Joel Obi updates!

Re: Joel Obi injured again !!!!!

Joel Obi in action against Juventus in the Turin derby. Scores at half-time is 1-0 to Juventus and Joel has had a good first half breaking down Juve attacks. He almost got an assist but his team mate wasted the pass after he had beaten two players. On this evidence, if he stays fit, he will be in the WC squad.

vancity eagle wrote:subbed off today for Torino in the 37 minute. :sad:

Please change the title o, my client Joel Obi is not injured and he deserves a chance to fight for WC place. :thumbs:

Since Onyekuru got injured , it seems he is the only Nigerian player scoring goals on consistent basis. I kept wondering where will be the goals coming from during the World Cup. Most fans are having these unjustified sanguine feelings that Super Eagles will excell in the forthcoming World Cup tournament when none of our boys is consistently tearing the nets.

bully12 wrote:Since Onyekuru got injured , it seems he is the only Nigerian player scoring goals on consistent basis. I kept wondering where will be the goals coming from during the World Cup. Most fans are having these unjustified sanguine feelings that Super Eagles will excell in the forthcoming World Cup tournament when none of our boys is consistently tearing the nets.
lol The people who are not scoring consistently will have no choice but to score at the WC in the Nigerian shirt. SE is greater than the sum of its parts.

9jaMan wrote:

Please change the title o, my client Joel Obi is not injured and he deserves a chance to fight for WC place. :thumbs:
No he doesn't

pleaese thread change title to jOEL NOT INJURED AGAIN

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

9jaMan wrote:

No he doesn't
He doesn't deserve a chance to fight for a WC place?

Never knew you were this bitter. :D

9jaMan wrote:

No he doesn't

So I must be bitter to suggest he doesn't deserve to fight for a wc place? OK o.
Well if I was the coach, I would consider him for a place. There's no way Obi can be mentally up for the challenge B putting his whole body on the line for the team. Everytime he tackles and overstretches, his mind would B telling him not to overdo it. You can't suffer the amount of injuries he's suffered without mental scar. He need a year or more injury free to get back some mental stability.
Career wise, should Obi go to the wc and get injured, his club would not like it. Being injured on club duty is slightly more acceptable than on international duty. They would expect him to turn down a call to get himself right during the break.
Obi is a huge risk of a player space. It would amount to nothing more than 22 players plus one huge injury prone gamble

pajimoh wrote:So I must be bitter to suggest he doesn't deserve to fight for a wc place? OK o.

Well if I was the coach, I would consider him for a place. There's no way Obi can be mentally up for the challenge B putting his whole body on the line for the team. Everytime he tackles and overstretches, his mind would B telling him not to overdo it. You can't suffer the amount of injuries he's suffered without mental scar. He need a year or more injury free to get back some mental stability.
Career wise, should Obi go to the wc and get injured, his club would not like it. Being injured on club duty is slightly more acceptable than on international duty. They would expect him to turn down a call to get himself right during the break.
Obi is a huge risk of a player space. It would amount to nothing more than 22 players plus one huge injury prone gamble
Yes. You realise there's a difference between fighting for a place and getting place in the squad? Of course he deserves to fight for a place.

The rest of your post is guess work. What do you know about his mental stability?

No clubs like their players getting injured so there's nothing new there.

9jaMan wrote:

No he doesn't

So I must be bitter to suggest he doesn't deserve to fight for a wc place? OK o.
You make very valid points
Above all how can we trust his body not to breakdown again during the tournament
Of course all eligible Nigerian players are entitled to ‘fight for a place’
but in practice it is not possible to invite everybody
A line has to be drawn somewhere
that is the point of shortlists
Being injury prone is as good a reason as any to rule a player out of contention

pajimoh wrote:So I must be bitter to suggest he doesn't deserve to fight for a wc place? OK o.

Yes. You realise there's a difference between fighting for a place and getting place in the squad? Of course he deserves to fight for a place.

The rest of your post is guess work. What do you know about his mental stability?

Ol boy, when was the last time Obi was involved with the national setup?
When was the last time Obi played for Rohr?
When was the last time Obi played about 7 consecutive games for his club?
When was the last time Obi went a whole season injury free?

So you just want Obi invited to the SE, just like that - that easy to get invite eh?

The best thing we can do for Obi and Obi can do for Obi is to spend the summer break getting himself right for his career. I don't know when he's contract is due for renewal but an injury free Obi would help towards renewal of contract

So you just want Obi invited to the SE, just like that - that easy to get invite eh?

The best thing we can do for Obi and Obi can do for Obi is to spend the summer break getting himself right for his career. I don't know when he's contract is due for renewal but an injury free Obi would help towards renewal of contract
But the truth is he's playing at a higher level than almost all of our midfielders except for Ndidi, so its not like we are inviting someone from a backwater league, and he's been around the SE before so he's not a brand to national assignments.

But the truth is he's playing at a higher level than almost all of our midfielders except for Ndidi, so its not like we are inviting someone from a backwater league, and he's been around the SE before so he's not a brand to national Sassignments.
Higher level? How many games has he played in a calendar year? How many games has he played with the current SE team? How many months has he remained injury free?

Regardless of higher level or not, you expect Nigeria to play at least 3 games and more through the knockout stages. Has Obi got 3 full games in him right now?

But the truth is he's playing at a higher level than almost all of our midfielders except for Ndidi, so its not like we are inviting someone from a backwater league, and he's been around the SE before so he's not a brand to national assignments.
Plus if he's fit enough to play now then he's as fit as he will ever be. No need speculating "what if" he gets injured again.
He could get injured tomorrow or never again and waiting for a six-month injury-free period doesn't change that at all.

But the truth is he's playing at a higher level than almost all of our midfielders except for Ndidi, so its not like we are inviting someone from a backwater league, and he's been around the SE before so he's not a brand to national Sassignments.
Higher level? How many games has he played in a calendar year? How many games has he played with the current SE team? How many months has he remained injury free?

Regardless of higher level or not, you expect Nigeria to play at least 3 games and more through the knockout stages. Has Obi got 3 full games in him right now?
I'd want to believe Italian league is higher than Chinese, Turkish, and Isreali league where most of our midfielders are playing. Also, this has been his most active season of the last few years with about 20/21 games played (league and cup) so far with 5 total goals scored. Thats definitely not a bad return in a tougher league. We dont know how many full games he has unless we try him out and see.

Obi can be playing on the moon. I'm not arguing about his quality. Physically and possibly mentally, Obi is not reliable to give you blood and thunder in a highly competitive 3 group games. I'm going by his record in the last few years and not sentiments. When was the last time he completed a full game for his club and how many times and why?

Allow him to get a shot, I don’t think that’s asking for too much.

Plus if he's fit enough to play now then he's as fit as he will ever be. No need speculating "what if" he gets injured again.
He could get injured tomorrow or never again and waiting for a six-month injury-free period doesn't change that at all.
There's need to speculate because unfortunately he's injury prone. Any player can be injured but when you know one is more prone than most then you need to be mindful.

Please go and watch Obi's matches before you comment on his physical and mental state! Only yesterday, he was diving into tackles and winning balls against Juventus and I was afraid he will get hurt again. He did not duck from 50-50 balls and won more than his fair share of tackles. FYI, he has only been injured once this season despite some of the alarmist thread headlines on CE. He ticks all the right boxes for Rohr, he is just 26, quick, intelligent, good technique, versatile (DM, CM, AM &;LB) and experienced. If he stays fit, he will give Rohr a headache in his selection.
Last edited by Dammy on Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The YeyeMan wrote:So I must be bitter to suggest he doesn't deserve to fight for a wc place? OK o.

Please go and watch Obi's matches before you comment on his physical and mental state! Only yesterday, he was diving into tackles and winning balls against Juventus and I was afraid he will get hurt again. He did not duck from 50-50 balls and won more than his fair share of tackles. FYI, he has only been injured once this season despite some of the alarmist thread headlines on CE. He ticks all the right boxes for Rohr, he is just 26, quick, intelligent, good technique and experienced. If he stays fit, he will give Rohr a headache in his selection.[/quote]
Abeg stop ya noise. :tic: If you're afraid he'll get injured then how do you think the injury prone person himself soul feel? It is normal to have it in the back of your mind everytime you get on the field and you go into tackle. The best advice I can give Obi is to concentrate on himself and his career for now and the best advice I can give Rohr is to live him out for now.
Inviting him is saying he's got a chance. Let him be.
Re: Joel Obi updates!

Stop yarning opals! It is obvious you are afraid of Obi taking the place of one of your favourites in the SE squad. Put your sentiments aside and let Rohr pick the best 23 for Russia.

Dammy wrote:Stop yarning opals! It is obvious you are afraid of Obi taking the place of one of your favourites in the SE squad. Put your sentiments aside and let Rohr pick the best 23 for Russia.
No need to fault anyone saying that he is on the outside looking in.

However, he seems to have played his way to an invitation for the March friendlies according to Complete Sports. That would be huge for him, as I know that baring injury, he will impress.

With Joel Obi in the setup, I can almost confidently say that we only have one outfield position to fill, and that is a striker. There might be space for one or two more goalkeepers.

truetalk wrote:
Dammy wrote:Stop yarning opals! It is obvious you are afraid of Obi taking the place of one of your favourites in the SE squad. Put your sentiments aside and let Rohr pick the best 23 for Russia.
No need to fault anyone saying that he is on the outside looking in.

However, he seems to have played his way to an invitation for the March friendlies according to Complete Sports. That would be huge for him, as I know that baring injury, he will impress.

With Joel Obi in the setup, I can almost confidently say that we only have one outfield position to fill, and that is a striker. There might be space for one or two more goalkeepers.
I like him a lot but I'm afraid he'll get injured. Even Torino takes him off every 60-70 minutes...

Even if we concede that Joel is better than some of our players, it's foolish to take a marginally better player who gets injured after the second game.

He's not going to bench Mikel or Ndidi. I also don't think he has Onazi's tenacity and ability to hit through balls or Etebo's finishing and ability to carry the ball. What are his strengths?