Joel Obi updates!

Re: Joel Obi updates!

After JJ okocha, Joel Obi is the most skillful Nigeria midfielder that’s still playing. If he is fit, I would gladly support the coach calling him up to access if his good enough for the World Cup. Also, barring his injury antecedents it’s kind of risky taking him to the World Cup because he can just drop injured after one game. Anyway, whatever rohr does in reference to Obi i am in support

Decent showing from Joel this afternoon. Withdrawn after 77 minutes after his team went a goal down.

The YeyeMan wrote:Decent showing from Joel this afternoon. Withdrawn after 77 minutes after his team went a goal down.
Watched the game. IMHO, nothing changed -- Obi can ball and he deserves a call up.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The YeyeMan wrote:Decent showing from Joel this afternoon. Withdrawn after 77 minutes after his team went a goal down.
Watched the game. IMHO, nothing changed -- Obi can ball and he deserves a call up.
:thumb:

This is only player that didnt participate in the World Cup qualifiers that I would support his call up due to the following: he is an exceptional player, has international experience, plays in Italy, would add value to the Eagles. It should be noted that he has a poor injury record and therefore would have to be managed carefully if called up.

I watched today's game and i think Obi is good but nothing has convinced me we should take him to the world cup.

He covers ground and is good in the transition from defense to attack. I don't think he tackles as well as Onazi. He seems to chase after the ball while doing very little in the sense of tackling. His decision making in the attacking phase is also not as good as Etebo's. He is good but we don't have a midfield weakness and he is injury-prone. Still a no from me.

niyi wrote:I watched today's game and i think Obi is good but nothing has convinced me we should take him to the world cup.

He covers ground and is good in the transition from defense to attack. I don't think he tackles as well as Onazi. He seems to chase after the ball while doing very little in the sense of tackling. His decision making in the attacking phase is also not as good as Etebo's. He is good but we don't have a midfield weakness and he is injury-prone. Still a no from me.

You are trying too hard bro...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

john12 wrote:After JJ okocha, Joel Obi is the most skillful Nigeria midfielder that’s still playing. If he is fit, I would gladly support the coach calling him up to access if his good enough for the World Cup. Also, barring his injury antecedents it’s kind of risky taking him to the World Cup because he can just drop injured after one game. Anyway, whatever rohr does in reference to Obi i am in support
Do you think Belgium are making the same deductions regarding Vincent Kompany or is he a shoo-in if he remains fit?

Damunk, me personally I would take Obi based on previous performances for SE. however, whatever decision the coach chooses to do in regards to Obi I would respect it

niyi wrote:I watched today's game and i think Obi is good but nothing has convinced me we should take him to the world cup.

You dey mind the mugu

9jaMan wrote:

You dey mind the mugu
I know right, no one is saying he must start but he could give us depth and his club performances have earned him the right to at least be called up for assessment.

Thank you sir. The Obi of today is not the same one of 5 years ago. He just doesn't do enough for me and his best position is still a mystery. I will stick to Mikel, Ndidi, Onazi, Ogu and Etebo. Shehu too can play in midfield.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

john12 wrote:After JJ okocha, Joel Obi is the most skillful Nigeria midfielder that’s still playing. If he is fit, I would gladly support the coach calling him up to access if his good enough for the World Cup. Also, barring his injury antecedents it’s kind of risky taking him to the World Cup because he can just drop injured after one game. Anyway, whatever rohr does in reference to Obi i am in support
Do you think Belgium are making the same deductions regarding Vincent Kompany or is he a shoo-in if he remains fit?
Another one done pay you money? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Lilly, remember that he plays in the toughest league compared to all those midfielders you mentioned except ndidi and has scored 5 goals this season. I would take obi over Mikel Agu but whatever the coach decides I’m supporting. No one is bigger than the country

john12 wrote:Damunk, me personally I would take Obi based on previous performances for SE. however, whatever decision the coach chooses to do in regards to Obi I would respect it
Agent!

Pavarotti

Post by Pavarotti »

Joel Obi: The Phoenix Rises

The toils of yesterday fade once more . . . .

Perhaps the most talked about issue in Nigerian football presently is the speculated and well received news of Joel Obis impending return to the National team

The 26 year old ex Inter Milan players name has been making the rounds . . . http://www.soccerassembly.com/joel-obi-phoenix-rises/

Re: Joel Obi injured again !!!!!

icee wrote:obi subbed for Moretti at 60 something minutes and i'm out!.
62 to be fair,I think he does a good shift and needs to be preserved,I would like to see him play for Nigeria again.

Me too! I look forward to having him join us in September, as we start qualifications for the Nations Cup! :clap:
danfo, nna, how far? Christmas has come early. :D

I can guess which one is you. :D

so happy for our Joel 8-)

Re: Joel Obi injured again !!!!!

icee wrote:obi subbed for Moretti at 60 something minutes and i'm out!.
62 to be fair,I think he does a good shift and needs to be preserved,I would like to see him play for Nigeria again.

Me too! I look forward to having him join us in September, as we start qualifications for the Nations Cup! :clap:
danfo, nna, how far? Christmas has come early. :D

I can guess which one is you. :D

E come o! Na me dey back there behind Zee, with her big yansh! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote:so happy for our Joel 8-)

God willing, he stays heathy. That is my only worry.

Joel's invitation is well-deserved.

He is worthy of a call up and that’s obvious he’s a footballers footballer.