Argentina was so utterly thrashed...

that they still can't stop finding excuses for being third best to Nigeria in November.

This time Di Maria...

That is massive b... hurt.

http://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=26297
Re: Argentina was so utterly thrashed...

It is a good omen.

It bodes well for us, it shows that they are weak-minded.

A team that is not honest in defeat, are a bunch of frail losers. They are weak-minded and we should exploit that weakness.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

When your abused and "me too"-ed wifey finally stands up to you, you no go fear? :rotf: :rotf:

Tyronne Ebuehi came on and made the game a nightmare for Di Maria. That boy has immense potential and to be honest should be playing for a top 16 team in Europe. Id Liverpool and England's Joe Gomez better than him for instance?

and i just find them very arrogant - no respect what so ever to Nigeria- i just hope and wish to not only beat them but also stop them from qualifying out of the group

walesvilla wrote:and i just find them very arrogant - no respect what so ever to Nigeria- i just hope and wish to not only beat them but also stop them from qualifying out of the group
Last time I checked respect is earned...

walesvilla wrote:and i just find them very arrogant - no respect what so ever to Nigeria- i just hope and wish to not only beat them but also stop them from qualifying out of the group
we must earn it against them in June then

I just treat is as very funny.
They knew they were outplayed, hence the need to publically make excuses several months after the game. They full well know this was no chance victory, they were played off the field.

marutimon wrote:I just treat is as very funny.
They knew they were outplayed, hence the need to publically make excuses several months after the game. They full well know this was no chance victory, they were played off the field.
hopefully we do it again- seriously a fully fit and on form front 3 or 4 of Igahlo VMoses Iwobi and Nacho - will be hard for any team in the world to hold them from scoring -

You guys need to get over that match.

Its long over and Di Maria is partly right, they were missing their best player (best player in the world in fact).
He also exposed how vulnerable Argentina is (shutdown Messi and you shutdown Argentina), but that one na their whala (for us to figure out how to exploit).

Until we beat Argentina in a tournament match, we really have not proved much other than they can be beaten.

Is there any other notable news outlet with these quotes attributed to Di Maria?

charlie wrote:You guys need to get over that match.

Its long over and Di Maria is partly right, they were missing their best player (best player in the world in fact).
He also exposed how vulnerable Argentina is (shutdown Messi and you shutdown Argentina), but that one na their whala (for us to figure out how to exploit).

Until we beat Argentina in a tournament match, we really have not proved much other than they can be beaten.
Its not us that can't get over that match. Argentinian players and coaches pew out some nonsense about it once a week. Its them that can't let go.

We've earned it by beating them. They should have been man enough that they were beaten by the better team on the day if not the better team overall. Bit arrogance and pomposity no gree

metalalloy wrote:Is there any other notable news outlet with these quotes attributed to Di Maria?
Source is Argentinian websites:
https://www.clarin.com/deportes/selecci ... rJ4rz.html

We've earned it by beating them. They should have been man enough that they were beaten by the better team on the day if not the better team overall. But arrogance and pomposity no gree

marutimon wrote:
metalalloy wrote:Is there any other notable news outlet with these quotes attributed to Di Maria?
Source is Argentinian websites:

Thanks sir.

Just bear in mind they would have learnt a lot from that defeat. If we meet them again, they will no be that easy to beat, even without Messi.

Knowing Rohr, he will not be carried away with that victory. He would have learnt a lot about our weaknesses from that game too

I doubt seriously that Di Maria said this. No active professional player blames a loss on the absence of a particular player. I can understand such statement if Messi was red-carded and they were forced to play short-handed. I will bet one bottle of Johnnywalker from my stash :taunt: :mad: that Di Maria NEVER gave this interview!

1naija wrote:I doubt seriously that Di Maria said this. No active professional player blames a loss on the absence of a particular player. I can understand such statement if Messi was red-carded and they were forced to play short-handed. I will bet one bottle of Johnnywalker from my stash :taunt: :mad: that Di Maria NEVER gave this interview!

He did. Marutimon provided the Argentinian source of the interview. It was a general statement that they struggle when Messi is not available. Not that they lost to Nigeria because he was away.

Translate this in chrome.

Oya make i pm you my address for the Johnny? :taunt:

Fact is they keep going back to the game.

We've earned it by beating them. They should have been man enough that they were beaten by the better team on the day if not the better team overall. Bit arrogance and pomposity no gree
Don't think we have ever beaten them in a competitive game, I can understand their arrogance. Even remember Maradona saying they will easily handle us again before last world cup and they still yanshed us mschew...They will never respect us till we start yanshing them when it counts! Hopefully we can start at this WC Messi or not!

We need to beat Argentina consistently to gain their respect. I do not think Ireland or Bulgaria for instance will ever disrespect Nigeria.

1naija wrote:I doubt seriously that Di Maria said this. No active professional player blames a loss on the absence of a particular player. I can understand such statement if Messi was red-carded and they were forced to play short-handed. I will bet one bottle of Johnnywalker from my stash :taunt: :mad: that Di Maria NEVER gave this interview!

He did. Marutimon provided the Argentinian source of the interview. It was a general statement that they struggle when Messi is not available. Not that they lost to Nigeria because he was away.

Translate this in chrome.

Oya make i pm you my address for the Johnny? :taunt:
**1naija pulls an IAG ..refuses to pay his bet .. clutches on his bottle of JW like a running back holds football and runs away**