Page 1 of 2

Poland on the cards - Rohr Interview

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:35 pm
by mystic
Translated from football365.fr

http://www.football365.fr/nigeria-gerno ... 21852.html
NIGERIA/GERNOT ROHR: "A SUCCESS AT THE WORLD CUP WOULD BE EXCEPTIONAL"

POSTED ON 9 DECEMBER 2017 AT 12H10 - UPDATED ON 9 DECEMBER 2017 AT 12H19 PATRICK JUILLARD

Nigerian coach Gernot Rohr returns exclusively for Football365 Africa on the 2018 World Cup draw, which placed the Super Eagles against Argentina, Croatia and Iceland.

Gernot Rohr, hot after the draw for the World Cup, you said "It's going to be a physical challenge against the Icelanders, a technical challenge against the Croatians, and a challenge to the Argentineans." Can you detail? What is your opinion on these 3 opponents?

This draw is a difficult draw, with three good teams. Our first opponent will be Croatia. The match will take place in Kaliningrad, an eccentric place with a bit of jet lag and a former German city that I already know a bit. Croatia is capable of great things with a team of stars playing in the biggest clubs. They are able to beat the biggest, but also to be surprised by less prestigious teams. It will be up to us to question them. Their technical qualities are huge but we also have a quality game. This is the most important match, and we hope to prepare it, against opponents similar to Croatia. So we will play Poland at home on March 23rd.

Iceland remains more difficult to define ...

Iceland has worked hard for ten or twelve years with extraordinary structures to play football all year long despite the harsh weather conditions. Domes of football, where you can play at any time have been installed, with a dozen per region. Work is done from an early age. Today, it is a team that knows how to play football but who remains very physical and supportive. It is expected for this match that takes place in Volgograd to a very difficult game. Supporters will come in large numbers in charters to win their team. It will be an unprecedented match in the history of the World Cup, which adds spice. In this group, it is amusing to see that the four teams know each other very well in pairs: Croatia knows Iceland well,

Nigeria will meet Argentina for the fifth time in the finals, a record. How to finally take points against this opponent?

We will not make the mistake of thinking that we already know them. We beat them in friendly Krasnodar last month, but Argentina played without Lionel Messi. And Argentina without Messiit's not the same team. They have four goals, they may not have changed much defensively, but offensively they can change everything. Argentina is still vice-champion of the world, and had not passed away from the coronation in 2014. This team is perhaps at the end of the cycle, but it can make it all the more formidable, with players eager to prove that they can win. I met Jorge Burruchaga in the draw. He told me "we are coming to win the World Cup. They have chosen a magnificent base camp and will put the package to make it happen.

Do you have an idea of ​​the ideal preparation program?

We chose a base camp that we visited in southern Russia, between Sochi and Volgograd, in the countryside, in a region of mineral and spa baths. We will be far from everything, with opportunities for care and excellent conditions of recovery between games. At 500 meters altitude, it will not be too hot.

On which points do you think you can make the most progress by June?

I think we can always progress on all levels: technical, but also tactical and physical. Tactically, we must be able to adapt according to our opponents. For example, we tried against Argentina, we tried a defense to three, which can turn into a defense to five. We can still do more. Physically, we will be ready. We will take a second physical trainer, in this case Bernard Ginès, I had in my staff in Nice, between 2002 and 2005. We will receive FieldWiz, which are GPS to work better in detail. We will have to progress in the detection of our own players so as not to be mistaken on the list of 30, then that of 23. We will strengthen the scouting team.

What about mental preparation?

We have already shown that we are mentally tough, but it will be even more for the World Cup. We already have a mental trainer with Nabil Trabelsi. Do not flood the group with too many foreign faces. We are not sick, we do not need psychiatrists (laughs).

Does Nigeria have the means to become the first African team semi-finalist of a World Cup?

It's a dream, it's a wish. To think we can do it would be pretentious. We will first try to pass the chickens. Then, it is another pair of sleeves, we will advise from match to match depending on the opponents. Nigeria today has the youngest team in the World Cup with 24.9 years of average age. The figure may be even lower in Russia, as we spotted a 19-year-old goalkeeper in La Coruna . We also come to learn: the life of Nigerian football does not stop after the World Cup. I sincerely believe that we have players who share my ambition to go very far and who have the technical means.

As a technician, is participating in a World Cup the best challenge of your career?

Yes, it's for me the most beautiful. It has been fantastic to qualify in this difficult group with Algeria, Cameroon and Zambia. To have a shot at the World Cup would be exceptional. I prepare myself as best as I can, personally. Every detail counts in the preparation and the choice of the players. We found young people at certain positions. The last challenge is to find a goalkeeper who satisfies us fully. We are working with my guardian coach, Enrico Pionetti. CHAN will be important to take stock. Ikechukwu Ezenwa will participate, under the direction of my assistant Salisu Yusuf. I will follow things closely.

On a personal level, several media announced your extension to the position of coach. What is it really ?

The verbal agreement was reinforced by an official handshake. We met in Moscow with representatives of the executive committee of the Federation. We agreed on a two-year extension. I thank my leaders for this trust. Beyond the World Cup, the goal is CAN 2019. We want to come back and win.

Re: Poland on the cards - Rohr Interview

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:43 pm
by niyi
Thanks.

At home in Uyo?

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:46 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
In March, we will most likely play Poland and Serbia. Let us see if the NFF can complete the negotiations and strike good deals.

Poland want us because they are in the same group with Senegal and Rohr wants Serbia because they are from the same tree as Croatia. Dates, venues, times, match fee payments, etc all need to be sorted out.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:47 pm
by mystic
niyi wrote:Thanks.

At home in Uyo?

Not sure. Could've been lost in translation.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:47 pm
by Damunk
He really likes Uzoho.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:48 pm
by Damunk
mystic wrote:

At home in Uyo?

Could be Poland 'at home' in Warsaw.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:51 pm
by Ayo Akinfe

At home in Uyo?
We will not be playing them in Uyo. It will most likely either be in Paris or London.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:51 pm
by mystic
http://aoifootball.com/2017/12/09/intl- ... -in-march/
Three -time African champions, Nigeria and Poland will square up in a high– profile pre-World Cup international friendly in Warsaw on March 23, 2018, AOIFootball.com reports.
The friendly game will be part of Nigeria’s 2018 World Cup preparations billed for next year.
Nigeria are drawn alongside Argentina, Croatia and debutants Iceland in the same group.
Super Eagles Manager, Gernot Rohr disclosed to Football365.fr, that all arrangements have been concluded by both federations for the friendly encounter.
Head of the Polish Football Association (PZPN), Zbigniew Boniek, disclosed to the media that the friendly between Nigeria and Poland has been confirmed, and will hold either in Wroclaw or Silesian Stadium in Chorzów.
“We will shop for another team in Europe for another FIFA date, before the World Cup kicks off,” Rohr stated.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:54 pm
by mystic

At home in Uyo?
We will not be playing them in Uyo. It will most likely either be in Paris or London.
I figured as much given that we'll be playing a 2nd friendly on the 27th.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:56 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
mystic wrote:http://aoifootball.com/2017/12/09/intl- ... -in-march/
Three -time African champions, Nigeria and Poland will square up in a high– profile pre-World Cup international friendly in Warsaw on March 23, 2018, AOIFootball.com reports.
The friendly game will be part of Nigeria’s 2018 World Cup preparations billed for next year.
Nigeria are drawn alongside Argentina, Croatia and debutants Iceland in the same group.
Super Eagles Manager, Gernot Rohr disclosed to Football365.fr, that all arrangements have been concluded by both federations for the friendly encounter.
Head of the Polish Football Association (PZPN), Zbigniew Boniek, disclosed to the media that the friendly between Nigeria and Poland has been confirmed, and will hold either in Wroclaw or Silesian Stadium in Chorzów.
“We will shop for another team in Europe for another FIFA date, before the World Cup kicks off,” Rohr stated.

I am not happy with this venue. We should have played it in somewhere like Berlin, Paris or London and then played our game on the 27th at the same venue. This will mean significant travel for our players. Not ideal!

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:01 pm
by jdizzy
I really like Rohr. The attention to detail in planning is something we have lacked in some time

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:03 pm
by Sampo
Now, this is the right personnel to talk about technicalities without necessarily giving too much away. A man using his experience to handle the intrusive curiosities of the media. A man who finds that his own ambition for glory in his twilight years is matched well by the instruments and treasures he has stumbled on in the SE. Note the level of attention he is dedicating to the intricacies of training and scouting, customized to the strengths of the opposition. Our local coaches should be understudying his approach to team handling. Thanking Rohr for helping us rediscover our innate football tradition.
We have already shown that we are mentally tough, but it will be even more for the World Cup. We already have a mental trainer with Nabil Trabelsi. Do not flood the group with too many foreign faces. We are not sick, we do not need psychiatrists
:thumbs: :rotf:

Pinnick should concentrate on the boardroom, grand strategies and be getting us better deals from the sponsors. He should stop flirting with the foreign press, where he is prone to letting out surplus info and leave the press briefings to the PR team. He ought to be seen less, while his work is more visible.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:17 pm
by TheHitman47
Poland isn't a bad team to prepare for Croatia. Very similar in playing style to Croatia with heavy midfield play. Also if they play full strength they would have Lewandowski or Milik up front which would be good prep for some of the better strikers in the league.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:19 pm
mystic wrote:
On a personal level, several media announced your extension to the position of coach. What is it really ?

The verbal agreement was reinforced by an official handshake. We met in Moscow with representatives of the executive committee of the Federation. We agreed on a two-year extension. I thank my leaders for this trust. Beyond the World Cup, the goal is CAN 2019. We want to come back and win.
[/quote]

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:54 pm
by txj
TheHitman47 wrote:Poland isn't a bad team to prepare for Croatia. Very similar in playing style to Croatia with heavy midfield play. Also if they play full strength they would have Lewandowski or Milik up front which would be good prep for some of the better strikers in the league.
Not very similar IMO.

Different technical qualities

Difference in the build up process and the speed of transition to the last third.

Croatia is the more balanced team with greater technical character in midfield, whilst the Poles are more explosive.

TBH don’t care too much about the friendlies opponents. More interested in the other details of our presentation, especially the conditioning.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:06 pm
by Odas
Damunk wrote:He really likes Uzoho.
It seems like it. I like Uzoho as well, though I have not seen him in actions to reach a conclusion. In addition, it seems our coach is talented, skillful and knows what is he doing based on his comments and how he intend to prepare out team for the world cup.

I can't wait to see how Croatia is going to cry after we beat them :lol: :lol: and how the other teams (Iceland and Argentina) will be frowning after we top the group :clap: :clap:

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:09 pm
Odas once again you continue to post without thinking critically. .you said you like uzoho as well but you haven't seen him play..kai ...if I point this out now, you go dey vex...you no sabi book at all

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:10 pm
by Odas
mystic wrote:

At home in Uyo?
Could be Poland 'at home' in Warsaw.
... I think that is what he meant. At least, that is my understanding or the way I took it.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:14 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Nigeria's Super Eagles to play friendly game against Poland's national team on March 23 - See more at: https://goo.gl/cNj1vn

We will likely play Serbia on March 27 to prepared us for Croatia. I just hope the logistics are all well taken care of, so the team does not have to travel too much.

This is how it will probably work:

[1] The team camp will be in London or Paris
[2] Once the players gather there, they will fly out to Poland together
[3] From Paris or London they will either fly to Copernicus Airport in Wroclaw or Pyrzowice Airport in Katowice
[4] From Poland the team will fly to Belgrade after the match
[5] From Belgrade, everyone will fly home
[6] Personally, I would favour the Poland game being played in Wroclaw. Apart from the fact that it has good air links, it is only two hours from London or Paris
[7] A lot depends on whether the Serbia game goes ahead or not
[8] I hope the NFF did what they did when we played Algeria and Argentina when a plane was chartered to take the team from Constantine in Algeria to Krasnodar in Russia and back
[9] This will be the last window before the season ends, so Herr Rohr needs to use to to try out all the players he has not tested
[10] If you ask me, the results of these two games are the least important of all the goals Rohr mist have set himself. Finding out how players cope, working on new tactics, building chemistry, etc, are all a lot more important than the scoreline

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:17 pm
by Enugu II
Mystic,

Thanks for the info. Who do we play for the second game in March?

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:22 pm
by Odas
Bigpokey24 wrote:Odas once again you continue to post without thinking critically. .you said you like uzoho as well but you haven't seen him play..kai ...if I point this out now, you go dey vex...you no sabi book at all
Mumu, in your rush to attack, you forgot to reason in detail or apply "LOGIC and CRITICAL THINKING" in your sentences. I only saw Uzoho play during our friendly match with Argentina for about 45 minutes or so and I like what I saw. Now, should I reach a conclusion based on that alone? I need to see him more before I can FULLY take a position about him. Thus far, I like him based on the second half he manned the goalpost for us.

I suggest you stop putting Penis in your ARSE , go back to school and finish your education. The Community College degree you have is not enough. I also suggest you take English 301, 305 or 310, depending on which University you may attend. The English course is called: TECHNICAL REPORT WRITING, it will teach you a lot.

On the other hand, if in doubt, ask for your own development and maturity instead of being a fool at all times.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:26 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote:Odas once again you continue to post without thinking critically. .you said you like uzoho as well but you haven't seen him play..kai ...if I point this out now, you go dey vex...you no sabi book at all
O boy! Have you not seen people fall in love without actually meeting the person? Abi you no dey do social media love?

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:34 pm
by Odas
O boy! Have you not seen people fall in love without actually meeting the person? Abi you no dey do social media love?
Chief, please don't mind the fool! In my sentence, I said in "actions", indicating plural or more than once, but because he has some LONG and FAT d#$% in his arse, he was very excited and began spilling nonsense :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: