Major Concerns For Iheanacho

He’s not listed for action again today vs Man U. He has 3 months to get in top shape and playing regularly but it doesn’t look like it’ll happen at Leicester anytime soon. Should he go out on loan or just wait it out at Leicester? We need him active in competitive games to be at his best come wc. What to do now? This is very concerning!
Re: Major Concerns For Iheanacho

Yeah, safe to say it isn't looking good. I don't know if a loan wouldn't be the best course of action, even if to a Championship side.

Leicester has a knack for downgrading good strikers. No one will convince me, for example, that Slimani isn't class. But he can hardly get a game. Leicester's game plan seems to only work for Vardy.

When Air Musa was going through this, una no send ..now una see wetin them dey do kele? Make I no swear for Leceister, nah xmas

No need to go on loan he is training with top professionals....2/3 friendly matches and he will be ready for the WC.

All this players that are playing day in day out will be exhausted after the season, ppl like Kelechi and Musa will be ready. This includes Iwobi as well...

The people that need regular football are the defenders, and keepers

Enyi wrote:No need to go on loan he is training with top professionals....2/3 friendly matches and he will be ready for the WC.
Nope. Training is NOT the same as game time. Not at all.

We saw this with Mikel and Moses at the last World Cup. Players need to play.

I hope he and Musa can find a club to play regularly.
Nacho is too good and young to be wasting time at Leicester.
How I wish he can move to a La Liga team, where his talents will be better appreciated.

Amartey is useless. He almost gave Man U a goal.

Amartey sent off! Very useless player

Not sure who to blame, Kelechi or his manager. I don't see why Kelechi can't do what Gray is doing. Determination and dedication are not issues with him. This is not a kid, you could say has off the field issues like drinking, partying or womanizing. Even Pep admitted he didn't make it easy to not play him. No doubt Vardy justifies his minutes but Kelechi should be giving them options. Perhaps he needs to improve his wing play, dribble more, run at defenders more, show aggression etc. I thought his stock would be up after that performance against Argentina where he scored a beautiful freekick.

felarey wrote:Not sure who to blame, Kelechi or his manager. I don't see why Kelechi can't do what Gray is doing. Determination and dedication are not issues with him. This is not a kid, you could say has off the field issues like drinking, partying or womanizing. Even Pep admitted he didn't make it easy to not play him. No doubt Vardy justifies his minutes but Kelechi should be giving them options. Perhaps he needs to improve his wing play, dribble more, run at defenders more, show aggression etc. I thought his stock would be up after that performance against Argentina where he scored a beautiful freekick.

You are joking!

Kelechi does not have the intensity, speed or skill of Gray. Two complete different players. Kelechi is more intelligent, better vision and better finishing.

felarey wrote:Not sure who to blame, Kelechi or his manager. I don't see why Kelechi can't do what Gray is doing. Determination and dedication are not issues with him. This is not a kid, you could say has off the field issues like drinking, partying or womanizing. Even Pep admitted he didn't make it easy to not play him. No doubt Vardy justifies his minutes but Kelechi should be giving them options. Perhaps he needs to improve his wing play, dribble more, run at defenders more, show aggression etc. I thought his stock would be up after that performance against Argentina where he scored a beautiful freekick.

You are joking!

Kelechi does not have the intensity, speed or skill of Gray. Two complete different players. Kelechi is more intelligent, better vision and better finishing.
Intensity agreed but that can be acquired with support from his coach as he'd make some mistakes on his way to building confidence. Skills....don't think Gray is anything special in this dept, speed.....hmmm dunno. Haven't seen Kelechi burn defenders regularly with sheer speed so maybe that's why he can't touch Vardy. Vardy is the ultimate small team striker that chases everything and has decent finishing. Kele may have to prove himself in other areas, wing or behind number 9. He sure has the intelligence to do a competent job in other attacking areas. If not, perhaps he should go study Ruud Van Nistelrooy's play, no skill, no intensity, no speed but extremely sharp intelligence, anticipation and deady finishing.

If Kelechi was good he would get into the Leicester team. There is simply too much he needs to work on to make himself playable:

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

Being a good goal scorer is simply not good enough. We like to hype our players just like the English do but overlook their obvious shortcomings. You guys want Puele to risk being sacked by fielding your boy!

Abeg sharrap. Kelechi record for super eagles is 8 in 13 as long as he keep scoring for super eagles IDGAF ABOUT HIS CLUB PERFORMANCE

Ayo Akinfe wrote:If Kelechi was good he would get into the Leicester team. There is simply too much he needs to work on to make himself playable:

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

Being a good goal scorer is simply not good enough. We like to hype our players just like the English do but overlook their obvious shortcomings. You guys want Puele to risk being sacked by fielding your boy!
I agree with some of your points, that is why Demarai Gray is starting ahead of Kelechi.

john12 wrote:Abeg sharrap. Kelechi record for super eagles is 8 in 13 as long as he keep scoring for super eagles IDGAF ABOUT HIS CLUB PERFORMANCE
Wait until he comes up against quality opposition and let’s see if you are still singing his praises then. A competitive game against world class defenders will soon change your views of Kelechi.

I used to be a big fan of his too but have watched him closely and am surprised I missed his shortcomings. His agricultural first touch is a big no, no for me for starters. Against quality defenders, he will always lose the ball!

Sir V wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:If Kelechi was good he would get into the Leicester team. There is simply too much he needs to work on to make himself playable:

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

I agree with some of your points, that is why Demarai Gray is starting ahead of Kelechi.
Demarai Gray starts because of work rate... putting yourself about. That's it... there is nothing he has on Iheanacho other than work rate.

Moreover, Leicester does not play a system that can accommodate Iheanacho... they don't think he is that special to design a system that plays to his strengths.

The guy who bought Iheanacho and knows how to use him is not with the team anymore.

Sir V wrote:

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

Demarai Gray starts because of work rate... putting yourself about. That's it... there is nothing he has on Iheanacho other than work rate.

Moreover, Leicester does not play a system that can accommodate Iheanacho... they don't think he is that special to design a system that plays to his strengths.

The guy who bought Iheanacho and knows how to use him is not with the team anymore.
No English Premiership team will be interested in a player with a poor work rate. Even outside England, did you watch El Classico yesterday? Messi and Ronaldo both put in shifts for their teams, so if Iheanacho wants a successful career he has got to start thinking straight.

No workrate, no future! It is as simple as that!!!

Sir V wrote:

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

No English Premiership team will be interested in a player with a poor work rate. Even outside England, did you watch El Classico yesterday? Messi and Ronaldo both put in shifts for their teams, so if Iheanacho wants a successful career he has got to start thinking straight.

I don't think Kelechi can't put in the work rate. The last few times I've seen him come in as a sub, he looked like he was conscious of this need. Gray seems to have the licence to roam which Kelechi might not have. At this point, it seems Leceister would need to be in a slump before he gets a shot. These days managers have to think of their survival on the job first.

john12 wrote:Abeg sharrap. Kelechi record for super eagles is 8 in 13 as long as he keep scoring for super eagles IDGAF ABOUT HIS CLUB PERFORMANCE
Not making the bench is a concern for his age and talent. That means he's not getting picked at all and not an option the coach thinks he needs. For a player that signed a long term contract with Man Shitty last yr and came with promises this season, that is worrisome. Not playing will eventually affect his SE form.

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

What myth is this about Iheanacho not having pace? He has plenty pace.

You are also having a laugh saying Iheanacho lacks in team play, positional awareness and awareness. His skills in those aspects are world class and it's part of the read on he was so effective.

He has shown on occasion to have a good dribble. Nit excellent but above average. His Achilles heel has been ball retention and hold up play. He also lacks intensity.

Right now he is playing worse than a year ago. His confidence is shot. As for first touch if you look at games from two years ago he didn't habe a first touch issue. My guess is that Guardiola decided to change the way Iheanacho naturally controls a ball and thus broke the way he played. He also seems to have a mix of overeagernesd to perform and low confidence, making him try too much instead of keeping it simple.

He needs game time. Pure and simple. A lengthy run in any side to regain his edge and channel the natural talent he has.

felarey wrote:
Sir V wrote:

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

I don't think Kelechi can't put in the work rate. The last few times I've seen him come in as a sub, he looked like he was conscious of this need. Gray seems to have the licence to roam which Kelechi might not have. At this point, it seems Leceister would need to be in a slump before he gets a shot. These days managers have to think of their survival on the job first.
I take it you know that even if Grey is not playing, Okazaki will get the nod ahead of Iheanacho. At the moment, he is surplus to requirements.

marutimon wrote:

(1) Ball control
(2) Holding play up
(3) Work rate
(4) Pace
(5) Aerial ability
(6) Team play
(7) Awareness
(8) Positional awareness
(9) Physical strength
(10) Dribbling

What myth is this about Iheanacho not having pace? He has plenty pace.

You are also having a laugh saying Iheanacho lacks in team play, positional awareness and awareness. His skills in those aspects are world class and it's part of the read on he was so effective.

He has shown on occasion to have a good dribble. Nit excellent but above average. His Achilles heel has been ball retention and hold up play. He also lacks intensity.

Right now he is playing worse than a year ago. His confidence is shot. As for first touch if you look at games from two years ago he didn't habe a first touch issue. My guess is that Guardiola decided to change the way Iheanacho naturally controls a ball and thus broke the way he played. He also seems to have a mix of overeagernesd to perform and low confidence, making him try too much instead of keeping it simple.

He needs game time. Pure and simple. A lengthy run in any side to regain his edge and channel the natural talent he has.
Puel cannot afford to risk Leicester’s season just to appease Super Eagles fans. That is not in his job description.

By the way, it is not fair to the hardworking players like Grey, Okazaki, etc to keep giving Iheanacho a second chance. When he was played he refused to deliver!

I'm not expecting that. That's why I think Iheanacho needs to move on loan. Btw Gray is crap.