MANU GARBA: On Foreign-based as he prepares U17....

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:45 pm
by Enugu II
Manu Garba Speaks On Chances Of Nigerian Players Born Abroad Making His U17 Team, Open Screening
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2018/02/15/ma ... screening/
February 15, 2018025

Reappointed coach of the Nigeria U17 team Manu Garba has given his views on players eligible for his team where born abroad, and want to represent Nigeria ahead of their country of birth.

Lot of Nigerian lads born abroad are scattered around the academies of top teams in Europe, and with the recent drive by coach of the senior national team of Nigeria Gernot Rohr in luring players born abroad, Manu says he is ready to tow same line.

Speaking to Owngoalnigeria.com in an exclusive interview, the soft spoken coach however outlined conditions they must meet if they want to be part of his U17 team, who are set to resume camping soon.

” We are ready to receive players born abroad who are eligible to play for Nigeria and want to play. You can’t deny them their fundamental right. As a coach I have had some of them in the past. Like Ovie Ejaria at Liverpool “, the coach told Owngoalnigeria.com.

” But I will like to state here that they won’t be giving any preferential treatment ‎, and they have to be better than the players we have in the team. Merit will be out watchword not where you’re coming from”.

On the issue of scouting of players for the team who are expected to play their first qualifiers in April, the coach said he has done most of what he need to do, hence they won’t be any need for open screening like he has always done in time past.

” Our first qualifiers is in April, hence we don’t have enough time to conduct an open screening. If you throw the gate open, you will say over 2,000 players in attendance. It’s not a bad idea, it has worked for us before but now we don’t have time.

” As a team we have pencilled down players who the commencement of training. I have been very busy touring Nigeria for eligible players, my assistants have also done their own bit. So we will harmonise our list before we start training hopefully later this month”, the coach concluded.

Re: MANU GARBA: On Foreign-based as he prepares U17....

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:23 pm
by oloye
They should leave foreign based out of the u17 ...

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:41 pm
by pajimoh
o time to conduct screening is a big risk. Potential over 17 risk and mass failure of scan, resulting in fresh recruitment. The screening ever learn should have been factored in before the first qualifier. We

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:07 pm
by metalalloy
” We are ready to receive players born abroad who are eligible to play for Nigeria and want to play. You can’t deny them their fundamental right. As a coach I have had some of them in the past. Like Ovie Ejaria at Liverpool “, the coach told Owngoalnigeria.com.
Playing is not a right, but i agree with the sentiment :clap:

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:17 pm
by 1naija
oloye wrote:They should leave foreign based out of the u17 ...

Since they are not Nigerians abi?

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:01 am
by oloye

Go and drink your ogogoro my friend. The whole point of the u17 is for development of players....most u17 foreign players are operating at a much higher level. Bringing them down not only adds to the overhead cost of running football by nff.....it also stiffles the opportunity for home grown talent to blossom.

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:08 am
by 1naija

Go and drink your ogogoro my friend. The whole point of the u17 is for development of players....most u17 foreign players are operating at a much higher level. Bringing them down not only adds to the overhead cost of running football by nff.....it also stiffles the opportunity for home grown talent to blossom.
Thats archaic backward mentality. Some kids want to represent their country, so who are you to say who should or who shouldn't because of where they were born? Thank God Manu does not hold such archaic mindset.

Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:20 am
by Cmoke
Manu's openly reveals a discriminatory policy against foreign born Naija players and una no complain.

If dem say, for you Naija born to get the job, you have to prove that you are better than our own native born, no be discrimination be that?