City lose Sane for 7 weeks and want to spend 60m to replace

Re: City lose Sane for 7 weeks and want to spend 60m to repl

Wasn't he already on the transfer list?
danfo driver wrote: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Do you believe what Yaya says? The guy is obsessed with Guardiola. You should know better than to follow him down that rabbit hole

Bottom line is Pep has played a unique brand of football wherever he is gone. He's the most successful coach in our era. So to attribute his success at City to money only is short sighted. The bottom line is every major team needs some level of financial resources to succeed. Even your beloved Spuds wouldn't be where it is without spending a lotta money in addition to having a very good coach.
pajimoh wrote:So with my "k leg" analogy you admit that money got him the players to help him achieve his style of game? The question is - without the money would he still be able to play the football you're drooling over?

Another question, having lots of money to overload the bench and even be able to spend close to 50m on a replacement for an injured player, what is the advantage of that compared to other teams in the EPL who cannot do the same when their key players suffer long term injury?

The bottom line is, why you might be appreciative of his style of play, he had to spend heavily for QUICK success. It is not a crime to spend the money you have, what we disagree with is you pretending as I money is not a factor in his current success with Man City.
The very existence of Man City at the top of English football is as a result of new found wealth

YUJAM wrote:I dunno about your K Leg analogy. But what is clear is no team plays football like Pep's teams play. The
movement, passing and tactical variety has never been seen before. Money will get you the players but you still have to coach teams and we've seen many including Moitingo, Ancelotyi and others get expensive players and fail to produce like Pep.

YUJAM wrote:See obsession. Pep does his talking with the football his team plays in the field. No amount of money can buy that.
Try and be sincere or logical once in a while. He's not managing Burnley or another club on Burnley's budget.

It's like spending money on the best cars and saying it has no bearing on performance. Most of the top clubs have money to buy the best. It gives them a better chance of siccess

I love Pep...

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Cally wrote:I love Pep...

:biggrin:

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

That famed City Academy

But in all fairness, who isn't spending heavily for the success it's believed to confer? Did United need Sanchez? Ferguson's rule of four was already satisfied, Romelu, Rashford, Martial, Zlatan...but alas, Alexis arrived. Come the summer, more will come. Perhaps then the difference is what certain managers are getting out of the pounds they've parted with. Leroy Sane has been sterling and the latter, unplayable. Of his own purchases, Stones is hit and miss, Walker has done well, Ederson the same. Bernardo, who knows. Have United got enough from Lukaku? Beloved, Lacazette? Chelsea, Morata, Bakayoko. T'is one thing to spend the money and another to make it fit and function. Had the privilege of attending the Nou Camp on Sunday, Coutinho put in, arguably his worst performance as a professional, struggling to make any indentation in the soil even. Valverde played him in a free-role within which he was as productive as a barren uterus. T'is one thing to spend the money and another to make it fit and function.

Pep can bring in Mahrez, there's no guarantee it'll work, no guarantee it adds to the team ethic, case in point, Asprilla's arrival on Tyneside. With the way the game is going, youth teams will fast become obsolete, if they're not Mbappes, on the grand scale, they're nobodies and will need upgrading. Sanchez, case in point, thats Rashford back to the bench. Aubeymeyang, that's reduced game time for Iwobi potentially. It is what it is. Nowadays players are given the slenderest of stages to put on the biggest of performances. Anything short of an Oscar, is irrelevant.

Spot on Coach.

These days young players do not get given much of a chance (except at places like Southampton and Spurs) and will get dropped from the team and banished if they do not hit the ground running with 9/10 performances. Lest we forget: Man Utd's famed "Class of 92" got battered 1-3 by Aston Villa in their first game. They and Ferguson got slaughtered by the press and Alan Hansen made his infamous "you will never win anything with kids" comment. Yet Ferguson persevered with them because he knew they would improve with experience.

These days can you imagine Man City, Chelsea, or Liverpool putting 5 teenagers into their starting 11? It would never happen. This is why talented youngsters like Ake, Solanke, Chalobah, Loftus-Cheek, Abraham, Tuanzebe etc are playing reserve team football or being sent on loan. EPL managers do not want to take a chance with youth. Look how Man Utd lost Pogba, Michael Keane, Drinkwater, Heaton, and half of Leicester's title winning team because they would not give them a game. Yet Spurs became a title contender and Champions League club when they put Rose, Alli, Kane, Dier, Winks etc straight into their first team.

Chelsea released brilliant young players like Lukaku, De Bruyne, and Matic because they were not patient enough to wait for them to learn and grow. Those guys have turned out to be some of the best players in Europe.

YUJAM wrote:I dunno about your K Leg analogy. But what is clear is no team plays football like Pep's teams play. The
movement, passing and tactical variety has never been seen before. Money will get you the players but you still have to coach teams and we've seen many including Moitingo, Ancelotyi and others get expensive players and fail to produce like Pep.

YUJAM wrote:See obsession. Pep does his talking with the football his team plays in the field. No amount of money can buy that.
Try and be sincere or logical once in a while. He's not managing Burnley or another club on Burnley's budget.

It's like spending money on the best cars and saying it has no bearing on performance. Most of the top clubs have money to buy the best. It gives them a better chance of siccess
Then you dont watch much football outside Man City. Napoli for instance plays better football. Not as much fanfare and not the same level of players as they dont have money to throw around. But their football is higher.

pajimoh wrote:So with my "k leg" analogy you admit that money got him the players to help him achieve his style of game? The question is - without the money would he still be able to play the football you're drooling over?

Another question, having lots of money to overload the bench and even be able to spend close to 50m on a replacement for an injured player, what is the advantage of that compared to other teams in the EPL who cannot do the same when their key players suffer long term injury?

The bottom line is, why you might be appreciative of his style of play, he had to spend heavily for QUICK success. It is not a crime to spend the money you have, what we disagree with is you pretending as I money is not a factor in his current success with Man City.
The very existence of Man City at the top of English football is as a result of new found wealth

Using your k-leg car analogy, unlike Pep Boys, the guy doesn't pretend like he can service Kia's and Honda's, he's an up scale mechanic, give him your expensive machine he will give you one ridiculous bill for spare parts but you will be winning every race you enter. Unlike your previous mechanics that will bill you just to be in top 5 spot but never the winner. :taunt:

Abi! :lol: :lol: :lol: Tell me about it! Go to luxury car repair and dem no dey repair parts! Na replacement! :lol: :lol: :lol:

YUJAM wrote:Do you believe what Yaya says? The guy is obsessed with Guardiola. You should know better than to follow him down that rabbit hole

Bottom line is Pep has played a unique brand of football wherever he is gone. He's the most successful coach in our era. So to attribute his success at City to money only is short sighted. The bottom line is every major team needs some level of financial resources to succeed. Even your beloved Spuds wouldn't be where it is without spending a lotta money in addition to having a very good coach.

Prove it!

Danfo:
You cannot fight excellence. ThiefCo tried and had to go into self exile. Don't make the same mistake
As a manager, Guardiola has won 22 trophies since the start of his managing career, making him one of the most successful managers in world football. Guardiola also holds the record for the most consecutive league wins in La Liga, Bundesliga and the Premier League.[nb 1][12] He is considered by a number of players, coaches, and commentators to be one of the best managers in the world.[13][14][15]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pep_Guardiola

Yeah right. Perhaps when you wear you blinkered anti-Pep glasses.

I watched more footie than you when I sent you VHS and DVDs and I still have access to any games I want. I prefer La Liga but do watch Serie A games. Guardiola's teams play a style that is unmatched by anyone.

Then you dont watch much football outside Man City. Napoli for instance plays better football. Not as much fanfare and not the same level of players as they dont have money to throw around. But their football is higher.

YUJAM wrote:Danfo:
You cannot fight excellence. ThiefCo tried and had to go into self exile. Don't make the same mistake
As a manager, Guardiola has won 22 trophies since the start of his managing career, making him one of the most successful managers in world football. Guardiola also holds the record for the most consecutive league wins in La Liga, Bundesliga and the Premier League.[nb 1][12] He is considered by a number of players, coaches, and commentators to be one of the best managers in the world.[13][14][15]
You said he was THE MOST successful. Now, you say he is ONE OF THE MOST successful. Please, make up your mind. Which one is it? Another coach in the same City has won more than 22 trophies. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

23 trophies with six more years of coaching. :thumbs: Okay..
You said he was THE MOST successful. Now, you say he is ONE OF THE MOST successful. Please, make up your mind. Which one is it? Another coach in the same City has won more than 22 trophies. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

25 trophies, you mean? :thumbs:

YUJAM wrote:23 trophies with six more years of coaching. :thumbs: Okay..

i'm in exile?

ok o. but the fact remains, your hero has not brought anyone from the City Academy.

Pep has win twice as many trophies since 2008. Most of Mou's trophies were won pre-2008, at least 12. His output has dropped since then

danfo driver wrote:25 trophies, you mean? :thumbs:

Yes you had to go because of the humble pies you had to ingest mostly through your own obdurate behavior. BTW I am not a fan boy of Pep. I just appreciate folks who take their jobs to a higher level. Remember you cannot fight excellence. You will always look bad when you do this.

i'm in exile?

ok o. but the fact remains, your hero has not brought anyone from the City Academy.

Sure.

Mourinho won 3 trophies last season. How many did Pep win last season? :lol: :lol:
YUJAM wrote:Pep has win twice as many trophies since 2008. Most of Mou's trophies were won pre-2008, at least 12. His output has dropped since then

danfo driver wrote:25 trophies, you mean? :thumbs:

Pep and money. His success is clearly built on money.

**Shakes Head**

YUJAM wrote:Do you believe what Yaya says? The guy is obsessed with Guardiola. You should know better than to follow him down that rabbit hole

How much money has Spurs spent compared to its rivals? Man City has comfortably outspent anyone else this year. United / Chelsea might give it a close run but City would surely trump. City's success is built on money!

You're skating around the issue a d making it "Pep's style of play" debate. I'm not discussing his style of play or his achievements but rather the benefit of having the resources to institute your ideas and in that Pep has no worries.
Again, I'm not saying having money is bad but Pep has manged his career and gone from clubs where resources will not be an issue.
If Pep had been around about 15 years ago, he would not have been at City. City's emergence as a force came with Middle East money, just like PSG.
City are able to put a 50m player on the bench and still pay his wages when most of the EPL teams struggle to even have a 50m player in the first team, talk less of the bench.
His ability to buy the best for each position has helped him a great deal