Maduka Okoye Agrees To Play For Nigeria

Next
Maduka Okoye Agrees To Play For Nigeria

Post by Next »

Owngoal is reporting that the German-Nigerian Goalkeeper Okoye of Fortuna Dusseldorf, German second division side has agreed to play for GWG. Can't say how true this is but does anybody know how good he is for the GWG?

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2018/01/15/fo ... r-nigeria/

"German second division side Fortuna Dusseldorf have elevated Nigerian goalkeeper Maduka Okoye to the first team as they gear up for the second stanza of the league in Germany.

Okoye spoke with Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr and head scout Victor Agali during their visit to Germany, and the Fortuna Dusseldorf U19 ‎shot stopper is in line for a call up to the team according to both men.

Yet to represent Nigeria and Germany at any level. Okoye has been ever present for the first team of Fortuna Dusseldorf in their winter camp, and after injury ruled out goalkeeper Tim Wiesner for an unspecified period of time, he is set to remain with the first team.

The soon to be Nigeria International will be hoping for some minutes of first team action, when they take on SV Sonsbeck in a test game on the 20th of January.

Standing at an impressive height of over 2m tall, the 18 year old has so far made 12 appearances for the U19 who are campaigning in the A-Junioren Bundesliga West, where they are currently 7th on the log after 14 matches."
TERRORISM is the WAR of the POOR while WAR is the TERRORISM of the RICH!

The Best Quotes For Me So Far: "I was born here but brought up as an African. When you reach adulthood you either feel African or you don't, and it's not worth playing if you don't have that feeling." Efan Ekoku
Re: Maduka Okoye Agrees To Play For Nigeria

Mark Rowland " Rat" in 5,4,3,2..... :sneaky: :tic:

Belated news really. He already visited the embassy about 2 months back to begin the process, and they were fairly public about it. I believe it was already a done deal then.

The main question is if Rohr is thinking about him for 2018.

If the article is correct, having been elevated to first team of his club and seeing "first team" actions for a while, is good news in general. It seems Chineke (God) is beginning to answer our prayers in the goalkeeping department. I am excited :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Odas wrote:If the article is correct, having been elevated to first team of his club and seeing "first team" actions for a while, is good news in general. It seems Chineke (God) is beginning to answer our prayers in the goalkeeping department. I am excited :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

SE will be. Top team in about 2yrs, only department we’re lacking is in CD, we need a couple more young CD.

Rohr can leave a legacy that will last us for 15 years! :clap: :clap: hopefully, he stays with us long enough.

danfo driver wrote:Rohr can leave a legacy that will last us for 15 years! :clap: :clap: hopefully, he stays with us long enough.
Having at least three 19/20 year old GKs on the come up in Europe (Alampasu, Uzoho, Okoye) is a real blessing o!!!!! :thumbs:

danfo driver wrote:Rohr can leave a legacy that will last us for 15 years! :clap: :clap: hopefully, he stays with us long enough.
Having at least three 19/20 year old GKs on the come up in Europe (Alampasu, Uzoho, Okoye) is a real blessing o!!!!! :thumbs:
Indeed! :clap: :clap:

This year's World Cup is simply going to remind the world about Nigeria's awesome potential. The 2022 World Cup may come back with us to Abuja with the multitude of young, quality talent at our disposal. These are exciting times.

Obong wrote:This year's World Cup is simply going to remind the world about Nigeria's awesome potential. The 2022 World Cup may come back with us to Abuja with the multitude of young, quality talent at our disposal. These are exciting times.
Talent is hardly our problem. We are specialist in pressing the self destruct button.

Rohr better reach the QF or else he is toast :taunt: No excuse. Even loss of friendlies before the WC may lead to hi sack to be replaced by a 'World Class' coach.

I hope coach Rohr stays with us for a while also - no matter what happens in Russia. Kai, come to think of it, I was one of the people who didn't want the NFF to hire a FOREIGN coach at all

Obong wrote:This year's World Cup is simply going to remind the world about Nigeria's awesome potential. The 2022 World Cup may come back with us to Abuja with the multitude of young, quality talent at our disposal. These are exciting times.
Talent is hardly our problem. We are specialist in pressing the self destruct button.

Rohr better reach the QF or else he is toast :taunt: No excuse. Even loss of friendlies before the WC may lead to hi sack to be replaced by a 'World Class' coach.
This s a legitimate fear, knowing us.
Everyone is waxing lyrical about Rohr right now but like you said, one wrong move and loyalty will dissipate like he killed somebody.
You only need to go back a few months to see how Pinnick has gone from persona non grata to the grudging respect he is given today. Again, it could all change in the blink of an eye.

But if we are willing to give them time, I totally agree that we have a crop of young potential world beaters. In 2013, we were pretty sure it would be Iheanacho, Alampasu, Chidera Ezeh and Musa Yahaya dem, but life has a way of blindsiding all of us.

2018 might just be a dress rehearsal for 2022...

Very true, we are our own worse enemy. Well, the coach has lasted this long without a major issue, I hope the calmness continues and he stays for long.

I would want to believe that us Nigerians have become wiser from our previous experiences - (even the so-called 'world class' coach Le Guen turned Nigerian down in embarrassing fashion, so it would be incredibly stupid to start looking for a new coach so close to the World Cup)
Hopefully, our previous debacles and failures would serve as a reminder.

Everyone is waxing lyrical about Rohr right now but like you said, one wrong move and loyalty will dissipate like he killed somebody.
You only need to go back a few months to see how Pinnick has gone from persona non grata to the grudging respect he is given today. Again, it could all change in the blink of an eye.

But if we are willing to give them time, I totally agree that we have a crop of young potential world beaters. In 2013, we were pretty sure it would be Iheanacho, Alampasu, Chidera Ezeh and Musa Yahaya dem, but life has a way of blindsiding all of us.

KPOM, my bro, this is Nigeria we are talking about, all that good work can be undone in the twinkle of an eye. We need not only the coach for continuity but also the current NFF board. If Pinnick and co lose the NFF elections after the WC, we may head back to the drawing board. I remember the hysteria after the loss to SA, that some CEs even opened a Rohr laughing thread. However, the omens look good for the future and I cannot but help salivate at the potentials at our disposal like Osimhen, Uduokahi (?), Iwobi, Ndidi, Iheanacho, Success, Ebuehi, Nura, Sadiq, Uzoho, Alampasu, Deji, Sarenren-Bazee, Okoye, Yahaya, Nwakili brothers, Okonkwo, Ipalibo, Awaziem, Aina, Sokari etc, the future is bright!

Boom Shakalaka :thumb: .. and these are the 'known' elements.

You are right.
Continuity is the key...I shudder to think there might be a possibility of going back to the days of Maigari. All the progress being made now will be lost.
The talent pool you listed is really exciting, considering you didn't even mention the likes of Onyekuru, Bonaventure, Kalu and perhaps Akpom, Tourunariga, Akpoguma and Ryan Sanusi. Huge potential talent base at our disposal!
Dammy wrote: KPOM, my bro, this is Nigeria we are talking about, all that good work can be undone in the twinkle of an eye. We need not only the coach for continuity but also the current NFF board. If Pinnick and co lose the NFF elections after the WC, we may head back to the drawing board. I remember the hysteria after the loss to SA, that some CEs even opened a Rohr laughing thread. However, the omens look good for the future and I cannot but help salivate at the potentials at our disposal like Osimhen, Uduokahi (?), Iwobi, Ndidi, Iheanacho, Success, Ebuehi, Nura, Sadiq, Uzoho, Alampasu, Deji, Sarenren-Bazee, Okoye, Yahaya, Nwakili brothers, Okonkwo, Ipalibo, Awaziem, Aina, Sokari etc, the future is bright!

'German-Nigerian Goalkeeper Okoye of Fortuna Dusseldorf'
................which Fortuna Dusseldorf are we talking about? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Fortuna Dusseldorf's 3 GKs are 1. Rensing Michael 2.Wiesner Tim 3. Wolf Raphael.....................folks, which Fortuna Dusseldorf :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

................which Fortuna Dusseldorf are we talking about? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Fortuna Dusseldorf's 3 GKs are 1. Rensing Michael 2.Wiesner Tim 3. Wolf Raphael.....................folks, which Fortuna Dusseldorf :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Fortuna Dusseldorf Under 19. Please read the article, bro.

Equals Bezirksliga :D ..........Bezirksliga equals Div 9 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: .

Why won't he want to play for Nigeria at the WC :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Otitokoro wrote:You are right.
Continuity is the key...I shudder to think there might be a possibility of going back to the days of Maigari. All the progress being made now will be lost.
The talent pool you listed is really exciting, considering you didn't even mention the likes of Onyekuru, Bonaventure, Kalu and perhaps Akpom, Tourunariga, Akpoguma and Ryan Sanusi. Huge potential talent base at our disposal!
Dammy wrote: KPOM, my bro, this is Nigeria we are talking about, all that good work can be undone in the twinkle of an eye. We need not only the coach for continuity but also the current NFF board. If Pinnick and co lose the NFF elections after the WC, we may head back to the drawing board. I remember the hysteria after the loss to SA, that some CEs even opened a Rohr laughing thread. However, the omens look good for the future and I cannot but help salivate at the potentials at our disposal like Osimhen, Uduokahi (?), Iwobi, Ndidi, Iheanacho, Success, Ebuehi, Nura, Sadiq, Uzoho, Alampasu, Deji, Sarenren-Bazee, Okoye, Yahaya, Nwakili brothers, Okonkwo, Ipalibo, Awaziem, Aina, Sokari etc, the future is bright!
You haven't even seen Ryan Sanusi play.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

Yeah that's a very low level. Hopefully we aren't planning to take this boy to the world cup

Can Akpeyi get into the Fortuna Dusseldorf U-12 team for girls? Talkless of this team? Yes, USUALLY, the league in which a player plays is important. But most times, it isn't. Specifically for us, where 1 of our goalkeepers is below average (Ezenwa) another is a kid (Uzoho) and the final one claims he has mental problems (Akpeyi). please...
niyi wrote:

Yeah that's a very low level. Hopefully we aren't planning to take this boy to the world cup