NFF Signs $4m Deal With Coca-Cola

Re: NFF Signs $4m Deal With Coca-Cola

Let me ask again for all the expert negotiators in this thread, what prior sponsorship deal is this new coke deal replacing? And what were the terms?

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

metalalloy wrote:Let me ask again for all the expert negotiators in this thread, what prior sponsorship deal is this new coke deal replacing? And what were the terms?
...something doesn't sound right.......I smell a rat......4 million over 5 years?
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Gooner1 wrote:
metalalloy wrote:Let me ask again for all the expert negotiators in this thread, what prior sponsorship deal is this new coke deal replacing? And what were the terms?
...something doesn't sound right.......I smell a rat......4 million over 5 years?
Wrong ans bros to the question posed. :D

Gooner1 wrote:
Gooner1 wrote:$4 million....for 5 years?

We wouldn't be Nigerians if we don't have at least some people to still find something wrong with the deal. You try bro, continue... :taunt:
He's a gooner, complaining is in their blood :sneaky: :tic:
small minded paj.....Nigerians don't know their worth......
Abeg stop talking big. Where were you when Nike didn't even give us a penny for wearing their shirt and some of us complained? You think years of missing afcon increased our value? You also think sponsorship in England US and Nigeria carry the same equity and value?

If NFF can have about 4 strategic sponsors in place, they will be ok. What they've not been able tp do is make the SE a cool brand to support, as such they've not been able to tap into merchandise spin offs they could be raking from
:???: :???:
what has Nike got to do with Coke-Cola?....this is not a deal, it is called a mugging.......if you think this is what you are worth then don't worry....be happy :D
You can go and renegotiate. Coca Cola Nigeria is different from Coca Cola Ghana or US. We are not sure what the full deal is but SE is not a brand many are falling over to sponsor. SE is just becoming attractive because it's wc year. Soon politics and usual effups means dealing with them should come with health warnings. This is not an exclusive deals that means NFF cannot look for other sponsors, it just means they can't be sponsored by CC rivals

Ayo Akinfe wrote:In all fairness to Pinnick, he is a lot more exposed and cosmopolitan than previous NFF bosses. He understands the role of private sponsorship in sports.

Our problem over the years has been that NFF staff have been weaned on state handouts. They thus do not understand the concept of generating your own revenue or making the Super Eagles a brand.
Oh please.

Well done for the sponsorship.

I believe the govt is providing funds for the WC in Russia.
Very well done sef. Pinnick's NFF are setting very high standards and they simply must be commended.

When you look at deals NFF is getting one can easily come to conclusion that something ain't right. Either there is bad negotiation, some chopping or we are just not a good brand.

So starting from Adidas, they couldn't wait to get out. Every other kit makers say "thanks but no thanks". Nike took the plunge but would not put a dime of their money as part of the deal. Other sponsors either fail the NFF or the NFF fail the sponsors. NFF struggles to pay the coach, find money to prosecute tournaments and their daily administration. So what is the value of such brand?

4 mil might seem small but from position of toxicity and inability to attract sponsors, 4m might just seem a life saver and more importantly a statement that it's ok to invest in Naija football

pajimoh wrote:When you look at deals NFF is getting one can easily come to conclusion that something ain't right. Either there is bad negotiation, some chopping or we are just not a good brand.

So starting from Adidas, they couldn't wait to get out. Every other kit makers say "thanks but no thanks". Nike took the plunge but would not put a dime of their money as part of the deal. Other sponsors either fail the NFF or the NFF fail the sponsors. NFF struggles to pay the coach, find money to prosecute tournaments and their daily administration. So what is the value of such brand?

4 mil might seem small but from position of toxicity and inability to attract sponsors, 4m might just seem a life saver and more importantly a statement that it's ok to invest in Naija football
The truth is usually hard to swallow. If we have a good world cup, we can start making demands to fit the delusions of grandeur some people have. Till then, you get the best deal you can.

For $800K a year we may as well have a deal with an obscure pure water sachet company!
wiseone wrote:For a Gold rated company like Coke (the most well known brand name on earth), $4m over 5 years does seem paltry.
Either Pinnick is good at signing poor sponsorship or bad at negotiating. Until we see the details (just like the Nike deal) we can't judge.

That's $8000,000 per year.
Polly

Post by Polly »

Coca Cola is S-M-A-R-T: Even if the SE stink up the joint in Russia, they will give back far more than Coke is putting into this deal. if they come good, the company is looking at a deal that will benefit them in multiple terms across TWO World Cups. We've been had, folks!

Gooner1 wrote:
Gooner1 wrote:$4 million....for 5 years?

We wouldn't be Nigerians if we don't have at least some people to still find something wrong with the deal. You try bro, continue... :taunt:
He's a gooner, complaining is in their blood :sneaky: :tic:
small minded paj.....Nigerians don't know their worth......
Abeg stop talking big. Where were you when Nike didn't even give us a penny for wearing their shirt and some of us complained? You think years of missing afcon increased our value? You also think sponsorship in England US and Nigeria carry the same equity and value?

If NFF can have about 4 strategic sponsors in place, they will be ok. What they've not been able tp do is make the SE a cool brand to support, as such they've not been able to tap into merchandise spin offs they could be raking from
:???: :???:
what has Nike got to do with Coke-Cola?....this is not a deal, it is called a mugging.......if you think this is what you are worth then don't worry....be happy :D
You can go and renegotiate. Coca Cola Nigeria is different from Coca Cola Ghana or US. We are not sure what the full deal is but SE is not a brand many are falling over to sponsor. SE is just becoming attractive because it's wc year. Soon politics and usual effups means dealing with them should come with health warnings. This is not an exclusive deals that means NFF cannot look for other sponsors, it just means they can't be sponsored by CC rivals
Pajimoh; if you are correct, then it's a good deal - in my opinion

Polly wrote:Coca Cola is S-M-A-R-T: Even if the SE stink up the joint in Russia, they will give back far more than Coke is putting into this deal. if they come good, the company is looking at a deal that will benefit them in multiple terms across TWO World Cups. We've been had, folks!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: According to Chief Pajimoh, the deal excludes Coca Cola's competitors from patronizing the NFF/SE. Thus, the NFF can strike other deals from several other sources if what - Chief Pajimoh - said is correct
Last edited by Odas on Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote:For $800K a year we may as well have a deal with an obscure pure water sachet company!
wiseone wrote:For a Gold rated company like Coke (the most well known brand name on earth), $4m over 5 years does seem paltry.
Either Pinnick is good at signing poor sponsorship or bad at negotiating. Until we see the details (just like the Nike deal) we can't judge.

I agree. But can these obscure pure water companies afford such an amount? And for the bigger companies that can afford it, are they lining up to sponsor us?

Tbite wrote:They might not be the main sponsor.
From media reports they are simply having exclusive rights as beverage for the Nigerian national teams. That indicates that there are or will be sponsors for exclusive rights on other services to the team.

I am not sure what main sponsor is. If it is like the type with Globacom a few years ago then it really is not the best as it drives away other opportunities with companies. Best to have multiple sponsors for all kinds of services.
Good move by Pinnick and the NFF. Now they need to go after Mercedes Benz or Toyota as the official transporter or Transport partner of the NFF. Also get a solid airline like Emirates as official partners as well. If the SE have a good tournament, more sponsors will come in. :clap: :clap:

I was critical of Pinnick and crew earlier in their term, but the past year has been great. Kudos to them

wiseone wrote:For $800K a year we may as well have a deal with an obscure pure water sachet company!

Oh please....A federation that recently had to be bailed out by a Japanese business man to fly its team to the Olympics? Abeg if they could get better, they'd have gotten better. This is a good deal

Polly wrote:Coca Cola is S-M-A-R-T: Even if the SE stink up the joint in Russia, they will give back far more than Coke is putting into this deal. if they come good,
the company is looking at a deal that will benefit them in multiple terms across TWO World Cups. We've been had, folks!
If this is an exclusive deal, then we've been had.
Why let the deal span two world cups? A three year deal would have made sense.
Imagine if the SE gets to the final in Russia, then coke can use the team as a cheap advertising tool world-wide.

I bet there are individual Naijas that can sponsor the team at that price, but we sometimes undervalue ourselves just to belong.

In the grand scheme of things, it's not a lot of money but a step in the right direction and a welcome one.

We've talked about the need for sponsorship money for ages on CE and Pinnick has managed to get the ball rolling. It's likely other sponsors will follow. Success on the pitch will boost this further.
kali

Post by kali »

NFF needs a beverage company, phone company, travel company and food company as core sponsors.

To give people some context on how small this sum is. Pepsi used to sponsor Major League Baseball. That deal was worth $50m over 5 years. That deal was signed in 1997 (over 20 years ago). Context.

wiseone wrote:To give people some context on how small this sum is. Pepsi used to sponsor Major League Baseball. That deal was worth $50m over 5 years. That deal was signed in 1997 (over 20 years ago). Context.
This is the problem with you people looking at America to determine Naija market. While we're at it why don't we compare the major league tv rights to Naija league tv right? Lets compare major league shirt sponsors to Naija league shirt sponsors? Lets also compare gate receipts for an average major league game to Naija football average gate receipts? Why should we stop there? How about average player income for major league player to that of Naija league player?

Msssshhhheeewww

The fact is SE brand has over decades been neglected and ridiculed due to incompetent administrators. It was so bad that getting a shirt sponsor was a problem and the one that signed did not include any money. The brand was coming from ZERO position, at least that's what we were told, unless you have info to the contrary and Nike are complicit in the fraud.
The NFF need this deal, any deal with a big boy to send out a statement that it's a brand they can invest in.

What the SE now need is an excellent showing at the wc to reinforce that message. Money follows sucess

Goldleaf wrote:https://www.thecable.ng/just-in-nff-sig ... -coca-cola
NFF signs $4m five-year sponsorship deal with Coca-Cola
January 17
11:56

Coca-Cola, a soft drink company, has signed a five-year partnership worth over $4m with the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

The sponsorship deal was signed on Wednesday at the Eko Hotels & Suites, Lagos.

Coca-Cola is also the official World Cup sponsor of the Super Eagles as well as other Nigerian national teams.
Good job Pinnick.

You are on a roll... :clap: :clap:

Congrats to peakmilk

Assnal fans get lost. .una complain too much