Page 1 of 3

Super Eagles to Play England

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:39 pm
by heavyd
Just heard it on Talksport...

Re: Super Eagles to Play England

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:53 pm
by metalalloy
Nice... In for the 10 pointer from the resident contributing editor about how he arranged this.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:59 pm
by marutimon
England is in June and its been removed for over a month.
We have Poland in March.

We need one more game in March and at least one in the May/June preparations.
Nigeria would do well to book Chile / Venezuela in March and I think one weaker opponent for May / June prior to the England game.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:59 pm
Great!!! Finally!! Finally, Albrighton, Gray, Livermore and Huddlestone can show that the SE does not have players of their caliber! :clap: :clap: :clap:

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:02 pm
marutimon wrote:England is in June and its been removed for over a month.
We have Poland in March.

We need one more game in March and at least one in the May/June preparations.
Nigeria would do well to book Chile / Venezuela in March and I think one weaker opponent for May / June prior to the England game.
if this is supposed to be a preparation game for Argentina, then I'll say No. We have already played that game -- VS. ARGENTINA!

Playing the actual team, with the actual tactics in November 2017 is better preparation than playing a team that is supposedly LIKE the actual team in March 2018 (just 4 months).

We should concentrate on preparing for Croatia and Iceland.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:04 pm
by Kabalega
This is a bad idea on many fronts for Nigeria.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:08 pm
by heavyd
heavyd wrote:Just heard it on Talksport...
Game will be at Wembley!

Cant wait :thumb:

by marutimon
Good point, but its tough now for a decent March match. Almost all WC-bound European teams have all their friendlies booked for March. I think Serbia and Denmark still have a free March date and Nigeria was rumoured to have been trying to book those matchup.s

Besides we already have two UEFA friendlies.

by heavyd
Kabalega wrote:This is a bad idea on many fronts for Nigeria.
Why??

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:09 pm
by ANC

Why?

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:09 pm
Okay, thank you. We will cancel the match immediately, and withdraw from the world cup. Not like we dont have other issues in our country to concentrate on, anyway.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:10 pm
by jtosho
June 02 Wembley

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:11 pm
by oyek
How is this a bad idea? We are playing Poland and probably Serbia who both have similar playing style as Iceland and Croatia respectively, who says we can't meet the English or any European top team in the following rounds.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:12 pm
by metalalloy
We should play Uganda instead abi? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:16 pm
by Kabalega
heavyd wrote:
Why??
First and foremost, you never want to have a high profile friendly before a World cup especially so close to the World Cup.
The French found out the hard way before 2002 World Cup.

There are other reasons that are too numerous to list now...

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm
Terrible news!!!

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:36 pm
by Shownoja
Better book time off. Can't miss this one.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:40 pm
by Shownoja
Should be a good game. All those boys that have been under performing will have an opportunity to show what they can do and maybe pick up new interests. By that time, we should have our squad ready and they should play in tournament format - play until subs are actually needed.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:48 pm
by Goldleaf
Perfect match-up and good test very close to the World Cup.
Typical cash-rich "money-miss-road" Englsih FA will probably pick up all costs.
England will go gungho as they do at home and we will hit them on the counter.
Hope Russia-bound fans don't rip up their tickets when they lose.
England play Costa Rica 5 days later on 7 June.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:51 pm
by Odas
ANC wrote:
Why?
Chief Kabalega, over to you - Sir! Ansa de kwesion

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:54 pm
by Damunk
Kabalega wrote:
heavyd wrote:
Why??
First and foremost, you never want to have a high profile friendly before a World cup especially so close to the World Cup.

Mention just three.
It'll take all but 30 seconds....

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:16 pm
by aruako1
Let me start looking for tickets oh.

Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:27 pm
Kabalega wrote:
heavyd wrote:
Why??

Mention just three.
It'll take all but 30 seconds....
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: