NFF U13/U15 Tournament.......

Last edited by Enugu II on Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ogasir
Re: NFF Tournament.......

Post by ogasir »

Nice. Will the players for the official NFF U13 team be selected from this tournament?
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

Well done NFF! Well done Zenith!
oyek

Post by oyek »

ogasir wrote:Nice. Will the players for the official NFF U13 team be selected from this tournament?
That's the purpose of the tournament.
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
okuns

Post by okuns »

What about the South East U-13 team? The region was not represented in the tournament?

okuns wrote:What about the South East U-13 team? The region was not represented in the tournament?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Re: NFF U13/U15 Tournament.......

Divine? :thumbs: What a wonderful name! No wonder he scored a hat-trick.
Well done to that young boy, well done to Amaju Pinnick, NFF and Zenith.
Seems we are already on our way back to the glory days of regional football reps. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Delighted to see that this youth program is still on track. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Goldleaf wrote:Divine? :thumbs: What a wonderful name! No wonder he scored a hat-trick.
Seems we are already on our way back to the glory days of regional football reps. :clap: :clap: :clap:
What about the kid named 'Eniye Hitlar'?
Must be a deadly finisher. :lol:

Damunk wrote:Delighted to see that this youth program is still on track. :clap: :clap: :clap:
Damunk,

Spent sometime last weekend watching videos of our teams in the 70s and early 80s, especially the SE. Seems you were right that a lot of credit owes itself to nostalgia. Most of our teams showed great individual talent buts very poor team organisation. Some of the goals that we conceded were awful because the back 4 were all over the place. The worst video was a 5-nil thrashing of the SE by Tunisia in a friendly in 1984. Terrible defending. A major difference came when our players started playing abroad and our team organisation improved significantly.

Goldleaf wrote:Divine? :thumbs: What a wonderful name! No wonder he scored a hat-trick.
What about the kid named 'Eniye Hitlar'?
Must be a deadly finisher. :lol:
...saw that, hope it's only a nickname and would drop it before progressing outside the country.

Commendable work by NFF and their able sponsors Zenith bank.

Polly

Post by Polly »

Abeg, somebody kindly clarify: is this an annual tournament? And what happens to these boys NOW?
oyek

Post by oyek »

Polly wrote:Abeg, somebody kindly clarify: is this an annual tournament? And what happens to these boys NOW?
    Yes it is. The likes of Awoniyi, Iheanacho, Chidera Ezeh etc were discovered from it.
    If not for Jesus, where will i be?
    amafolas

Post by amafolas »

4 years from now, some people will come and tell us this boys are in their 30s.
    "We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
    Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote:4 years from now, some people will come and tell us this boys are in their 30s.
    That's Nigerians for you.
    ogasir

Post by ogasir »

i hope that kid named Hitlar changes his name if he wants to ever play in Europe.
    IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

ogasir wrote:i hope that kid named Hitlar changes his name if he wants to ever play in Europe.
    I'm sure they will tell him.

Goldleaf wrote: Damunk,

Spent sometime last weekend watching videos of our teams in the 70s and early 80s, especially the SE. Seems you were right that a lot of credit owes itself to nostalgia. Most of our teams showed great individual talent buts very poor team organisation. Some of the goals that we conceded were awful because the back 4 were all over the place. The worst video was a 5-nil thrashing of the SE by Tunisia in a friendly in 1984. Terrible defending. A major difference came when our players started playing abroad and our team organisation improved significantly.
    And who were SE coaches in the 1970s/80s? Did those coaches not familiar with football “abroad”?
    Ex-Portugal NT coach Otto Gloria, Father Tiko, Jorge Penna, Manfred Höner, Karl-Heinz Marotzke, etc.?

While “team organisation” has evolved and has changed for EVERY team WORLDWIDE (even Brazil) since the 1970s/80s, it is nonetheless worth pointing out that since it is NOT the players who are responsible for “team organisation”, it is substantively irrelevant whether SE players played abroad or in Nigeria. Those of us who grew up abroad and actually personally watched a lot of foreign football pre-Sky Sports (and in those days, televised football was generally considered a bad thing) can assure you that “team organisation” was hardly a hallmark thereof (with the arguable exception of Italy and West Germany). In fact, the unanimously admired Brazilians were often as “disorganized” as it was ultra-successful. And IMHO, the most organized Cameroonian team was the 1982 squad which almost entirely home-based.

ogasir wrote:i hope that kid named Hitlar changes his name if he wants to ever play in Europe.
    Maybe that's a typo. At least I hope it is.

amafolas wrote:4 years from now, some people will come and tell us this boys are in their 30s.
    Sad, isn't it?
    Polly

Post by Polly »

Sad, isn't it?
    Perhaps not. Four years from now, there will be people whose eyes are so much better they will be able to show us the facial hair we should have seen on these kids in 2017. It is a specialty of the College of Ageology.