Page 1 of 2

Agent Lawal: AKPEYI is SE's BEST for WC

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:29 pm
by Enugu II
Akpeyi is Eagles best shot at the World Cup, says Lawal
http://aoifootball.com/2018/01/11/akpey ... ays-lawal/
By Abdulquadir Adedapo - January 11, 2018 192 0
SHARE Facebook Twitter

Former junior international and FIFA intermediary based in South Africa, Mohammed Lawal believes Chippa United goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi is currently the best man the Super Eagles’ goal post at the World Cup in Russia.
The South Africa& based agent, who spoke exclusively to AOIFootball.com, has challenged critics of the Premier Soccer League goalkeeper to take a flight to South Africa and study Akpeyi for 2-3 weeks before condemning and calling for his head.
“Yes of course if you ask anyone who follows the PSL very well and who watches Akpeyi closely, he will tell you that with the situation Nigeria has now, Akpeyi is the best option the country has got at the moment.
“When you look at the other goalkeepers fighting with him currently in the national team, I think Akpeyi is the best choice and anyone that questions his ability should take a flight to South Africa and watch him for 2-3 weeks and judge after then,” the former junior international said.
Lawal further hinted that the problem with Akpeyi and the national team is more of a psychological problem and urged the Eagles’ technical bench to get a psychologist to help boost his confidence.
“It’s more of a psychological problem for him (Akpeyi) wearing the national team colours. When ever he comes to play for Nigeria he needs a psychologist who can seat him down and work on him. With that, I am confident he will be alright.
“But considering the other goalkeepers, they are no match for Akpeyi,” Lawal concluded

Re: Agent Lawal: AKPEYI is SE's BEST for WC

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:51 pm
by Shownoja
SHARE Facebook Twitter

Former junior international and FIFA intermediary based in South Africa, Mohammed Lawal believes Chippa United goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi is currently the best man the Super Eagles’ goal post at the World Cup in Russia.
The South Africa& based agent, who spoke exclusively to AOIFootball.com, has challenged critics of the Premier Soccer League goalkeeper to take a flight to South Africa and study Akpeyi for 2-3 weeks before condemning and calling for his head.
“Yes of course if you ask anyone who follows the PSL very well and who watches Akpeyi closely, he will tell you that with the situation Nigeria has now, Akpeyi is the best option the country has got at the moment.
“When you look at the other goalkeepers fighting with him currently in the national team, I think Akpeyi is the best choice and anyone that questions his ability should take a flight to South Africa and watch him for 2-3 weeks and judge after then,” the former junior international said.
Lawal further hinted that the problem with Akpeyi and the national team is more of a psychological problem and urged the Eagles’ technical bench to get a psychologist to help boost his confidence.
“It’s more of a psychological problem for him (Akpeyi) wearing the national team colours. When ever he comes to play for Nigeria he needs a psychologist who can seat him down and work on him. With that, I am confident he will be alright.
“But considering the other goalkeepers, they are no match for Akpeyi,” Lawal concluded
If a player has psychological problems, is it not better to leave him off? That's admitting mental health issues, and should be a disqualifying trait in my opinion. Lawal did Akpeyi no favours with this statement.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:14 pm
John12 in 1..2....3....... :laugh:

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:24 pm
by niyi
Shownoja wrote:
SHARE Facebook Twitter

If a player has psychological problems, is it not better to leave him off? That's admitting mental health issues, and should be a disqualifying trait in my opinion. Lawal did Akpeyi no favours with this statement.
I think he's saying that the mental issues can be successfully dealt with.

I've always found it an enigma how he gets rave reviews in SA but can't play a game in GWG without making a mistake.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:31 pm
Cool story bro :D

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:47 pm
by fajex
Very interesting. Mr Akpeyi should stay in SA then so that the psychological issues don’t crop up.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:00 pm
by 9jaMan
danfo driver wrote:Cool story bro :D

Akpeyi has to be the worst SE keeper ever, Agbim will even be better if he goes on a quick diet before WC

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:00 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
I am not convinced his mental health issues are curable. Have they tried booking him into an asylum?

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:03 pm
by vancity eagle
I wonder if Croatia and Iceland are paying this fool to spew his nonsense.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:10 pm
by aruako1
vancity eagle wrote:I wonder if Croatia and Iceland are paying this fool to spew his nonsense.
The fact that you think anyone needs to pay him to express his opinion says more about you than him. I totally disagree with him but I can see where he is coming from. He is no fool- he has done more for Nigeria than you can ever dream of.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:16 pm
by maceo4
niyi wrote:
Shownoja wrote:
SHARE Facebook Twitter

I've always found it an enigma how he gets rave reviews in SA but can't play a game in GWG without making a mistake.
Does he get rave reviews? Reading SA's view on our loss them, they didn't have the most glowing things to say about his time in their league...

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:26 pm
by Enugu II
Shownoja wrote:
SHARE Facebook Twitter

Shownoja,

But most of us do have psychological problems o! However, we do overcome them. It isn't something that is permanent as far as I know. For instance, a player who has a death of a close one before a game may in fact have a psychological problem that affects his play. That eventually goes away.

If you have an auto accident sort is involved in one, you are psychologically affected by it for a while. I believe that is what psychological problem refers to in this case. This is not an issue requiring some sought of mental rehabilitation.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:30 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Wreckless thinking :scared:

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:33 pm
by tunde72
He is very right, anybody that see Akpeyi in goal for Nigeria will see the feer in his face. And that is a psychological problem. Whether Rohr will now tey to cure that using the world cup matches are his prerogative. Seriously we have problem in goal keeping and Striking role. Uzoho is in division 3 in spain, Maduka is in second team in Germany, Ezenwa is in Nigerian league. Nwokolor is just coming back from injury, Magnet cant find a club and who knows if he will even come back after finding a club.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:26 pm
by Kako
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I am not convinced his mental health issues are curable. Have they tried booking him into an asylum?
That's an unfortunate thing to say :shock:

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:59 am
by vancity eagle
All I will say is this.

If Akpeyi ever sets foot on a Russian pitch during a WC match, I will track Rohr down and give him the fiercest backhand he could ever imagine.

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:10 am
by Tbite
If he goes to Russia, I might not watch the team.

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:48 am
by 1naija
niyi wrote:
Shownoja wrote:
SHARE Facebook Twitter

Is this really a true statement?

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:49 am
by green4life
SHARE Facebook Twitter

This is case closed as far as I’m concerned.

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:26 am
by Senator WIRES
Make dem leave AKPERE-YI oh! We We no want another AGBONiBasket :lol:

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:12 am
by pajimoh
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I am not convinced his mental health issues are curable. Have they tried booking him into an asylum?
He's curable if they get the agent to shake your hand or brown envelope....... You will champion their cause faster than paj can roll a spliff with one hand while playing with himself with the other :twisted:

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:21 am
by fabio
I think the agent was referring to stage fright. Which most althete experience. He either needs a psychologist or a an experienced player or mentor giving reassuring words or he could have clue cards with reassuring words (Serena Williams did this during a grand slam final). Or have words written on his gloves.....

Akpeyi seems to struggle at the beginning of games, especially when he faces the first couple of attacks subsequently he gets better, although the damage might have been done.

It's really simple to overcome, either he watches games where he has performed extremely well before he plays for Nigeria or a practice game is organised for him before matches where he is comfortable facing the ball and he takes that mindset into the game.

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:43 am
by Tbite
I would have liked to have seen him writing these words on his gloves 1 year ago or skyping with Serena Williams 1 year ago, not 6 months into the WC.

This thing is actually important to the ENTIRE country, we cannot toy around with it. I feel for the guy and I would like to be sympathetic, but if we have other options we need to look to those now.

The matches we are playing now are to consolidate our World Cup, everything we are doing now is for the World Cup. We are not in an experimental phase right now. So basically everything we are doing right now is about tweaking players, systems, tactics, strategies, personnel etc. that we have full confidence in!

Yes the WC is important to him as well, but this is the most important sporting/entertainment event for the entire country and if he is having psychological concerns, I think the answer is quite obvious.