ENYEAMA IS BAAACK!!!!

Nigeria manager Rohr leaves door open for Enyeama

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/42295125
By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport, Nigeria

Nigeria manager Gernot Rohr has left the door open for Vincent Enyeama to be part of his 2018 World Cup squad in Russia next summer.

Reports in the local media last week suggested the former Super Eagles captain, who announced his shock retirement from international football in October 2015, had ruled out a return - casting doubt on his inclusion.

But Rohr - who faces a goalkeeper crisis after first choice Carl Ikeme was diagnosed with leukaemia - says veteran Enyeama could earn a return.

"Coach Rohr had a productive chat with Enyeama and made it clear that he should focus on getting fit and enjoy a playing run," team spokesperson Toyin Ibitoye told BBC Sport.

"Contrary to local media reports, the professional talks between both of them remains unchanged, there are conditions involved and as long as it's adhered to, Enyeama stands a World Cup chance."

Vincent Enyeama
Vincent Enyeama is Nigeria's most capped footballer with 101 appearances
Goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi has failed to impress, his replacement Ikechukwu Ezenwa lacks composure while young Francis Uzoho is inexperienced.

Despite Rohr's passionate desire to recall Enyeama, the former Niger, Burkina Faso and Gabon boss has called for the country's fans to rally behind the other goalkeepers.

"It's very important to respect those who are currently with the team. The likes of Akpeyi, Ezenwa, Alampasu, Uzoho and Ajiboye all need the support of our fans," Ibitoye added.

"Coach Rohr insists we should not let the talk of Enyeama deprive others of their deserved respect. With these goalkeepers and Carl Ikeme we achieved World Cup qualification.

"We appreciate what Enyeama has done in the past and he also needs our support right now. His experience is good for the country and only coach Rohr has to make the final call when the time comes."

The 35-year-old is the Super Eagles most capped player with 101 appearances and became the captain following the retirement of Joseph Yobo after the 2014 World Cup.

Enyeama made his debut against Kenya in May 2002 in Lagos and during his international career he helped Nigeria win the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa, where he emerged as the tournament's best goalkeeper.

He played in five Nations Cup tournaments - in 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2013 - and was part of the Nigeria squad at the 2002, 2010 and 2014 World Cup tournaments.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
asabatex
Re: ENYEAMA IS BAAACK!!!!

Post by asabatex »

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: Halleluya.... :woot:

Current ranking

Enyeama
Uzoho
Ezenwa

Ope oooooooo!!!:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

This is great news.

Praise God. Good to see him making progress on the road back to top form.

Where did he play though? He was not in the Lille squad that lost to PSG today.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/42294196

Lille lost 1-3 to PSG today and Vince was not in goal. Did Lille play a match midweek?

Yes he is back. Welcome back.

truetalk wrote:Praise God. Good to see him making progress on the road back to top form.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/*****
Translation
Vincent Enyeama played his first match since April against Croix (3-1) with the N1! Welcome back @vinpee!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Meanwhile In Italy Inter in full defense mode

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Disappointing evening for Perisic. But huge defensive performance by Inter

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

We never learn from the past that is why we are Africans. Enyeama welcome back but please not to SE.

Did he play for the reserve team? Looks like they played PSG today

osita wrote:We never learn from the past that is why we are Africans. Enyeama welcome back but please not to SE.
What if he is the best option?

Edu

Post by Edu »

Robotnik wrote:Did he play for the reserve team? Looks like they played PSG today

Yes.

osita wrote:We never learn from the past that is why we are Africans. Enyeama welcome back but please not to SE.
You seem to be exemplifying your own observation that 'we never learn'.
The guy is slowly working his way back to the very top but you are happy for your personal sentiments to disallow him from making the SE team.
You'd rather make do with Ezenwa, Akpeyi and the inexperienced Uzoho.

You are so right...some of us never ever learn. :roll:

truetalk wrote:Praise God. Good to see him making progress on the road back to top form.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/*****
Translation
Vincent Enyeama played his first match since April against Croix (3-1) with the N1! Welcome back @vinpee!
Thanks.

Glad he is back. This was a Div. 4 game though, but match fitness is good.

I will not believe this story until Mr Obong confirms it .
fajex

Post by fajex »

Good one. Slow and steady recovery. There's hope

Really happy for Vince! I'm sure it has been a difficult 7 months for him.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

For now, whether or not he returns to the Super Eagles is not my concern. I am first and foremost happy that one of Nigeria's all time great goalkeepers, gets to return to his profession.

Yesssssss

Kai God is good...so Vince , Uzoho and Ezenwa....kai if to say Ikeme was fit , then we got deep squad on goalkeeping

My Christmas money don arrive be this! Kai even New Years chop go sweet o, make I find one danfo driver enter village make announcements!