Page 1 of 2

Barca are the best team in Europe - Case Closed

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:45 pm
by charlie
Every time I watch this team, I shake my head in envy.

They've corrected all their weaknesses from last year (in fact they have the best rated defense in Europe to date). They are undefeated in La Liga all season, and they score with abandon, even against the stingiest defenses. Suarez is on fire all season long and is the best forward in Europe right now.

Chelsea fans should be quaking in their boots for next week, because if Watford can score 4 goals against that defense, only god knows how many they will chop against Barca.

Anything can happen in the champions league, but I havent seen the team that can beat Barca over 2 matches, yet.

Re: Barca are the best team in Europe - Case Closed

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:47 pm
by marutimon
Famous last words? They have no competition in Spain with Athletico rebuilding and Real Madrid unravelling.

We'll see how they do vs Chelsea...

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:51 pm
by charlie
marutimon wrote:Famous last words? They have no competition in Spain with Athletico rebuilding and Real Madrid unravelling.

No competition ke? Ma mi, watch la liga. Its rated the best league in the world for a reason.
Just because they are making pros look like secondary school footballers, does not mean they are not legit scary.

Barring injury or wayo, Chelsea have zero hope. I don talk am.

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:02 pm
by Tobi17
La Liga is getting watered down now, the skill gap between clubs like Barca and the rest is so wide that it's almost non competitive, save for Athletico Madrid and brave displays from the likes of Levante, Bilbao, Sevilla... La Liga just like the Ligue 1 is just one route football with Barca hemming it all... at least till RM get their acts together.

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:18 pm
by Coach
Was at the Nou Camp a few weeks back, vs. Alaves, had Barca lost by 2 or 3, it wouldn't have been a shock on the basis of that display. It will come as no surprise if, at the appointed time, they're dispatched in the Champions league.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:21 am
by YUJAM
That's nonsense. There is virtually no difference between La Liga and EPL tables

If anything the gap between teams in La Liga is lessening because of better revenue sharing arrangements
Tobi17 wrote:La Liga is getting watered down now, the skill gap between clubs like Barca and the rest is so wide that it's almost non competitive, save for Athletico Madrid and brave displays from the likes of Levante, Bilbao, Sevilla... La Liga just like the Ligue 1 is just one route football with Barca hemming it all... at least till RM get their acts together.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:39 am
by marutimon
charlie wrote:
marutimon wrote:Famous last words? They have no competition in Spain with Athletico rebuilding and Real Madrid unravelling.

No competition ke? Ma mi, watch la liga. Its rated the best league in the world for a reason.
Just because they are making pros look like secondary school footballers, does not mean they are not legit scary.

Its the best league because Barca, Real and Athletico are bringing in the points.

But EPL is stronger this season: 5 teams out of 5 made the CL playoff stage with 4 teams topping their group, while only 3 out of 4 La Liga teams qualified further with only 1 team topping their group.

Not the best year to prove La Liga is no 1...

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:44 am
by YUJAM
Sorry but nonsense. I guess Barca, Atleti and Real are the reason why La Liga is ahead by a country mile in UEFA rankings? :roll:

Nah, rather it has to do with lower rated teams in La Liga winning the Europa League or getting very far. Teams like Villarreall, Sevilla, Espanyol and Celta have all gone as far as the final in recent years. In fact, for three consecutive years, La Liga teams swept both competitions. I remember Sevilla, no 10 in La Liga for that year, disgracing Liverpool

marutimon wrote:
charlie wrote:

Its the best league because Barca, Real and Athletico are bringing in the points.

But EPL is stronger this season: 5 teams out of 5 made the CL playoff stage with 4 teams topping their group, while only 3 out of 4 La Liga teams qualified further with only 1 team topping their group.

Not the best year to prove La Liga is no 1...

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:34 am
by okidoki
More people watch the championship, than the Laliga. The quality of these leagues, will surely catch up with the hype. They will attract the best, the world has to offer. Wolves is already spending more money, than some Laliga top six teams.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:06 am
by YUJAM
Where did you get those numbers? :rotf:

okidoki wrote:More people watch the championship, than the Laliga. The quality of these leagues, will surely catch up with the hype. They will attract the best, the world has to offer. Wolves is already spending more money, than some Laliga top six teams.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:12 am
by anointed
YUJAM wrote:That's nonsense. There is virtually no difference between La Liga and EPL tables

If anything the gap between teams in La Liga is lessening because of better revenue sharing arrangements
Tobi17 wrote:La Liga is getting watered down now, the skill gap between clubs like Barca and the rest is so wide that it's almost non competitive, save for Athletico Madrid and brave displays from the likes of Levante, Bilbao, Sevilla... La Liga just like the Ligue 1 is just one route football with Barca hemming it all... at least till RM get their acts together.
Better than what/where?

If anything, the gap in La Liga is worse this season.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:59 am
by YUJAM
It would help if you were current on this one

http://www.totalsportek.com/football/sp ... ize-money/
anointed wrote:
YUJAM wrote:That's nonsense. There is virtually no difference between La Liga and EPL tables

Better than what/where?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 6:37 am
by anointed
YUJAM wrote:It would help if you were current on this one

anointed wrote:

Better than what/where?

From your link:
However, Real Madrid and Barcelona are both set to keep their usual earnings under the new system as well.
But the new deal has a clause where Real Madrid and Barcelona won’t take any hit in their TV rights revenue enabling them continue earning in the region of €140 million a per.
The question remains unanswered: Better than what/where?

Cypriot or Icelandic Leagues, for instance?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:26 am
by YUJAM
I am sure reading the article at link will answer the questions you have
anointed wrote:
YUJAM wrote:It would help if you were current on this one

anointed wrote:

Better than what/where?

From your link:
However, Real Madrid and Barcelona are both set to keep their usual earnings under the new system as well.
But the new deal has a clause where Real Madrid and Barcelona won’t take any hit in their TV rights revenue enabling them continue earning in the region of €140 million a per.
The question remains unanswered: Better than what/where?

Cypriot or Icelandic Leagues, for instance?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:00 pm
by okidoki
YUJAM wrote:Where did you get those numbers? :rotf:

okidoki wrote:More people watch the championship, than the Laliga. The quality of these leagues, will surely catch up with the hype. They will attract the best, the world has to offer. Wolves is already spending more money, than some Laliga top six teams.

https://www.google.com/amp/www.bbc.co.u ... l/42704713

There are more resources, if you bother to check. Like I predicted before the influx of some of the worlds best coaches into the EPL. A time will come, when playing in the championship will be celebrated like it’s the Laliga or calcio...Money is key...

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:11 pm
by Kabalega
Yujam, you've got time.

You only need to watch the footie on the green grass.
Spain based teams are levels ahead. The passing, dribbling, shots are exquisite.

Barca was lucky not to concede 2 goals yesterday and were not even that sharp in the final third.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:28 pm
by YUJAM
Most watched at stadiums vs most watched - Spot the difference?

Anyway there ar more factors to a quality league than money.
okidoki wrote:

There are more resources, if you bother to check. Like I predicted before the influx of some of the worlds best coaches into the EPL. A time will come, when playing in the championship will be celebrated like it’s the Laliga or calcio...Money is key...

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:28 pm
by txj
Kabalega wrote:Yujam, you've got time.

Spain based teams are levels ahead. The passing, dribbling, shots are exquisite.

Barca was lucky not to concede 2 goals yesterday and were not even that sharp in the final third.

There's a reason I call these people EPL fans and not football fans.

Not only do they not know, do not bother to, and actually are repulsed by proper football. Can you imagine someone actually hyping the English championship?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:44 pm
by YUJAM
It would be funny if it weren't so sad.
Kabalega wrote:Yujam, you've got time.

There's a reason I call these people EPL fans and not football fans.

Not only do they not know, do not bother to, and actually are repulsed by proper football. Can you imagine someone actually hyping the English championship?

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:19 pm
by cchinukw
okidoki wrote:More people watch the championship, than the Laliga. The quality of these leagues, will surely catch up with the hype. They will attract the best, the world has to offer. Wolves is already mispending more money, than some Laliga top six teams.
Fixed.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:27 pm
by blueangel
charlie wrote:Every time I watch this team, I shake my head in envy.

They've corrected all their weaknesses from last year (in fact they have the best rated defense in Europe to date). They are undefeated in La Liga all season, and they score with abandon, even against the stingiest defenses. Suarez is on fire all season long and is the best forward in Europe right now.

Chelsea fans should be quaking in their boots for next week, because if Watford can score 4 goals against that defense, only god knows how many they will chop against Barca.

Anything can happen in the champions league, but I havent seen the team that can beat Barca over 2 matches, yet.

I agree about Barca.
I said it i believe 7 yrs ago on this site.
They have an awesome system and are very good in all departments of the game.
Every player on the team sabi handle ball well.
Only way to ever defeat them is with your A+ Game till the final whistle.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:47 pm
by okidoki
YUJAM wrote:Most watched at stadiums vs most watched - Spot the difference?

Anyway there ar more factors to a quality league than money.
okidoki wrote:

I’m not arguing that with you, just letting you know at one point money will lift the average to class. Case in point countries like Kenya and South Africa achieving more than their natural talent due to better leagues. :taunt:

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:57 pm
by kajifu
blueangel wrote:
charlie wrote:Every time I watch this team, I shake my head in envy.

I agree about Barca.
I said it i believe 7 yrs ago on this site.
They have an awesome system and are very good in all departments of the game.
Every player on the team sabi handle ball well.
Only way to ever defeat them is with your A+ Game till the final whistle.
Barca when Messi is gone they will be an average good team like the rest.
They will be knock out this CL when face with better teams in Europe