Page 2 of 4

Re: ADEPOJU: Give Oba Martins a Recall....

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:07 pm
by mastermind
He's experienced, but im not sure his game will fit the current style of play. I'll let coach decide, it's up to them really. If he's outperforming Ighalo in the same league he's atleast worth a look.

It's about current performance.

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:10 pm
by Cristao II
NO!!

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:49 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Martins’ best days are way behind him. He was invited back by I think Oliseh and it was clear he was no longer up to international football. Can we please leave sleeping dogs lie abeg.

Obafemi Martins has zero business around the Super Eagles. If he has a teenage son then yes, let us look at him.

Not even a month ago a 28 year old plying his trade in Israel was stinking up the joint in Algeria.

Martins has better technique, intelligence, and scoring ability than Nwakaeme. He is more dynamic as well.

IMO Nwakaeme should never have been called in the first place, but I think Martins deserves a chance

but so does

Bonaventure, Okonkwo

Not much time left tbh

I have not been impressed by Kayode, watched him for his club a few times and he just strikes me as a fast runner and not much else.

Oddly enough I think Nigeria could use Martins right now.
Martins cannot play as a targetman. He is nowhere near strong or big enough to hold the ball up. He also does not have the legs to play as a wife forward. There is simply no place for him in the squad.

Our choices for targetman are two out of Ighalo, Kayode, Okonkwo, Osimhen and Awoniyi. Our choices for wide men are four out of Moses, Onyekuru, Iheanacho, Bazee, Bonaventure, Dessers and Nwakaeme.

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:13 pm
by john12
What’s with you and target man? Do Nigeria look like we like hoofing the ball around? Strikers responsibilities are to score goals and Martins has proven that he can score goals

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:35 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
john12 wrote:What’s with you and target man? Do Nigeria look like we like hoofing the ball around? Strikers responsibilities are to score goals and Martins has proven that he can score goals
Rohr will not be irresponsible and play a World Cup match without a targetman who can hold the ball up. Every one of the 11 players in his team must have a role.

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:40 pm
by john12
You’re a learner. So, you would rather have a target man that holds the ball than a top striker that will score goals? This is the nonsense that got ameobi, uchebo, nwafor to World Cup ahead of Martins, Ike uche

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:06 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
john12 wrote:You’re a learner. So, you would rather have a target man that holds the ball than a top striker that will score goals? This is the nonsense that got ameobi, uchebo, nwafor to World Cup ahead of Martins, Ike uche
Thomas Muller
Jesus Gabriel
Alexander Lacazette
Sergio Aguero
Diego Costa
Harry Kane
Mario Mandzukic
Romelu Lukaku

Every serious team plays with a targetman. He and the goalkeeper are the first names on the scoresheet!

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:24 pm
by maceo4
john12 wrote:You’re a learner. So, you would rather have a target man that holds the ball than a top striker that will score goals? This is the nonsense that got ameobi, uchebo, nwafor to World Cup ahead of Martins, Ike uche
Thomas Muller - Not a target man, jeez
Jesus Gabriel - Not a target man, he's a tiny quick forward
Alexander Lacazette - Maybe if you said Giroud, but really?
Sergio Aguero - Not a City starter, not really a target man either.
Diego Costa
Harry Kane
Mario Mandzukic
Romelu Lukaku

Every serious team plays with a targetman. He and the goalkeeper are the first names on the scoresheet!

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:30 pm
by john12
Ayo, most of the strikers you listed are pure strikers and not targetman so your example are flawed. I grew up with strikers like ronaldo, etoo, henry, and this guys weren’t target men but they knew how to core, create, dribble etc. A striker main responsibility is to score goals and not hold the ball. If he scores consistently and additionally holds the ball that’s extra. However, a striker main responsibility is to score goals

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:33 pm
by paj
friendlies will decide

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:50 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
john12 wrote:Ayo, most of the strikers you listed are pure strikers and not targetman so your example are flawed. I grew up with strikers like ronaldo, etoo, henry, and this guys weren’t target men but they knew how to core, create, dribble etc. A striker main responsibility is to score goals and not hold the ball. If he scores consistently and additionally holds the ball that’s extra. However, a striker main responsibility is to score goals
(1) I do not want to be rude but you are really taxing my patience
(2) Every serious team needs a striker who can hold on to the ball when it is played up to him
(3) At the World Cup chances are at a premium, so this talk about endless goals is just naive
(4) Against top teams, you have to try and keep hold of the ball as much as possible
(5) When you are under pressure you need an outlet upfront
(6) Your target man holds on to the ball, fights of challenges and brings his team mates into play
(7) If you play the ball forward and it keeps coming back, you are just inviting pressure on yourself
(8) Ideally, I would love a world class targetman like Eto’o, Drogba, Van Basten, Bergkamp, Diego Costa, Klinsman, Ronaldo, Batistuta, Salas, Vialli, Kliuvert, etc, who are complete players
(9) A world class striker gives you everything- Holding up the ball, scoring, heading, dribbling, defence splitting passes, etc
(10) We need a player in this mould for the World Cup and in my book, Odion Ighalo is the best we have. As his back-up, I would take one of Awoniyi, Okonkwo, Osimhen or Kayode!

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:08 pm
by john12
1, You’re talking nonsense as usual. Every team needs a top striker that can score and goals create goals. (Peel, Ronaldo, Henry)
2, what’s the essence of holding the ball if you cannot score
3, this is not English football that you will hold the ball and not score.
4, omo i don tire for this 10 pointers
5, today I went to church in the morning
6, the name of my church is redemers chapel of Christ Maryland
7, our pastor name is pastor Kobe sarpong (pastor Kobe)
8, he officially became a doctor today
9, pastor Kobe preached about praying without ceasing
10, 21 days fasting already started but I have missed 11 days
11, ayo, omo you get time

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:27 am
by donadoni
A striker who can actually strike is always worth looking at. At present we don't have a striker who is so dominant that we can say we don't need to explore further options. So let Martins come to camp if he keeps his form and fight for a shirt.

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:07 am
by ANC
donadoni wrote:A striker who can actually strike is always worth looking at. At present we don't have a striker who is so dominant that we can say we don't need to explore further options. So let Martins come to camp if he keeps his form and fight for a shirt.

simple as that. Is not like i am a super fan of martins...but someone like him can come off the bench and contribute in key situations. And he has a lot of experience to offer. I wouldn't use martins against african teams, but in the world cup proper...he can add a lot.

Ighalo is not it, SE is just managing.

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:08 am
ANC wrote:
donadoni wrote:A striker who can actually strike is always worth looking at. At present we don't have a striker who is so dominant that we can say we don't need to explore further options. So let Martins come to camp if he keeps his form and fight for a shirt.

simple as that. Is not like i am a super fan of martins...but someone like him can come off the bench and contribute in key situations. And he has a lot of experience to offer. I wouldn't use martins against african teams, but in the world cup proper...he can add a lot.

Ighalo is not it, SE is just managing.
If both of you are willing to pay for Martins' flight, hotel room, feeding, transportation, kit, etc etc, then we will let him come to camp and "fight for a shirt"

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:27 am
by mystic
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Martins’ best days are way behind him. He was invited back by I think Oliseh and it was clear he was no longer up to international football. Can we please leave sleeping dogs lie abeg.

Obafemi Martins has zero business around the Super Eagles. If he has a teenage son then yes, let us look at him.

Not accurate Ayo. Martins actually played well in his brief stint under Oliseh.

All the same, I would say no to his recall. We have enough options in attack. Rohr needs to choose wisely from among our younger options. Recalling Martins is the lazy man's solution, rather than the right solution to finding that 3rd striker that we need.

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:39 am
by ANC
@Mystic River. Martins is not a lazy mans solution...but an insurance policy.,

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:36 am
by ohenhen1
Here we go again with the hyping.

All I know is Ighalo is playing well for Nigeria and he is scoring goals in China.

And it is not true that Obafemi Martins is outperforming Ighalo in China.

Ighalo has 15 goals in all competitions in 2017, Martins has 7.

http://us.soccerway.com/players/obafemi-martins/4466/

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:38 am
by ohenhen1
mystic wrote:

Not accurate Ayo. Martins actually played well in his brief stint under Oliseh.

All the same, I would say no to his recall. We have enough options in attack. Rohr needs to choose wisely from among our younger options. Recalling Martins is the lazy man's solution, rather than the right solution to finding that 3rd striker that we need.
If Martins is playing well, he should be recalled and given a chance. We are playing Seychelles and Poland in March. Playing England in June.

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:03 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Martins' official age is 33. Only a madman ready for admission into the lunatic asylum would invite him back to the Super Eagles camp!

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:26 am
by ohenhen1
The best players must play regardless of age and etc. Watching him recently, I don't think he is better than what we currently have. I may be wrong. I am not buying the hype. But there is no harm inviting Martins to camp to fight for a place.

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:27 am
by Ayo Akinfe
ohenhen1 wrote:The best players must play regardless of age and etc. Watching him recently, I don't think he is better than what we currently have. I may be wrong. I am not buying the hype. But there is no harm inviting Martins to camp to fight for a place.

What role would Martins be fighting for?

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:32 am
by ohenhen1
Ighalo
Iheanacho
Success
Aaron Samuel
Musa- should be tried out as a center forward.
Osimhen
Bazee
Umar Sadiq
Chikatara
Awoniyi

We have enough options