Page 1 of 2

The Men Who Made It Happen

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:00 pm
by Pavarotti
The Men Who Made It Happen

Skepticism, disbelief, cynicism and suspicion, that was how his appointment was greeted back in September 2014

It was expected too, after all we’d had it bad in the past . . .football administrators that accurately mirrored the Nigerian government . . clueless, square pegs in round holes, men who had no business in football and who knew nothing of what the game was about !

Yet there was something about the former Delta state FA Chairman that elicited curiosity . . . . http://www.soccerassembly.com/men-made-happen/

Re: The Men Who Made It Happen

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:09 pm
Na today we start qualifying for WC? Keshi did it as a player and coach, Amodu did it twice as a coach too. Rip to both men! They died waiting for their salary. May their spirit watch over the SE in Russia. Amin!

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:37 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Pavarotti wrote:The Men Who Made It Happen

Skepticism, disbelief, cynicism and suspicion, that was how his appointment was greeted back in September 2014

It was expected too, after all we’d had it bad in the past . . .football administrators that accurately mirrored the Nigerian government . . clueless, square pegs in round holes, men who had no business in football and who knew nothing of what the game was about !

Yet there was something about the former Delta state FA Chairman that elicited curiosity . . . . http://www.soccerassembly.com/men-made-happen/
Is that right?

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:30 am
by Damunk
Pavarotti wrote:The Men Who Made It Happen

Is that right?
Of course.
Check your history book.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:36 am
by Robotnik
Made it happen indeed. Have we played a match at the world cup? :D :taunt:

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:16 am
by mcal
...dem go bow tire for oyinbo.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:31 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Nothing has happened yet.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:16 am
by Eaglezbeak
He’s done well so far but at present we have achieved anything other than doing what should be a minimum requirement (qualifying to the World Cup).

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:20 am
by Damunk
mcal wrote:...dem go bow tire for oyinbo.
'Pinnick' might sound like an oyibo name but he's actually black. :idea:

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:28 am
by Ayo Akinfe
[1] We need to consistently get to the World Cup semi finals
[2] We need to start getting mentioned in the same breath as Brazil, Germany, Argentina, Italy and France
[3] We need to start producing world class players on an annual basis
[4] At every point in time we should have four or five players plying their trade with Bayern Munich, Juventus, Inter Milan, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Man United, man City, Chelsea, AC Milan, PSG, etc
[5] We have sorted out organisational problems with regards to friendlies and now play at every window but we need to get to the point whereby all the big boys are asking to play us
[6] Our bonus problems appear to have also been sorted out but we need to have this entrenched institutionally
[7] We need to make the Super Eagles self-sufficient and stop this going to the sports ministry for financial assistance
[8] Our other teams like the Flying Eagles, Golden eaglets, Super Falcons, Super Falconettes and Super Flamingoes also need to get the necessary attention. They are currently treated like pariahs
[9] We need a lot more joint academies in Nigeria. Europe's big clubs should know that if they want a fresh world class talent, all they need to do is visit Nigeria. This what happens at say Boca Juniors or River Plate
[10] Our national team needs to look something like this:

*************************************************Kane*************************************************

***********************Salah*********************************************De Bryne*******************

***************************************************Ozil*************************************************

*************************Pogba*****************************************Ndidi*************************

***Marcelo******************Pique**************************Boateng***********************Alves***

**************************************************Lloris*************************************************

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:36 pm
by fabio
Tired of all this sponsored write up!
Together they had pursued Pinnicks passion of bringing home Nigerian children in the diaspora ( a passion shared by Rohr who has more trust in players developed in Europe) to play for the Super Eagles
... In other words, develop in Europe to play for SE.
We may be looking at the best ever NFF President in Nigerian football history. Nigerian football is on a positive march. . . . Let credit be given where it is due!
best ever NFF President in Nigerian football history with 1 WC qualification and no AFCON?

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:42 pm
by Mr Shows
Very early days yet. Their legacy remains to be written as they have not surpassed any previous achievements. That said, we are heading in the right direction....

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:04 pm
by Odas
Mr Shows wrote:Very early days yet. Their legacy remains to be written as they have not surpassed any previous achievements. That said, we are heading in the right direction....
:agree: :agree: :agree:

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:42 pm
by mcal
...and you know which oyinbo man I dey talk.

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:17 pm
by Damunk
Maybe you should have clarified.
The article is almost exclusively about Pinnick and any oyibo inside is mentioned only in passing.
Even the attached picture was not taken from the article but 'stolen' from elsewhere, attached and posted on CE.
So we naturally assumed you actually read the article before commenting but somehow still believed it was about 'bowing for oyibo'.
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:42 pm
by fabio
Damunk wrote:Maybe you should have clarified.
The article is almost exclusively about Pinnick and any oyibo inside is mentioned only in passing.
Even the attached picture was not taken from the article but 'stolen' from elsewhere, attached and posted on CE.
So we naturally assumed you actually read the article before commenting but somehow still believed it was about 'bowing for oyibo'.
Please stick ise abere (Injection work)... wetin you contribute to the conversation..

BTW happy new year!!

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
by Damunk
Damunk wrote:Maybe you should have clarified.
Please stick ise abere (Injection work)... wetin you contribute to the conversation..

BTW happy new year!!
Just admit the sarcasm is a little too advanced for your liking :idea:

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:02 am
by mcal
Maybe you should have clarified.
...who get to time read. A picture tells a thousand 'tories :biggrin: :biggrin:

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:11 am
by kajifu
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] We need to consistently get to the World Cup semi finals
[2] We need to start getting mentioned in the same breath as Brazil, Germany, Argentina, Italy and France
[4] At every point in time we should have four or five players plying their trade with Bayern Munich, Juventus, Inter Milan, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Man United, man City, Chelsea, AC Milan, PSG, etc
[5] We have sorted out organisational problems with regards to friendlies and now play at every window but we need to get to the point whereby all the big boys are asking to play us
[6] Our bonus problems appear to have also been sorted out but we need to have this entrenched institutionally
[7] We need to make the Super Eagles self-sufficient and stop this going to the sports ministry for financial assistance
[8] Our other teams like the Flying Eagles, Golden eaglets, Super Falcons, Super Falconettes and Super Flamingoes also need to get the necessary attention. They are currently treated like pariahs
[9] We need a lot more joint academies in Nigeria. Europe's big clubs should know that if they want a fresh world class talent, all they need to do is visit Nigeria. This what happens at say Boca Juniors or River Plate

*************************************************Kane*************************************************

***********************Salah*********************************************De Bryne*******************

***************************************************Ozil*************************************************

*************************Pogba*****************************************Ndidi*************************

***Marcelo******************Pique**************************Boateng***********************Alves***

**************************************************Lloris*************************************************
How many countries look like that?
SE should not put their target to semi,you get to semi you have just two more games to be crown champion,why not go for it all out?

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:39 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] We need to consistently get to the World Cup semi finals

How many countries look like that?
SE should not put their target to semi,you get to semi you have just two more games to be crown champion,why not go for it all out?
We are Nigeria, the world's largest black nation. A country of 180m souls where football is a religion, so our targets should be higher than that of the average nation.

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:35 pm
by Ebyboy
I think this is a bunch of crock. It's taking the piss.
A coach that is yet to be evaluated in a major competition
has been given a two year extension. Something is amiss!

Compare this to how HARD our dear departed local coaches
have to fight just to get paid.

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:36 pm
by Ebyboy
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Na today we start qualifying for WC? Keshi did it as a player and coach, Amodu did it twice as a coach too. Rip to both men! They died waiting for their salary. May their spirit watch over the SE in Russia. Amin!
Their spirits will haunt us as we put our hands on our chest
and sing of how the labors of our heroes past shall never be
in vain.

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:28 pm
by Damunk
Ebyboy wrote:I think this is a bunch of crock. It's taking the piss.
A coach that is yet to be evaluated in a major competition
has been given a two year extension. Something is amiss!

Compare this to how HARD our dear departed local coaches
have to fight just to get paid
So you're kinda saying that because we were unfair to our local coaches in the past, we shouldn't do the sensible thing until we put it right?

You're also kinda saying that should we crash out of the WC after the first round, we should get rid of the coach and essentially, begin all over again.

Which will be doing the exact same thing we've been doing for like 22 years.
I think the tally now is about 22 coaches in 22 years - or has it dropped slightly now? :idea: