Darker skin footballers playing in less prominent positions

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:05 am
We all know this is evident. It is even worse when you have black Africans who cannot see a fellow black footballer without seeing him as a Defensive Midfielder, a water carrier, a this and a that.

Ask most people on CE what positions Pogba or Naby plays and they will tell you "DM." What a shame. :oops:

Re: Darker skin footballers playing in less prominent positi

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:28 am
by maceo4
danfo driver wrote:We all know this is evident. It is even worse when you have black Africans who cannot see a fellow black footballer without seeing him as a Defensive Midfielder, a water carrier, a this and a that.

Ask most people on CE what positions Pogba or Naby plays and they will tell you "DM." What a shame. :oops:

Even transfermarkt is racist they list both Pogba and Naby as Central, Defensive or Attacking Midfielders :taunt:

I think this one is overdoing it haba, so many examples of dark skinned players playing in various positions.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:33 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
danfo driver wrote:We all know this is evident. It is even worse when you have black Africans who cannot see a fellow black footballer without seeing him as a Defensive Midfielder, a water carrier, a this and a that.

No blame dem...stars like Makelele, Essien, Mikel don make that position "palatable" so tay any imposing Black midfielders are looked upon in that mould. See Kante destroying the EPL for 3 yrs in a row now...

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:05 am

No blame dem...stars like Makelele, Essien, Mikel don make that position "palatable" so tay any imposing Black midfielders are looked upon in that mould. See Kante destroying the EPL for 3 yrs in a row now...
abi?! Thats how Guardiola went and played Yaya Toure as a CB!! :lol: :lol: :lol: yaya toure!!??

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:08 am
by felarey
Can’t play the video. Is there such thing as less prominent position?

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:49 am
by Coach
@Barrington Danfo, perhaps it's more a matter of opinion than fact, does the prefix "defensive" imply lesser prominence? As a "defensive" midfielder, Ngolo Kante was argued to have been the player of the year by many pundits, many of whom were once upon a time, of the presumed more prominent positions.

What of deeper role, what prominence is that afforded within this arbitrary metric system? Kevin De Bruyne was clad in the more prominent "attacking midfielder" prefix last season and yet, now in a deeper role, is having his most prominent innings at the Etihad. Is deeper therefore more prominent than attacking? Pogba and Kante are both said to have played in deeper roles on occasions and yet they're assumed to have played at lesser prominence, which asks the question, at how leagues beneath Stevie G level does deep become less prominent?

And what is darker skin, are we talking Jermaine Defoe or Bouba Diop black? George Weah and Desailly were as black as molasses. Surely dark skin is entirely relative. Dark skin to who?

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:31 pm
by Enugu II
felarey wrote:Can’t play the video. Is there such thing as less prominent position?
felarey,

Yes, there is a central position in all sports and it has been studied for years and yes in some sports it has been shown that race matters in whether coaches decided who plays in those positions. The positions are often more central or what is also referred to as the spine in some sports. Research also shows that players in those positions have higher probability of being made captain. Here is a study on such issues but this one is not about race:

http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/do ... 1&type=pdf

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:03 pm
by aykwes8
so you continental africans have started this pathetic behavior? black americans and their racist black live matter movement have infected you and so u too have started waving victimhood bullshit like a trump card

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:08 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
aykwes8 wrote:so you continental africans have started this pathetic behavior? black americans and their racist black live matter movement have infected you and so u too have started waving victimhood bullshit like a trump card

take a deep breath, collect your thoughts and post them in a coherent manner. Perhaps, you may have a point worth discussing.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:31 pm
Even though danfo head hardly no dey house, bobo dey spot on 100%

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:03 pm
aykwes8 wrote:so you continental africans have started this pathetic behavior? black americans and their racist black live matter movement have infected you and so u too have started waving victimhood bullshit like a trump card

take a deep breath, collect your thoughts and post them in a coherent manner. Perhaps, you may have a point worth discussing.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:04 pm
We all know the "Tall, Big and black" player is supposed to always be a "Vieira." Play him as a destroyer! Even when is is actually a playmaker. :oops:

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:36 pm
by paj
Bigpokey24 wrote:Even though danfo head hardly no dey house, bobo dey spot on 100%
Mumu...both of una heads no dey house..I guess Pirlo is from Sudan and Mane is from Kopenhagen.. :evil:

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 6:08 pm
paj wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:Even though danfo head hardly no dey house, bobo dey spot on 100%
Mumu...both of una heads no dey house..I guess Pirlo is from Sudan and Mane is from Kopenhagen.. :evil:
What position did Andrea Pirlo play prior to joining Milan? And What position did Ancelotti "create" for him, and how was it created?

What position does Mane play at Liverpool?

By the way, I am hopeful that you know that the argument here is not that EVERY SINGLE black player plays in less prominent positions. Drogba, Eto'o both played in prominent positions. I thought the argument was quite clear.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 6:10 pm
by green4life
Danfo is on point here.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:38 pm
by felarey
felarey wrote:Can’t play the video. Is there such thing as less prominent position?
felarey,

Yes, there is a central position in all sports and it has been studied for years and yes in some sports it has been shown that race matters in whether coaches decided who plays in those positions. The positions are often more central or what is also referred to as the spine in some sports. Research also shows that players in those positions have higher probability of being made captain. Here is a study on such issues but this one is not about race:

http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/do ... 1&type=pdf
Interesting read... going by this research, it's easy to see why a minority could have a longer shot at attaining the prominent position. When all of task, social and external are considered.

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:01 pm
by ohsee

Doc nwokem. :D See as you jos dey get mout pass me. :thumbs: