN any form of yabis.
Chief Odas, 41% said an outright 'No' to insults. While the other respondents pretty much did not say No!
41% is NOT the majority. For us to have a majority, 51% should say, 'No' the way the poll is constituted.

So far, with 70 votes cast...

Outright 'No' to insults: 41%
Leave things as they are ('Remainers' + 'I don't carers'): 37%
Undecideds, more info required: 22%

Odas,
The 'outright No to insults' group (41%) is NOT the majority (ie more than half of total votes cast), but simply the largest single voting block. It would only take a few undecideds to either overturn their lead or further consolidate it.

This is probably why Cellular is suggesting the poll is flawed.
It depends on the objective of the poll.
I just wanted us to get a better understanding of what people are thinking, rather than a straight 'yes/no' poll which IMHO wouldn't really be informative enough to reach a fair decision.

The key is with that 22% that want to know how an insult will be defined - which is what we are trying to do.
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Damunk.. your poll is not accurate.

What we have now is not "anything goes". We all know Parents and family members are out of bounds.

I'm all for the current rule. Anything goes except for parents and family members..
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
seara

Post by seara »

Damunk wrote:So far, with 70 votes cast...

Odas,
The 'outright No to insults' group (41%) is NOT the majority (ie more than half of total votes cast), but simply the largest single voting block. It would only take a few undecideds to either overturn their lead or further consolidate it.

I just wanted us to get a better understanding of what people are thinking, rather than a straight 'yes/no' poll which IMHO wouldn't really be informative enough to reach a fair decision.

The key is with that 22% that want to know how an insult will be defined - which is what we are trying to do.
Damunk %s below don't count towards 'Should remain as they are - anything goes' so how did you come up with the 37% you quoted above:
Let's first define what a personal insult actually is - 18%
It doesn't matter to me - 11%
seara

Post by seara »

this :
OR
this:

There are better ways to blow of steam than dump on people on a forum. Joking around to blow of steam is one thing, trying to verbally bash people, for blowing off steam, is another.

I don't get why people aren't suppose to say anything about people's parents yet they can say almost anything they want to the people they're posting with. If a parent was posting on the forum it would be okay to post trying to insult the parent, right? How many of you are parents? I'm not interested in trying to insult anyone but I don't get that rule. :smile:

Cristao II wrote:
Cellular wrote: Interesting question you raised. I think the 'ribbing' is good-natured. It is the typical Naija yabbis... the folks who cross the line know exactly when they cross the line.

So let's test it out:

a. "You are an idiyott"
c. "You are delusional"
f. "Ewu!"
j. "God go punish you"

Chief Odas, 41% said an outright 'No' to insults. While the other respondents pretty much did not say No!
41% is NOT the majority. For us to have a majority, 51% should say, 'No' the way the poll is constituted.
Let's put it this way - Oga Cellular. We have five people running for office and a candidate scored 41% in the election with the next - closest - earning 27% of the votes. Who won the election?

If there is no winner based on the rule (constitution), then a run-off will be between the candidates with 41% and 27% respectively. In many cases (if past happenings are to be used), the candidate with the 41% will still clean the house. Thus to me, the voters here have spoken, the answer is clear
Last edited by Odas on Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:42 am, edited 2 times in total.

Schillachi wrote:Damunk.. your poll is not accurate.

What we have now is not "anything goes". We all know Parents and family members are out of bounds.

I'm all for the current rule. Anything goes except for parents and family members..
This is true and this is what was meant.
I think most already know that though.
Parental/family insults are non-negotiable.
My bad.

Odas,

Chief Damunk, please see my response to Oga Cellular in above. However, based on your suggestion and the reason for initiating the poll, I believe the idea you were seeking has been defined or made clear for you with the 41% votes, which is: NO INSULTS at all from anyone to anyone.

On the other hand, I am also of the opinion if insults or yabis are to be allowed, then all yabis should be allowed, including yabbing other people's parents, tribes and et al. They are ALL yabis and they are GOOD - let's laugh. Open-up the Forum, anything goes!
Last edited by Odas on Sat Dec 23, 2017 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

seara wrote:

Odas,

Damunk %s below don't count towards 'Should remain as they are - anything goes' so how did you come up with the 37% you quoted above:
Its clear how the 37% was arrived at Seara.
Those that say leave things as they are (now 27%) plus those that don't care either way (now 11%) - total 38%

Those that want to know what an 'insult' is are the undecideds - they need more information. So how can you count them as anything else?

My bad.
Please let's ALLOW all YABIS, all with no exception, it might be the BEST.
seara

Post by seara »

My bad.
:lol: Great suggestion Odas!!!!! because I still don't get the parent's being an exception rule.

In Canada when I was a kid and there was prejudice towards me and some other kids because we were immigrants. Not only did they attack us physically or with rocks, they would also try insulting us and sometimes say not nice stuff about our parents. My parents encouraged me and my brother to just ignore it. It really had nothing to do with us or our parents, but with what the kids were hearing from their prejudice parents and of course some kids just wanting someone to bully. My parents were right about ignoring it, well in that town anyway. The kids stopped trying to insult when there wasn't any reacting to it. :biggrin: On CE, though, some people keep trying. The word fights don't solve anything and sometimes derails threads.
seara

Post by seara »

seara wrote:

Odas,

Those that say leave things as they are (now 27%) plus those that don't care either way (now 11%) - total 38%

Those that want to know what an 'insult' is are the undecideds - they need more information. So how can you count them as anything else?
Damunk it seems to me you're maybe looking for a way to keep CE as is. :smile:

seara wrote:

My bad.
:lol: Great suggestion Odas!!!!! because I still don't get the parent's being an exception rule.

In Canada when I was a kid and there was prejudice towards me and some other kids because we were immigrants. Not only did they attack us physically or with rocks, they would also try insulting us and sometimes say not nice stuff about our parents. My parents encouraged me and my brother to just ignore it. It really had nothing to do with us or our parents, but with what the kids were hearing from their prejudice parents and of course some kids just wanting someone to bully. My parents were right about ignoring it, well in that town anyway. The kids stopped trying to insult when there wasn't any reacting to it. :biggrin: On CE, though, some people keep trying. The word fights don't solve anything and sometimes derails threads.
Thanks Madam Seara; for your points! In addition to your opinion, I find it unreasonable to want to permit "yabis" of a kind and yet ban another. This is a Nigerian Site and indeed, that of Africa (at least, Black Africa). Where in any Nigerian or African culture and customs is it approved for the YOUNG to yab the OLD?

In beer parlors, people flock together based on their age groups; therefore, if they are to yab, they are yabbing their age mates, not people as old as their parents who; perhaps, have children as old as they are. When the old is yabbed by the young, the OLD person is entitled to deflect curses (refer) to the parents of the young because it is seen as INSULT to the OLD who is being yabbed. In some instances, other people (the young) have risen to defend the OLD when being insulted by the young in their presence. In my custom, insulting the elderly is NEVER allowed - even tomorrow.

If all that is possible, why would a person stay behind his/her Computer and insult another he/she has never met in the name of yabis and having fun? Who are you yabbing? Are you yabbing an elder whose children is of your age and perhaps your SUPERIOR in many areas of life - because we are in Cybereagles - and we are having fun?

Again, of what sense is it to respond to another Forumer with: "STFU", yet you were NOT insulted or provoked? Where is the RESPECT to the other person? Where is the professionalism? Please BAN all types of yabbing or OPEN-UP the forum and allow anything to take place (anything goes).

WARNING: If anything goes in this Forum, I believe many people will stop posting or worst still, will LEAVE. MAY GOD HELP US!
Last edited by Odas on Sun Dec 24, 2017 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

seara wrote:

My bad.
Seara, I have time for you but sometimes you can be infuriatingly stubborn. Grrrrrr!!!!!!!

You are REFUSING to recognise the cultural bias we have as Nigerians towards parental abuse. So your 'not getting it' is irrelevant. You are not Nigerian - just trying to understand and learn the culture. Even the most vile individuals (or even criminals) in Nigeria would hesitate to insult parents as they so casually do in the west. So whatever you think, want to think or refuse to think, specifically banning parental abuse is very culture-appropriate on a Nigerian forum.
You can't come here and start to use your own value systems to decide what is and isn't appropriate for us. You don't have to 'get it'. You take it .... or you leave it.

If you can't respect that difference, then what are you doing here? This is exactly how you were sermonising about the methods Nigerian parents used to discipline their children (us) back in the day (and some still do same now).
You can state your observations and then, if you are unwilling or unable to absorb the culture of the host community you find yourself in, take a back seat.
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Many of us went thru exactly the same thing, possibly even worse.
There are even people here who lived through a civil war and/or experienced the immediate aftermath and all the prejudice that went with it. So you can't really teach many people here about prejudice and how it hurts.
But this is about what WE feel is appropriate yabbis for us, not about prejudice.

People are giving their views just like you. But they are coming from a place of a better understanding of the culture.

seara wrote:

Odas,

Damunk it seems to me you're maybe looking for a way to keep CE as is. :smile:
I have no intention of trying to manipulate opinion or the poll outcome.
I am entitled to vote but have declined to.
But yes, my opinion is pretty obvious.

I would really like to know how in your reckoning those that want a more precise definition of 'insult' can be regarded as saying 'No' to insults rather than being 'undecideds' as I have suggested.

Damunk wrote:Seara, I have time for you but sometimes you can be infuriatingly stubborn. Grrrrrr!!!!!!!

You are REFUSING to recognise the cultural bias we have as Nigerians towards parental abuse. So your 'not getting it' is irrelevant. You are not Nigerian - just trying to understand and learn the culture. Even the most vile individuals (or even criminals) in Nigeria would hesitate to insult parents as they so casually do in the west. So whatever you think, want to think or refuse to think, specifically banning parental abuse is very culture-appropriate on a Nigerian forum.
You can't come here and start to use your own value systems to decide what is and isn't appropriate for us. You don't have to 'get it'. You take it .... or you leave it.

If you can't respect that difference, then what are you doing here? This is exactly how you were sermonising about the methods Nigerian parents used to discipline their children (us) back in the day (and some still do same now).

You can state your observations and then, if you are unwilling or unable to absorb the culture of the host community you find yourself in, take a back seat.
:clap: :clap: :clap: ........Seara is just exhibiting the normal (idiotic) arrogance of liberals :curse: towards black folks and Africans in particular.
These daft liberals believe that blacks are like little children that can't be held accountable for their actions....................'cos THEY DON'T KNOW BETTER.
That's why I can't stand green party scumbags in Germany/Europe..........................they all believe that all Blacks/Africans must be foolish and daft like mcal or Otite :mrgreen: .
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
jdizzy

Post by jdizzy »

Personal insults need to be curtailed. Ayo's meaningless 10-pointers also need to be regulated...nothing riles me up on this forum more than seeing that gibberish typed out next to numbers 1-10. I feel like slapping someone each time
Niente Ÿ impossibile!

jdizzy wrote:Personal insults need to be curtailed. Ayo's meaningless 10-pointers also need to be regulated...nothing riles me up on this forum more than seeing that gibberish typed out next to numbers 1-10. I feel like slapping someone each time
As things stand, you are allowed to insult him on our behalf to your heart's content....but not his family. :P
seara

Post by seara »

Damunk wrote:Seara, I have time for you but sometimes you can be infuriatingly stubborn. Grrrrrr!!!!!!!

:clap: :clap: :clap: ........Seara is just exhibiting the normal (idiotic) arrogance of liberals :curse: towards black folks and Africans in particular.
These daft liberals believe that blacks are like little children that can't be held accountable for their actions....................'cos THEY DON'T KNOW BETTER.
I've posted on CE that I'm not a liberal. Also I've posted on CE that there isn't any so called superior=inferior, so it's impossible that arrogance is present as you said seara is. I don't care the color of skin but apparently you do or you wouldn't imagine something about a poster isn't black.