Trouble in King Kanu's Household?

The world literally seems to be crumbling right under the feet of the Golden Boy of Nigerian football Nwankwo Kanu, last week he cried out that his prized hotel was about to be taken over by the banks over outstanding loans and now a damning Instagram post by angry wife, Amarachi, has laid bare serious cracks to his marriage of 13 years.

Amarachi fired full salvo at her husband’s younger brother Ogbonnaya after he boasted he was at a Leeds United game: “You are a coward and a liar. That’s my son’s ticket.

“He was supposed to follow his dad to the Leeds game today but no. You have never allowed Kanu to be in peace with his family.

“You tried all that with me all these years thinking I will die and now you want to come near my children. You can’t. You won’t.

“Oloshi Oloribuku(a curse in Yoruba). Borrow pose. @Ogbobikee1 don’t mess up with my children’s things or their dad.”
Amarachi Kanu’s damning blog fired at her brother-in-law

But even before this public expose, there have been a raft of allegations in the Kanu family as regards the younger brother’s undue intrusion in their lives.

It was among other things alleged that Ogbonnaya, himself a former footballer, was the one who bought groceries for the family and decided a lot of what is to be done for them, not the wife.

His celebrated wedding to the sister of a celebrity blogger was bankrolled 100% by Kanu.

All these are said to have taken a massive toll on the marriage of the Kanus.

Amarachi, from the “little village girl” is now a trained lawyer who reportedly saved her husband from losing their palatial London home through a receivership.

And she is now ready to throw caution to the wind to save her home.

Her husband Kanu was a legend on the pitch, a star of a heart-rendering story that has even been considered for a movie – after he led Nigeria to an historic Olympic Gold in 1996, he survived a life-threatening heart ailment to go on to win trophies with Arsenal and Portsmouth after earlier successes with Ajax Amsterdam and Inter Milan.

He was also twice named African Footballer of the Year by CAF, a UNICAEF Ambassador and NFF Soccer Ambassador.

In 2007, KICK OFF Nigeria Magazine named him the richest Nigeria football star as he had business interests ranging from the hospitality industry to oil and gas.

The net worth of his businesses at a time was more than three billion Naira and growing.

Kanu cries out he could lose hotel

Kanu sells off Papilo FC

But it now all seems that life outside the pitch has not been kindly scripted for the man who was nicknamed ‘King’ at Portsmouth.

It is understood that he lost millions of dollars in several business ventures with the climax being the sealing off of the Hardley Apartment Hotel in Lagos, which at it’s height employed over 150 people.

Last week, he raised alarm through a statement published by SCORENigeria: “My heart bleeds, not just because my prized possession which emerged out of my blood and sweat as a career footballer is at the risk of being taken away from me under the weight of an intractable/belligerent government apparatus unjustifiably, but also because of the imminent defeat of the major objective for its establishment (to cater for the Kanu Heart Foundation).”

We also reported that he has sold the slot of his pet club Papilo FC in the second-tier Nigeria National League (NNL) to Calabar Rovers.

What could be next?
scorenigeria.com.ng/2018/01/21wifes-damning
Re: Trouble in King Kanu's Household?

Hire a financial adviser from a respectable firm after long back ground checks.

I hope the story about Amarachi is not true, she is a lovely girl. :mad:
make Ogbonnaya go find job oh :wink:

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The wife should be supported

Why can't people just let Kanu live his life?
This thread is the worst attempt at gossip mongering. Worse than being a peeping Tom.
Talk about taking medications for another man's ailments.
:huh: :?: :ohmy:

joao wrote:Why can't people just let Kanu live his life?
This thread is the worst attempt at gossip mongering. Worse than being a peeping Tom.
She posted a private matter on social media, it’s gonna get talked about, haba. But the tabloids are probably reading too much into her post.
kali

Post by kali »

Kanu has a dumb wife. Why expose their dirty linen to the world?

kali wrote:Kanu has a dumb wife. Why expose their dirty linen to the world?
Perhaps she had had enough.

miky

Post by miky »

So the uncle took the kids ticket, and she goes on insta to blast him, call him a coward and liar. Not very smart, kanu better control this, family vs wife thing. Didn't kanu just loose his mother?
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

If she reacts like this over a ticket, I wonder what next!

Bad blood plenty.

miky wrote:So the uncle took the kids ticket, and she goes on insta to blast him, call him a coward and liar. Not very smart, kanu better control this, family vs wife thing. Didn't kanu just loose his mother?
There is obviously much more to the story than the solitary tweet.
It seems to me that King Kanu is a very trusting man, but this isn't the first time his trust has allegedly been betrayed.
Back in the day, he had to sack a close friend of his allegedly for defrauding his Heart Foundation of some serious money. The guy in question is now a successful businessman in his own right, in the media business.

ohenhen1 wrote:Hire a financial adviser from a respectable firm after long back ground checks.

Financial adviser is a bad deal, and for illiterate sports people .

His wife is educated and can do it, not a big deal. Remember they have their own cost too and not cheap either.

I laugh at people saying stuff over what they do not even know the full details. Sometimes it is better to just read stuff and move on.

Whatever it was that prompted the lady to go on tweeter rage like that nust have been deep and prolonged....i doubt if she is crazy or bad to simply go along that line. One can only pray that peace reign or be restored to the house.

joao wrote:Why can't people just let Kanu live his life?
joao,

Kanu is a public figure and celebrity and, thus, a subject for talk or discourse. No one will talk about a non-public figure in the same way because of lack of interest.

A public figure, like Kanu, will always be an appropriate subject of talk/discourse because there is enormous interest in such talk or discourse. His business, his home, his conflicts, etc draw great interest.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Feel for the guy sha.
Businesses are distressed in Naija and with it comes other issues.
I was on this thread was attacked for stating the current situation for a lot businesses especially in the hospitality business... viewtopic.php?f=7&t=285752

Anyway, Amarachi should secure her children's future and not let Kanu's siblings squander the little that is left.

Dammy wrote:The world literally seems to be crumbling right under the feet of the Golden Boy of Nigerian football Nwankwo Kanu, last week he cried out that his prized hotel was about to be taken over by the banks over outstanding loans and now a damning Instagram post by angry wife, Amarachi, has laid bare serious cracks to his marriage of 13 years.

Amarachi fired full salvo at her husband’s younger brother Ogbonnaya after he boasted he was at a Leeds United game: “You are a coward and a liar. That’s my son’s ticket.

“He was supposed to follow his dad to the Leeds game today but no. You have never allowed Kanu to be in peace with his family.

“You tried all that with me all these years thinking I will die and now you want to come near my children. You can’t. You won’t.

“Oloshi Oloribuku(a curse in Yoruba). Borrow pose. @Ogbobikee1 don’t mess up with my children’s things or their dad.”
Amarachi Kanu’s damning blog fired at her brother-in-law

But even before this public expose, there have been a raft of allegations in the Kanu family as regards the younger brother’s undue intrusion in their lives.

It was among other things alleged that Ogbonnaya, himself a former footballer, was the one who bought groceries for the family and decided a lot of what is to be done for them, not the wife.

His celebrated wedding to the sister of a celebrity blogger was bankrolled 100% by Kanu.

All these are said to have taken a massive toll on the marriage of the Kanus.

Amarachi, from the “little village girl” is now a trained lawyer who reportedly saved her husband from losing their palatial London home through a receivership.

And she is now ready to throw caution to the wind to save her home.

Her husband Kanu was a legend on the pitch, a star of a heart-rendering story that has even been considered for a movie – after he led Nigeria to an historic Olympic Gold in 1996, he survived a life-threatening heart ailment to go on to win trophies with Arsenal and Portsmouth after earlier successes with Ajax Amsterdam and Inter Milan.

He was also twice named African Footballer of the Year by CAF, a UNICAEF Ambassador and NFF Soccer Ambassador.

In 2007, KICK OFF Nigeria Magazine named him the richest Nigeria football star as he had business interests ranging from the hospitality industry to oil and gas.

The net worth of his businesses at a time was more than three billion Naira and growing.

Kanu cries out he could lose hotel

Kanu sells off Papilo FC

But it now all seems that life outside the pitch has not been kindly scripted for the man who was nicknamed ‘King’ at Portsmouth.

It is understood that he lost millions of dollars in several business ventures with the climax being the sealing off of the Hardley Apartment Hotel in Lagos, which at it’s height employed over 150 people.

Last week, he raised alarm through a statement published by SCORENigeria: “My heart bleeds, not just because my prized possession which emerged out of my blood and sweat as a career footballer is at the risk of being taken away from me under the weight of an intractable/belligerent government apparatus unjustifiably, but also because of the imminent defeat of the major objective for its establishment (to cater for the Kanu Heart Foundation).”

We also reported that he has sold the slot of his pet club Papilo FC in the second-tier Nigeria National League (NNL) to Calabar Rovers.

What could be next?
scorenigeria.com.ng/2018/01/21wifes-damning

Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Cmoke wrote:If she reacts like this over a ticket, I wonder what next!

Bad blood plenty.
Seems its been building up and up to the ticket.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

As a wise rambler once chimed, give him money to eat, the next week he's broke, so while you sleep, he's reaching for your throat.

miky wrote:So the uncle took the kids ticket, and she goes on insta to blast him, call him a coward and liar. Not very smart, kanu better control this, family vs wife thing. Didn't kanu just loose his mother?
There is obviously much more to the story than the solitary tweet.
It seems to me that King Kanu is a very trusting man, but this isn't the first time his trust has allegedly been betrayed.
Back in the day, he had to sack a close friend of his allegedly for defrauding his Heart Foundation of some serious money. The guy in question is now a successful businessman in his own right, in the media business.
Thanks a lot, Chief Damunk! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Is this the same pretty wife he married the day I joined C.E?
Had no clue she could speak Yoruba! 98 % of soccer players become broke within a few years of retirement. First salvo is usually fired by the woman..when the money runs out. Sad.
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

Cristao II wrote:
kali wrote:Kanu has a dumb wife. Why expose their dirty linen to the world?
Perhaps she had had enough.
No matter what....... she should not have done that....she is not smart about this episode.

Ogolo Makambo wrote:Is this the same pretty wife he married the day I joined C.E?
Had no clue she could speak Yoruba! 98 % of soccer players become broke within a few years of retirement. First salvo is usually fired by the woman..when the money runs out. Sad.
Bros, for a woman to do this - she has already tried other means of communication. First salvo, ke - Kanu should take charge o. It is not when he is broke that common sense should enter.

[1] Amarachi's problem is that Kanu and Ogbonna are very close
[2] Those of you who have worked closely with Kanu will know that everything goes through his brother
[3] If you look at all the charitable donations Kanu makes, it is Ogbonna that approves them
[4] All those kids who get treated by the Kanu Heart Foundation get recommended by Ogbonna
[5] If Ogbonna does not approve an expenditure, Kanu is unlikely to accede to it
[6] This is Kanu's way of making sure he is not exploited. he entrusts everything to his brother
[7] In all fairness to Ogbonna, he has shielded his brother well
[8] With Ogbonna around him, Kanu is unlikely to suffer the same fate as Ebuoe
[9] However, once Kanu got married, the dynamics had to alter. I think the Kanu brothers were unable to factor this into their operations
[10] What Kanu needs to do is demarcate what areas of his empire are run by his wife and what areas are run by his brother