Roy Hodgson is a horrible person

Re: Roy Hodgson is a horrible person

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Hodgson tried to get word to Benteke to drop the gall but was unable to. League rules do not allow coaches on to the pitch.

Palace’s other players should have acted. They should just have taken Benteke aside quietly and explained matters to him.
I suspect league rules also disallow coaches from:

1. asking a player on the pitch to run to Benteke and instruct him to step aside; and

2. having a substitute or asst. coach run to behind the post (where players warm up) and scream at Benteke?
In his post-match interview, Hodgson explained that he tried in vain to get word to Benteke. They elected a penalty taker before the game, so he should not even have needed to.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

danfo driver let's agree to disagree.

Given his actions yesterday Benteke did not deserve the managers protection. Each to his own
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Hodgson tried to get word to Benteke to drop the gall but was unable to. League rules do not allow coaches on to the pitch.

Palace’s other players should have acted. They should just have taken Benteke aside quietly and explained matters to him.

1. asking a player on the pitch to run to Benteke and instruct him to step aside; and

2. having a substitute or asst. coach run to behind the post (where players warm up) and scream at Benteke?
In his post-match interview, Hodgson explained that he tried in vain to get word to Benteke. They elected a penalty taker before the game, so he should not even have needed to.
I saw his post match -- he specifically said "if it was a training session, i could have gotten a word to him." he didnt try to do that on the match day.

1. A couple of the players tried to dissuade Benteke but he no gree. He insisted on missing the penalty.

2. Scream ke? Nah. :lol:

Benteke is a buffoon. Milo is a far better penalty taker than Benteke...

See how selfishness can ruin a whole team? Individual glory hunting has no place in football!

Benteke was wrong on this one, he deserves the flack as he would have taken credit if he scored. He took a gamble and it failed, so he must deal with the consequences. Not w fan of Roy Hodgson but I don't see anything wrong to call him a horrible person

Just saw video breakdown of it, showed that one of the players (Morrison I believe) was told by Hodgson to let the designated taker take it and he ran to tell them but Benteke still took it. Not sure how anybody can blame the manager.

It's a calculated risk that had no payout in the end
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Wetin the Captain dey do for pitch, nah?

The Captain sef deserve slap for not keeping players in line...Abi the Captain dey fear Benteke?

Who born Benteke to try rubbish if Roy Keane wear arm-band for pitch...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:Wetin the Captain dey do for pitch, nah?

The Captain sef deserve slap for not keeping players in line...Abi the Captain dey fear Benteke?

True, leadership is key. Keane, Adams, Beckanbauer, Baresi, etc were master skippers.

Sometimes because you dont want to create nore distraction that could unsettle the penalty taker, everyone often hold their peace until there after. But yes i remember when this happened at City and Balo was insisting on taking the penalty, Kompany went in and hurled his arse away.

Sometimes some players have strong personality,confronting them in the open is not the best option, especially if you dont want a scene that would embarass the club. These things are not straight forward, a lot of thought goes in to determine the best line of option to take on the spot.

That they allowed him to take without harassing his arse is more from psychological side of things....let him take in peace. But when you decide to puff your chest out like proud greyback or peacock, be sure you know what you are doing else a serious grovelling and humbling awaits!

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Sometimes because you dont want to create nore distraction that could unsettle the penalty taker, everyone often hold their peace until there after. But yes i remember when this happened at City and Balo was insisting on taking the penalty, Kompany went in and hurled his arse away.

Sometimes some players have strong personality,confronting them in the open is not the best option, especially if you dont want a scene that would embarass the club. These things are not straight forward, a lot of thought goes in to determine the best line of option to take on the spot.

That they allowed him to take without harassing his arse is more from psychological side of things....let him take in peace. But when you decide to puff your chest out like proud greyback or peacock, be sure you know what you are doing else a serious grovelling and humbling awaits!
Oga Oloye, na true you talk...

But for team wey get better captain, everybody sabi him mate, nah...

Na weak leadership create that kind situation wey another player go even contemplate to usurp due process for match...

You think say for SEagles of yesteryears Humphrey Edobor go carry ball for critical PK when Henry Nwosu or Yekini dey there..?
Na one look Keshi go give am, and he go drop ball quick-quick...

Especially for game wey 3pts na difference between relegation place and survival...
- Bill Shankly

E be like say you never see "horrible" people before.

FATHER TIKO wrote:

Oga Oloye, na true you talk...

But for team wey get better captain, everybody sabi him mate, nah...

Na weak leadership create that kind situation wey another player go even contemplate to usurp due process for match...

You think say for SEagles of yesteryears Humphrey Edobor go carry ball for critical PK when Henry Nwosu or Yekini dey there..?
Na one look Keshi go give am, and he go drop ball quick-quick...

Especially for game wey 3pts na difference between relegation place and survival...
My brother Etim did the same for Keshi, all Keshi could do was leave him alone. Leadership is not neccesarilly having your way, but finding a way to be in the leading position at the end of the day.

Etim fell on his pride and where was he when SE made the historic WC appearance. Benteke fell flat on his face..sometimes the best way to deal with a fool is to allow him to fall on his blade.

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Etim na yeye guy o...

I heard that after a game, Coach Udemezue wanted him to join his mates rather than strutting away alone to town, and Etim shrugged off Udemezue:
"Wetin..? I never win the match for you? Wetin again?"

Yeye guy...
- Bill Shankly

A few weeks ago Lukaku (who was on a long scoring drought) tried to take a penalty for Man Utd in similar circumstances. Mourinho shouted from the bench and forbade him from taking it. Then he also forbade Andrew Smith from taking the penalty, and instead called up a third player (Daley Blind) who converted the penalty.
oluphemmie007 wrote:any manager that didnt do his most outrageous to stop a Benteke from taking today's penalty kick is a proper misfit. Dude does not even know what it means to score anymore.