So Conte thought Morata was better than Costa

Re: So Conte thought Morata was better than Costa

Morata is a very good striker. He just had a bad day at the office. He's going to dominate for a while. Chelsea have got a solid player there.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Cally wrote:Morata is a very good striker. He just had a bad day at the office. He's going to dominate for a while. Chelsea have got a solid player there.
100% agree. His movement and link up play with Hazard was exceptional yesterday. The guy is going to be a very good striker.

Spare a thought for Hazard has to play with morata at club level and lukaku in the national team

Bigpokey24 wrote:Tfco the biggest troll on the internet...who goes around looking for twitter videos...kai :laugh: :laugh:

LOL its winter and circus season is over, so bobo no get him usual clown job. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

@ Op, its not about who is better or not. These articles should shed some light on why they felt Costa had to go.

http://www.espn.com/soccer/club/chelsea ... at-chelsea
http://www.goal.com/en/news/revealed-wh ... nrxnmkas46

Prince wrote:Spare a thought for Hazard has to play with morata at club level and lukaku in the national team
I agree, we should spare a thought for Hazard. A player with so much talent who is not going to achieve as much as he should achieve because he is mentally weak. I see hazard play and I am desperately disappointed. This is a player who is one of the most talented in the world, but his mental weakness and his desire to succeed are questionable.

Sir V wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
Chriskendo43 wrote:Morata is overrated, cant score with leg pls no compare him with costa
Not better than Ighalo.
Funny. That was my exact thought when I was watching the game. He's good, but he's no Costa.
Costa would have at least buried two of those chances.
Yep. It shows the difference between World Class and a good or decent striker. World Class strikers bury those goals routinely. Decent strikers need most of the stars to align.

I have a healthier respect for truly world class center forwards like Costa. If Chelsea had Costa, they would be tussling at the top with Man City...and I can't say for sure that they won't beat them. Now, they're struggling for third...which is not bad... but that extra quality is worth a lot.

They are a good enough team to win the EPL. The only thing they seem to lack is that extra quality up front...They also lack it at playmaker as Fabregas is a bit lacklustre, but their entire team can make up for that. The only place they can't make up for it is at the top. You need that guy that can score on a half turn, and a tight angle...You just do.

deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
Chriskendo43 wrote:Morata is overrated, cant score with leg pls no compare him with costa
Not better than Ighalo.
Funny. That was my exact thought when I was watching the game. He's good, but he's no Costa.
Yep. It shows the difference between World Class and a good or decent striker. World Class strikers bury those goals routinely. Decent strikers need most of the stars to align.

I have a healthier respect for truly world class center forwards like Costa. If Chelsea had Costa, they would be tussling at the top with Man City...and I can't say for sure that they won't beat them. Now, they're struggling for third...which is not bad... but that extra quality is worth a lot.

They are a good enough team to win the EPL. The only thing they seem to lack is that extra quality up front...They also lack it at playmaker as Fabregas is a bit lacklustre, but their entire team can make up for that. The only place they can't make up for it is at the top. You need that guy that can score on a half turn, and a tight angle...You just do.
The likes of Morata will score for fun against the small teams...but in bigger games....hmmm

deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
Not better than Ighalo.

The likes of Morata will score for fun against the small teams...but in bigger games....hmmm
I guess Atleti and Manure are small teams

deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
Not better than Ighalo.

Haba Costa has missed easy chances too. Morata had a bad day at the office. This should not be blown out of proportion.

paj wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
Not better than Ighalo.

I guess Atleti and Manure are small teams
Of course every now and then he will score, but you can't always count on him in big games, even with clear chances. That's how he was with Real, its the mental toughness part of the game, he has all the tools, but is lacking a bit there.

paj wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:[43"]Morata is overrated, cant score with leg pls no compare him with costa
Not better than Ighalo.

The likes of Morata will score for fun against the small teams...but in bigger games....hmmm[/quote]
I guess Atleti and Manure are small teams[/quote]

Of course every now and then he will score, but you can't always count on him in big games, even with clear chances. That's how he was with Real, its the mental toughness part of the game, he has all the tools, but is lacking a bit there.[/quote]
He will improve...when Drogba came to Chelsea he had 11 goals the entire season...11...Morata has 10 already..and he doesn't even have nearly as good a supporting cast..He'll be fine..
Pa

deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
deanotito wrote:
Sir V wrote:
Not better than Ighalo.

Haba Costa has missed easy chances too. Morata had a bad day at the office. This should not be blown out of proportion.
Bros, not blowing it out of proportion. I don't think Morata is bad. I just don't think he is of the same mould as Costa. There is an elite but small group of strikers that are as good as Costa. Morata ain't in it imo.

Its like that age old unscientific stat that says a world class keeper is worth 15 pts/season....If you have a good keeper, you may not see much wrong with them, but you'll be 15 pts worse because they can't save the unsav-able....WC GKs save what they shouldn't. WC strikers score what most can't. Its the same way I feel about Arsenal's Lacazette. He's good, but he's not in that cut of players at the top. So he is not capable of helping a club not built to win the league to go on and in fact win. He performs at his level.

deanotito wrote:
Bros, not blowing it out of proportion. I don't think Morata is bad. I just don't think he is of the same mould as Costa. There is an elite but small group of strikers that are as good as Costa. Morata ain't in it imo.

Its like that age old unscientific stat that says a world class keeper is worth 15 pts/season....If you have a good keeper, you may not see much wrong with them, but you'll be 15 pts worse because they can't save the unsav-able....WC GKs save what they shouldn't. WC strikers score what most can't. Its the same way I feel about Arsenal's Lacazette. He's good, but he's not in that cut of players at the top. So he is not capable of helping a club not built to win the league to go on and in fact win. He performs at his level.
I hear you, and agree they are completely different strikers. That Costa nah bruising agbero that will batter you all day, and score on you. Again, this goes towards Conte's frustration as Morata was not his first choice to replace Costa, it was Lukaku.

Morata still has time to get to that level. He is still relatively young and can still develop some more.

deanotito wrote:

I hear you, and agree they are completely different strikers. That Costa nah bruising agbero that will batter you all day, and score on you. Again, this goes towards Conte's frustration as Morata was not his first choice to replace Costa, it was Lukaku.

Morata still has time to get to that level. He is still relatively young and can still develop some more.
Would you consider Albrighton at the same level of Costa? :lol: :lol: :lol:

deanotito wrote:

Lukaku??? Then he would have the same Morata issue. IMO, Lukaku owes 25% of his current prowess to Jose's ability to fire up a striker such as him. I said the same immediately the Man U transfer was announced. He's like Drogba. Without Jose, I wouldn't call Lukaku world class. Conte would struggle to get the same production from Lukaku that Jose would.

Aguero, and I go hear you. Lukaku, naah. Not sure if you're a fan of the NFL, but its like comparing a Tom Brady or an Aaron Rodgers to a Matt Ryan. Them 2 are world class/probably all time greats. Ryan is simply good to very good

deanotito wrote:

Lukaku??? Then he would have the same Morata issue. IMO, Lukaku owes 25% of his current prowess to Jose's ability to fire up a striker such as him. I said the same immediately the Man U transfer was announced. He's like Drogba. Without Jose, I wouldn't call Lukaku world class. Conte would struggle to get the same production from Lukaku that Jose would.

Aguero, and I go hear you. Lukaku, naah. Not sure if you're a fan of the NFL, but its like comparing a Tom Brady or an Aaron Rodgers to a Matt Ryan. Them 2 are world class/probably all time greats. Ryan is simply good to very good

Lukaku is definitely NOT world class.

However, he has performed, with great numbers without Mourinho in Everton and Westbrom. last season, he scored 25 league goals!

I think its important to speak with facts.

deanotito wrote:

However, he has performed, with great numbers without Mourinho in Everton and Westbrom. last season, he scored 25 league goals!

Playing for Everton/West Brom is not the same as playing for Chelsea / Manure..

paj wrote:
deanotito wrote:

Playing for Everton/West Brom is not the same as playing for Chelsea / Manure..

lol. Imagine putting Chelsea in the same category as United. thats cute. :lol: :lol: :lol:

deanotito wrote:

Good for him, but he's no Aguero or Costa.

deanotito wrote:

Good for him, but he's no Aguero or Costa.
you seem to be crying :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

deanotito wrote:

Never said he was world class, but he may have fit Conte's plans better than Morata. However, the highlighted is unfair considering Lukaku has proven himself as a top level EPL striker in multiple seasons with an inferior Everton squad.

deanotito wrote:

Never said he was world class, but he may have fit Conte's plans better than Morata. However, the highlighted is unfair considering Lukaku has proven himself as a top level EPL striker in multiple seasons with an inferior Everton squad.
I just don't think Lukaku is the man Man U/Chelsea should be going for based on talent alone. If you're shooting for doubles and trebles, he's not the one. With Jose, probably...but with anybody else, I doubt it.

deanotito wrote:

I just don't think Lukaku is the man Man U/Chelsea should be going for based on talent alone. If you're shooting for doubles and trebles, he's not the one. With Jose, probably...but with anybody else, I doubt it.
The market was skant..
Pa