Mikel Interview!

Don't know if this was posted 3 yrs ago but it's quite revealing. Mikel is a Don! I think the best Mikel we've ever seen will be in Russia. Our captain folks! I troway salute

Re: Mikel Interview!

As long as Obi is around the SE he is the orchestra master that controls the flow of things.
We should be happy to have a player and captain with his temperament and discipline.

Mikel na good player but ndidi is presently our best midfielder. We can’t keep referencing that horrible performance against South Africa as an example that super eagles cannot do without Mikel or Moses.

john12 wrote:Mikel na good player but ndidi is presently our best midfielder. We can’t keep referencing that horrible performance against South Africa as an example that super eagles cannot do without Mikel or Moses.
Mikel is our best player. Ndidi is replaceable but we are yet to find someone capable of replacing Mikel.

Good thing he shouted out G4L and Pokey right at the end :thumbs:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Don't know if this was posted 3 yrs ago but it's quite revealing. Mikel is a Don! I think the best Mikel we've ever seen will be in Russia. Our captain folks! I troway salute

The GREAT ONE. Make no mistake about that. When he is gone, we will all remember the days that he played in GWG.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Don't know if this was posted 3 yrs ago but it's quite revealing. Mikel is a Don! I think the best Mikel we've ever seen will be in Russia. Our captain folks! I troway salute

The GREAT ONE. Make no mistake about that. When he is gone, we will all remember the days that he played in GWG.
What would you consider a standout performance by Mikel for the Super Eagles - one that will be remembered?

john12 wrote:Mikel na good player but ndidi is presently our best midfielder. We can’t keep referencing that horrible performance against South Africa as an example that super eagles cannot do without Mikel or Moses.
Mikel is our best player. Ndidi is replaceable but we are yet to find someone capable of replacing Mikel.
Who can adequately replace Ndidi...?

What would you consider a standout performance by Mikel for the Super Eagles - one that will be remembered?
His consistency means that there are outstanding performances regularly. For sure, Nigeria has never had a better passer of the ball BAR NONE.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I'd say the 2014 Confederations Cup, then had a dud performance at the WC proper.

Mikel, like an engineer, does those things that are not appreciated by those seeking glitter.
Those who cannot see his impact in games, but hype those with fruitless dribbles and selfish
play are the same wondering why we lost matches we should win. If folks can just try to see
beyond hype, they would understand what game and personality Obi brings to our game.

Mikel is the best player Nigeria has ever produced..FACT not feelings

His consistency means that there are outstanding performances regularly. For sure, Nigeria has never had a better passer of the ball BAR NONE.
Then you'll have no difficulty naming a couple....

Your second point is debatable.... I'll concede Nigeria has probably never had a player with a higher passing accuracy percentage - and there are well-established reasons for his figures. This does not necessarily make him Nigeria's best passer of all time.

Bigpokey24 wrote:Mikel is the best player Nigeria has ever produced..FACT not feelings
Don’t know if he’s the best ever but he’s probably impactful.

Bigpokey just like talking on emotions. Do you mean Mikel was better than the gangling yek? Or Jj or papilo or even Sunday oldies and the mathematician? Abeg!

I'd say the 2014 Confederations Cup, then had a dud performance at the WC proper.
Which game? What was memorable about it?

Had good individual performance vs Uruguay and Spain, though the team lost.

TheYeyeman,

Who is better as a passer, may I ask?

I have watched a lot of Nigerian players in my lifetime and I make no apologies to state that he is the best. In my view, he is one of only two players who have played on this team in the last few years that will ever be mentioned in a Nigerian ALL-TIME team.

john12 wrote:Bigpokey just like talking on emotions. Do you mean Mikel was better than the gangling yek? Or Jj or papilo or even Sunday oldies and the mathematician? Abeg!
Yes.

TheYeyeman,

I have watched a lot of Nigerian players in my lifetime and I make no apologies to state that he is the best. In my view, he is one of only two players who have played on this team in the last few years that will ever be mentioned in a Nigerian ALL-TIME team.
Just recently rewatched JJ vs Denmark in 98, and sorry there is no way Mikel is the best passer ever when you factor in the difficulty of the passes, Mikel is not even close. The hobos passes were out of this world. Yes Mikel is a king at the short and obvious passes, but he doesn't have JJs range or vision.

...no Ndidi is up and coming will be good replacement for Obi when he's done. At the moment he is learning.

TheYeyeman,

See evasion! :lol:

Please name one of Mikel's memorable performances. A performance that will ensure we remember his time in GWG as you put it. :D

Maceo has answered your question.

TheYeyeman,

See evasion! :lol:

Please name one of Mikel's memorable performances. A performance that will ensure we remember his time in GWG as you put it. :D

Maceo has answered your question.
Yeyeman,

There are numerous. I am aware that some have already mentioned a few games but I believe has had outstanding games a lot. Hard for me to pick one game to be honest. He has been consistent. It is easier to pick one for likes of a player who plays one good game once in a while, much easier.

JJ was not a better passer of the ball, IMO. JJ is Nigeria's best midfielder ever, IMHO, but in passing he takes a back seat to Mikel. I do not recall JJ making accurate long passes like Pirlo. In fact, the first time I watched Mikel's games was in 2005 WYC and I saw him make those long passes. At first, I thought he was just hoofing the ball until I realized that he was consistently finding a team mate. No one before him was even close making such a long pass except Oliseh. JJ was not that with such passes.