Nigeria v Croatia: Is Shehu Abdullahi Eligible?

Considering the fact that Shehu Abdullahi did not serve a game suspension in the World Cup yet, does it mean that he will be ineligible for Nigeria's opening game at the World Cup v Croatia? Or do the sanctions recently imposed by FIFA replace the suspension?
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Nigeria v Croatia: Is Shehu Abdullahi Eligible?

He has to make the starting lineup first. Won’t be easy but yes he’s ok to play

Enugu II wrote:Considering the fact that Shehu Abdullahi did not serve a game suspension in the World Cup yet, does it mean that he will be ineligible for Nigeria's opening game at the World Cup v Croatia? Or does the sanctions recently imposed by FIFA replace the suspension?
Hmm, this is a very good question which needs an answer from our NFF before a - devastating mistake is made - and our win (yes, our win because we will beat Croatia) is reversed.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:He has to make the starting lineup first. Won’t be easy but yes he’s ok to play
EMIR, he may not make the starting lineup, but could be a sub. In ether way, we lose if he is NOT eligible to play for us.

:rotf: Last time i checked yellow cards are wiped out. Red cards are not

Does the NFF know?

Robotnik wrote::rotf: Last time i checked yellow cards are wiped out. Red cards are not

Does the NFF know?

NFF also did "last time I checked" and it got us in trouble. Better be specific. Last time I checked could mean a lot of things.

Robotnik wrote::rotf: Last time i checked yellow cards are wiped out. Red cards are not

Does the NFF know?
nff Will know provided they ignore to read any further important emails from fifa

Keep his arse on the bench.

Enugu II wrote:Considering the fact that Shehu Abdullahi did not serve a game suspension in the World Cup yet, does it mean that he will be ineligible for Nigeria's opening game at the World Cup v Croatia? Or does the sanctions recently imposed by FIFA replace the suspension?
You cannot penalize the player twice for same violation

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Benedict Iroha wrote:Keep his arse on the bench.

why take a chance
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:He has to make the starting lineup first. Won’t be easy but yes he’s ok to play
EMIR, he may not make the starting lineup, but could be a sub. In ether way, we lose if he is NOT eligible to play for us.
We won't lose if we don't field Shehu, Ebuehi or Aina are suitable for the position as well.

Also game suspensions include friendly matches so we will play a friendly which will serve out his suspension.

mystic wrote:

Does the NFF know?

NFF also did "last time I checked" and it got us in trouble. Better be specific. Last time I checked could mean a lot of things.
Last time you checked, they didn't check well. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Red cards carry over. Don't believe yellow cards carry over from qualifiers.

FIFA normally sends out official notification to all the participating FAs.

Hopefully, the guy who uses his private email to correspond with FIFA is not sick or traveled to his village where there's no signal to receive Email correspondence.

Red cards carry over. Don't believe yellow cards carry over from qualifiers.

FIFA normally sends out official notification to all the participating FAs.

Hopefully, the guy who uses his private email to correspond with FIFA is not sick or traveled to his village where there's no signal to receive Email correspondence.

na ya "Natives" be dat o

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

At tournaments, player eligibility is easier to deal with (often during pre-game meetings)

Match officials for the Croatia v Nigeria game would inform Nigeria before the game about Abdullahi's eligibility...

Little chance of occurrence of the kind of f-ck-up that happened in Algeria...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

has the player been penalized?

...better cross all the Ts and dot the Is before we step on the world stage.

The FA he represents was fined and had a forfeiture as a result of this.
As stated earlier, the 'double jeorpardy' principle comes into play here.

He should be eligible for the Croatia opening match.

has the player been penalized?
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Tyrone Ebuehi

asabatex wrote:Tyrone Ebuehi
What happened?

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Should play - not need to risk another wahala
asabatex wrote:Tyrone Ebuehi
What happened?

Fear mongering thread.

Seems no one is sure.