Why foreign stars are leaving China

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:30 pm
by truetalk
- 100% luxury tax on transfer fee of foreign players for loss making clubs (pretty much all of them)

- Foreign Starters reduced from 4 to 3. If more than 3, you must have at least the same number of Chinese U-23 players.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/42954937

The imposition of a 100% transfer tax for overseas players - which the Chinese FA proposes to use to help the nation develop football at youth level - has led to a slowing down of clubs' transfer activities.

Diego Costa's mooted £64m move to Tianjin Quanjian was scuppered when the fee effectively doubled to £128m overnight because of the new tax.

Often viewed as dithering, and with the increasing number of overseas players in their top league, the Chinese FA acted in an effort to help homegrown players' opportunities.

"The starting foreign player quota was cut from four to three per club per match," says senior UK reporter for Xinhua news agency Wang Zijiang.

"Any team who fields foreign players must have the equivalent number of Chinese under-23 players on the pitch at the same time. This is to help improve the standard of Chinese players.

"Previously, the rule was to just have a Chinese under-23 player in the starting XI, but clubs got around that rule by substituting them as early 15 minutes into a game, which did nothing to help the young Chinese players' fragile confidence levels."

Re: Why foreign stars are leaving China

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:35 pm
by metalalloy
Good for them. They acted to protect their league and give their young players a chance to actually play and hopefully develop. These absurd transfers like the Tevez fiasco did not help them develop one bit.

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:41 pm
by truetalk
metalalloy wrote:Good for them. They acted to protect their league and give their young players a chance to actually play and hopefully develop. These absurd transfers like the Tevez fiasco did not help them develop one bit.
The funny thing is, we are paying ridiculous amounts in Nigeria as well to see foreign stars play.

It is estimated that DSTV pays about $20m for EPL rights to Nigeria. That is coming from Nigerian pockets.

We follow the Chinese and legistate that a portion of those funds should be in a trust to develop the Nigerian league. You can have the trust go towards things like pitches for all NPFL & NNL venues, and arrangements to get all matches on TV.

I am tired of shouting!

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:07 pm
by wale1974
Making China great again.....lol

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:42 pm
by deanotito
metalalloy wrote:Good for them. They acted to protect their league and give their young players a chance to actually play and hopefully develop. These absurd transfers like the Tevez fiasco did not help them develop one bit.
Actually don't think its a good move....they went too far in the other direction. Foreign players will help the local lads...yes, there is a point at which they become too many, but the luxury tax is too heavy handed.

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:39 pm
regardless of constantly playing 0tu players , that 0tu player no go improve.. if dem born you as 0tu player, nah so you go be , no matter the amount of minutes

dem know say nah akpere full ground so 15 mins sef nah levels

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:51 pm
by metalalloy
Bigpokey24 wrote:regardless of constantly playing 0tu players , that 0tu player no go improve.. if dem born you as 0tu player, nah so you go be , no matter the amount of minutes

dem know say nah akpere full ground so 15 mins sef nah levels

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:31 pm
by Cellular
truetalk wrote:
The funny thing is, we are paying ridiculous amounts in Nigeria as well to see foreign stars play.

It is estimated that DSTV pays about $20m for EPL rights to Nigeria. That is coming from Nigerian pockets.

We follow the Chinese and legistate that a portion of those funds should be in a trust to develop the Nigerian league. You can have the trust go towards things like pitches for all NPFL & NNL venues, and arrangements to get all matches on TV.

I am tired of shouting!
Please continue to shout.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:27 pm
by walesvilla
Please can anyone advise when the 2018 season starts in China- can not find this info anywhere online- because all i see Mikel and Ighalo posting this days Are just fitness and training pictures on Instagram