Joseph Dosu Interview

On TreGong TV. Posted by Suya on FB.

Interesting that he was injured during the tournament.

:lol: @ Okocha treating Oliseh as his golden retriever. Jay jay oh, your head no dey house!

Re: Joseph Dosu Interview

metalalloy wrote:On TreGong TV. Posted by Suya on FB.

:lol: @ Okocha treating Oliseh as his golden retriever. Jay jay oh, your head no dey house!
It's an Anioma issue! :taunt:

No put mouth inside.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Okocha over Kanu? Cant say that i am surprised, after all he was a goal keeper

ANC wrote:Okocha over Kanu? Cant say that i am surprised, after all he was a goal keeper
Haters gon hate :rotf: :rotf: Has Kanu ever even hit the post at the WC? Ehn has he? :twisted:

So Fulani herdsman cows caused the accident! What are cows doing on ikorodu road? So that picture of cows using the flyover bridge is true

Good interview from Dosu omo iya aganyin. Funny they did not field that quesrion to him about this nickname... Wonderful guy

Flex Swift wrote:So Fulani herdsman cows caused the accident! What are cows doing on ikorodu road? So that picture of cows using the flyover bridge is true
So this Herdsmen cow thing don dey cost wahala long time.

Great interview. We should talk to these past players often.

Too bad 3SC players tried to inject juju in the team. :boo: to 3SC

Dosu 11 :boo: :boo:

No Yobo? What was he on? Is he sure he doesn't drink?

1naija wrote:Dosu 11 :boo: :boo:

No Yobo? What was he on? Is he sure he doesn't drink?

So he was partly responsible for the Agbayas in our prior youth teams? Dele Adeleye etc...

very nice interview. Seems like an intelligent dude and gentleman. Wish him the best.

One thing that bothers me though is when players of a certain age bracket start alluding to things that were certainly not so during their generation. For example, he said something like VW Beetle costing 2000 Naira (and 504 costing 5,000) when he started getting paid back in 1990. This certainly cannot be accurate. Please correct me if I am wrong. I would have thought these were the prices during dem Keshi/Nwosu era, or maybe even during dem Odegbami/CCC era...

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:very nice interview. Seems like an intelligent dude and gentleman. Wish him the best.

One thing that bothers me though is when players of a certain age bracket start alluding to things that were certainly not so during their generation. For example, he said something like VW Beetle costing 2000 Naira (and 504 costing 5,000) when he started getting paid back in 1990. This certainly cannot be accurate. Please correct me if I am wrong. I would have thought these were the prices during dem Keshi/Nwosu era, or maybe even during dem Odegbami/CCC era...

Uncle, are you in a cuny cuny way suggesting he was probably older than 23 in 96?

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:very nice interview. Seems like an intelligent dude and gentleman. Wish him the best.

Uncle, are you in a cuny cuny way suggesting he was probably older than 23 in 96?

Na you tok am o. I just seriously doubt the car prices he was quoting for that period.

Maybe it was a slip ... you know he has 3SC roots.

Actually, I think he may not be far from the truth on the car prices as He would most likely have been talking about 2nd hand cars. When I got old enough to price the same cars in 99, a used 504 was going for about 200k. If one thinks about the inflation and currency devaluation that happened between 90 and 99, I don’t think the prices he quoted were a big stretch.

He was caught up in between. The prices of brand new 505 even up till around 88 was around 10k, while beetles around this time was going for around 5 or 6k. You will get a car for 2k no doubt about that , but it will be a second hand car. We were given car loan in 1990 when i joined BCC, it was the sum of 6k, we could only dream second hand by the 90s.

But i remember when i was still in school in the middle 80s, i was also saving to buy a second hand beetle , the going rate around that tine was between 300 - 500naira. Then i was on allowance of 120naira monthly with Kwasu bombers. That was around 85 i think. So i think he got the era all muddled up.

He also refered to Adokiye Amaesimeka as Alloysious....trying to dig into the archives can be hard sometimes. He is not completely off the mark.

Very impressive interview!

For a football career to come to an end at 23 is indeed most tragic. His interest in football also obviously stemmed from a very early age to know the likes of Inua Rigogo and Kenneth Olayombo. But then good goalkeepers are usually very clever. Also I thought he would have been asked about the premonition he gave to Sunday Oliseh that Oliseh will score a decisive goal against Spain in WC 1998. Oliseh told that story once while explaining his goal celebration shouting "Dosu! Dosu!" while pointing to Dosu in the crowd.

Goldleaf wrote:Very impressive interview!

For a football career to come to an end at 23 is indeed most tragic. His interest in football also obviously stemmed from a very early age to know the likes of Inua Rigogo and Kenneth Olayombo. But then good goalkeepers are usually very clever. Also I thought he would have been asked about the premonition he gave to Sunday Oliseh that Oliseh will score a decisive goal against Spain in WC 1998. Oliseh told that story once while explaining his goal celebration shouting "Dosu! Dosu!" while pointing to Dosu in the crowd.
For real? Wow.
Never heard that story and always wondered who he was pointing to.

metalalloy wrote:On TreGong TV. Posted by Suya on FB.

Great interview.

Wishing him all the best.

Glad to see he is not bitter.

For real? Wow.

Actually, Gbenga Aina, AKA Hardman, deciphered this as far back as in 1998. He is an expert lip-reader.

For real? Wow.

Actually, Gbenga Aina, AKA Hardman, deciphered this as far back as in 1998. He is an expert lip-reader.

Huh? You mean you remembered this from 1998? You have the memory of an elephant! No wonder one of the top 5 in America snatched you from us. You need to bribe me with obe of those $40 samples you and mental alloy are ordering or i will expose you. Nonsense. :veryangry: :mad:

For real? Wow.

Huh? You mean you remembered this from 1998? You have the memory of an elephant! No wonder one of the top 5 in America snatched you from us. You need to bribe me with obe of those $40 samples you and mental alloy are ordering or i will expose you. Nonsense. :veryangry: :mad:
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: 1998 is memorable year :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I don full one Box with Creed Vetiver, specially for you :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Seriously, I don't know why I remembered this, but we had a debate about what Oliseh was shouting and who he was pointing to, and Hardman deciphered it.