Amazon about to upset SKY and BT.

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:12 pm
by Mankinka

Re: Amazon about to upset SKY and BT.

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:14 pm
by oloye
Anyone who upsets that oppressor called Sky will get my subscription...anything to see them out of my house!

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:14 pm
by Mankinka
If Amazon succeed this will be a game changer. I see plenty of job losses at SKY sports in particular.

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:18 pm
by pajimoh
They'll have to outbid SKY and that can only mean more money for The EPL clubs and possibly increased subscription as well, after all they'll have to recoup their investment

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:21 pm
by deanotito
Unlikely that they'd win the bid for the whole thing...and that they'd get it even if they did. They will bid for a few games a week imo...that seems to be the modus operandi of internet giants getting into sports. Few games to wet viewers appetites....

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:25 pm
by Odas
Amazon trying to get into everything or "almost" everything. I wonder if that will NOT mean disaster for consumers in future.

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:27 pm
omo this no be soccer related nah

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:31 pm
by Mankinka
Bigpokey24 wrote:omo this no be soccer related nah
Sometimes it's just better to ignore a thread if you have nothing to say.

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:33 pm
by Lager-back
If Amazon can focus getting the US broadcasting rights from NBC Sports Network here, I am all game.

Posted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:03 pm
by charlie
This is how you start to break the dominance of cable companies and overcome the loss of net neutrality rules especially in the US. I already cut my cable 2 years ago so I will not hesitate to subscribe to an Amazon sports service if the price is reasonable.

The more competition in any case the better.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:51 am
by bepanda
In todays business world, if you don't swallow someone else, you will get swallowed by them.
I rather have Bezos own stuff than the fool called Rupert. I hope Murdoch has found his match.
Good luck to Jeff Bezos.
charlie wrote:This is how you start to break the dominance of cable companies and overcome the loss of net neutrality rules especially in the US. I already cut my cable 2 years ago so I will not hesitate to subscribe to an Amazon sports service if the price is reasonable.
The more competition in any case the better.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:08 am
by benteke
The most likely thing Amazon will upset is the football loving TV subscriber.

I can see a scenario whereby probably most games shown on Amazon, the rest on Sky & BT, with the football fan paying more to watch all games combined.