Who else has noticed that Balogun is still out injured?

Has anyone else not noticed that since the resumption of the Bundesliga, Leon Balogun has remained out injured. He is not even named in match squads.

I just hope he recovers soon. Given that he is 29 we have to ask ourselves if he will be fit enough for the World Cup at the end of the season. Will he have the pace?

Unfortunately, Balogun is another player highly prone to injury, so we need to have a Plan B. Throughout the qualifiers he was out rock at the back but I am now worried about his fitness.

We saw Argentina give him a hard time and I trust Rohr would not have missed it either. If he was not fully fit during that game and is in a similar state come the World Cup, should Awaziem or Omeruo be considered as a replacement?
Re: Who else has noticed that Balogun is still out injured?

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Has anyone else not noticed that since the resumption of the Bundesliga, Leon Balogun has remained out injured. He is not even named in match squads.

I just hope he recovers soon. Given that he is 29 we have to ask ourselves if he will be fit enough for the World Cup at the end of the season. Will he have the pace?

Unfortunately, Balogun is another player highly prone to injury, so we need to have a Plan B. Throughout the qualifiers he was out rock at the back but I am now worried about his fitness.

We saw Argentina give him a hard time and I trust Rohr would not have missed it either. If he was not fully fit during that game and is in a similar state come the World Cup, should Awaziem or Omeruo be considered as a replacement?
Balogun is almost as bad as joel obi in terms of injury
you cannot count on him being fit throughout the world cup
Awaziem looks ok in a back 3 but in a flat back four i dont think he is good enough
Rohr needs to play Omeruo and Ekong together more often
Vindave

Post by Vindave »

Let's continue to pray for him and the rest of the players. May God grant him speedy recovery in Jesus name.
e de sweet me o! ga gaa!
e de paini you o! ga gaa!!
e sweet me o ga gaa, ga gaa!!

Against Argentina, our defence only really stabilised when Omeruo came on for Balogun. No doubt, Rohr is looking at things and will make decisions accordingly.

Yes it's a source of concern. When healthy Balogun is our most reliable defender. Wishing him speedy recovery, but honestly, I won't be surprised if Awazeim and Ekong start at the world cup. Balogun gets injured often. He's beginning to go the path of Joel Obi. Omeruo, Idowu, and Ambrose are other options at CB when Balogun is unavailable. Not sold on Uche Agbo.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Against Argentina, our defence only really stabilised when Omeruo came on for Balogun. No doubt, Rohr is looking at things and will make decisions accordingly.

Agents. Balogun will be ready for Russia. If he isn't we have sufficient cover for him. Nigeria has a good team and they play as a TEAM, which is even more important. Let's stop sounding false alarm. I know that's hard for agents to do, but let's try ....

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Against Argentina, our defence only really stabilised when Omeruo came on for Balogun. No doubt, Rohr is looking at things and will make decisions accordingly.
Agents. Balogun will be ready for Russia. If he isn't we have sufficient cover for him. Nigeria has a good team and they play as a TEAM, which is even more important. Let's stop sounding false alarm. I know that's hard for agents to do, but let's try ....
Oga 1Naija, so anyone who says anything (good or bad) about a player(s) is an agent? Just asking - bro!

If that person has previously suggested Efe Ambrose and Dele Aiyenugba, then the writing is on the wall. :roll:

Yes.

Ayo thinks Arsenal starter, Iwobi, should be dropped. And Arsenal loanee, Nwakali, who was a benchwarmer for a backyard team and had to be re-sent on loan to a div 2 team, should be selected.

And you people think Agents are not working over time???? Fear God abeg!

If that person has previously suggested Efe Ambrose and Dele Aiyenugba, then the writing is on the wall. :roll:
Hmm, ok! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by Odas on Sun Feb 04, 2018 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Yes.
Ok-oo!
miky

Post by miky »

Balogun probably gets injured because he seems to do a lot of dirty work, despite his lanky frame. i always notice he goes in for slides and tackle, he should reduce that for real.
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Has anyone else not noticed that since the resumption of the Bundesliga, Leon Balogun has remained out injured. He is not even named in match squads.

Are you sure he is injured or he is just not making the match day squad?

As we speak, Awaziem is still out injured too.these injuries are worrying!

smartbrother wrote: Balogun is almost as bad as joel obi in terms of injury
you cannot count on him being fit throughout the world cup
Awaziem looks ok in a back 3 but in a flat back four i dont think he is good enough
Rohr needs to play Omeruo and Ekong together more often
Awaziem has been out injured for past few weeks...

Even when fit, Balogun rarely gets into his club team's first 11.

Don't worry guys................CHAN defenders are more than ready for Russia :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:

That's a pretty simplistic analysis, as Omeruo was pretty shaky as well. That being said, the Argentina game was the worst I have ever seen Balogun play for Nigeria. The biggest thing that happened when he left was that Ekong took over. He ran the show...and ran it well. But between Balogun and Omeruo, can't really say who played better. I was left wondering what happened to both of them

deanotito wrote:
That's a pretty simplistic analysis, as Omeruo was pretty shaky as well. That being said, the Argentina game was the worst I have ever seen Balogun play for Nigeria. The biggest thing that happened when he left was that Ekong took over. He ran the show...and ran it well. But between Balogun and Omeruo, can't really say who played better. I was left wondering what happened to both of them
And was the Argentine game the first time we ever played 5 at the back? And did the coach and all the players not state categorically that the first half was very bad because they were confused with the tactic, as they were not used to it?

Please, lets not allow Ayo confuse us and we forget the truth. Omeruo came in in a second half, after the players had played 45 minutes + of that formation. And he came in during a second half after Aguero had been injured and substituted. And during a second half where we were in the ascendancy, and we were clearly more organized (after changes were made at half time).

Truth is Ayo's analysis is one that should be looked at and pushed to the side. Our defense was stabilized for many reasons, including the tactical change made by the coach at half-time and the replacement of Aina and Shehu was also a reason.

Omeruo will be lucky to get into the world cup squad. over the last one year, the coach had preferred Uche Agbo over him. I think he was even invited to the Argentina game based on someone's injury (?).

Idowu and Ambrose are also options at CB.

olu wrote:Idowu and Ambrose are also options at CB.
In September, yes, we await their help during the nations cup qualifiers. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Who else has noticed that Ayoakinfe is still starting junk threads?