Chelsea 1 vs 1 Barcelona(Willian, Messi)

Re: Chelsea 1 vs 1 Barcelona(Willian, Messi)

platinum wrote:I tell you what, Victor Moses has been masterful today.

The space of the Nou Camp will be a different story I suspect but Chelsea have held their own today.
Still fancy them. Esp if he stays fit.
You're a bolder man than me. That space of the Nou Camp is no joke. It'll mean these two fullbacks and Kante/Cesc MUST work even harder. I don't think Barcelona have played well at all today yet it's 1-1. Can they replicate today's strategy? I am not so sure. Three weeks is a long time though so maybe.

FT 1-1. GREAT game. Barca played poorly and yet got the result they wanted.
No be me wey go follow Waffiman miss road. As I said, the bobo has clearly not been following Europe's best team closely this season.
Not saying Chelsea cannot pull it off, but men, it will take a miracle at this point.

danfo driver wrote:Chelsea can’t afford to go to nou camp with 1-1 sha and an away goal against, at that. That’s stadium is huge and their pressing is not going to work there.

Anyway, wetin concern me.
That's the point I'm just making to Waffiman. There were a few passes Barca tried today that didnt come off because of the smaller stadium. Chelsea have succeeded in Barcelona before though so maybe they can do it again. That away goal complicates matters for them. They can't simply sit all game as they have done before.

metalalloy wrote:What a game. Cant wait for round two!

charlie wrote:Honestly, I still think Conte is the man of the match.
His Strategy for this game was amazing and almost worked. Just one bad mistake, and this Barca team dont miss many mistakes.

Advantage Barcelona. Back to the drawing board for Chelsea. They will need a magical performance to pull out a win in the Nou camp.
What's Barcelonas home record against Chelsea? Let's start from there before tipping the odds in their favor...
If they resign Mikelele, I will reserve the right to change my mind.
Till then,...3 weeks is a long time and anything fit happen.

1-1 is not ideal but still alive...
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

toyin133 wrote:At least Chelsea now know that they can go toe to toe with Barca

Bros, it was 27 / 73 ball possession on the night. More like toe to knee.

Ha, I forgot, Chelsea allowed Barca to have the ball.
Chelsea were controlled in defense and yes they allowed Barca to have the ball in non threatening areas
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower

metalalloy wrote:What a game. Cant wait for round two!
Midget did you even watch the tactical aspect of the game? How many teams can play an open game against Barca and not slaughtered lol, we matched them toe to toe and had the better chances, very much in tactical command of the game for the first larger part of the game.

We no be Man U wey go pass bus and still be useless at what they do best.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

The space of the Nou Camp will be a different story I suspect but Chelsea have held their own today.
You're a bolder man than me. That space of the Nou Camp is no joke. It'll mean these two fullbacks and Kante/Cesc MUST work even harder. I don't think Barcelona have played well at all today yet it's 1-1. Can they replicate today's strategy? I am not so sure. Three weeks is a long time though so maybe.

Chelsea's best players, William, Rudiger and Victor Moses. Now they need Hazard in the Nou Camp and they will be in the next round.

The spaces at the Nou Camp works for Chelsea too. Barca's with the ageing Iniesta are not the same team.
Add Ngolo Kante to the best today. That small Energizer Bunny was everywhere today. At least THREE times he was leading the counter after breaking up play in his own half only for Willian to fall to pass to him. Barca targeted Hazard for some major kicking :lol: :lol: :lol:

I agree on Iniesta. Add Paulinho and Rakitic. That midfield didnt really handle this game well. Slow, predictable, and static.

VM really warmed my heart today, outstanding display.

Enjoyed the game.

Chelski took advantage of their small pitch to restrict the space available to Barcelona.

Love to see how they will line-up for the return fixture.

Chelski can claim they deserved better from this game as the had the better chances.

Christensen would have learned from this game. Hopefully.

VM had a very good game defensively,all else na somebori else’s palava :thumbs:

Okay so the first English team (Everton doesn't count smart arses) out of Europe has been confirmed ...ok just checking :rotf: :rotf:

Respect.

I always liked Willian.

Last edited by Nkume on Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu
Chriskendo43

Post by Chriskendo43 »

Can man united sand toe to toe with Barca

Chelsea's best players, William, Rudiger and Victor Moses. Now they need Hazard in the Nou Camp and they will be in the next round.

The spaces at the Nou Camp works for Chelsea too. Barca's with the ageing Iniesta are not the same team.
Add Ngolo Kante to the best today. That small Energizer Bunny was everywhere today. At least THREE times he was leading the counter after breaking up play in his own half only for Willian to fall to pass to him. Barca targeted Hazard for some major kicking :lol: :lol: :lol:

I agree on Iniesta. Add Paulinho and Rakitic. That midfield didnt really handle this game well. Slow, predictable, and static.

Agreed that Kante had a very good game. Willian is the obvious man of the match.
Thought Vicmo had a slightly above average game. Good with his defensive responsibility and pressing. Below average with his offensive game.
Decent game from him.

Glad if anyone was to make a mistake it was Christensen... his overall good play allows him the luxury of an error now and then

Tobi17 wrote: Midget did you even watch the tactical aspect of the game? How many teams can play an open game against Barca and not slaughtered lol, we matched them toe to toe and had the better chances, very much in tactical command of the game for the first larger part of the game.

We no be Man U wey go pass bus and still be useless at what they do best.
sorry o

na tactics wey make you score dem 1-1 advantage Chelsea. Abeg o

toyin133 wrote:
toyin133 wrote:At least Chelsea now know that they can go toe to toe with Barca

Bros, it was 27 / 73 ball possession on the night. More like toe to knee.

Ha, I forgot, Chelsea allowed Barca to have the ball.
Chelsea were controlled in defense and yes they allowed Barca to have the ball in non threatening areas
I really dont get how people look at possession and fail to understand anything beyond that.

Chelsea had barcelona EXACTLY where they wanted them....passing the ball around with sterile possession. If not for that one monster error, this would have been a successful strategy by Conte.

Barca? They got the result but they will know their strategy must be better in Nou Camp because they looked clueless for long stretches today. Kind of like Spain in the last few major tournaments, all the possession yet doing nothing. Barcelona MUST play better at home and i bet they know it. They got away with one today.

Chelsea hit the post several times, had several excellent counterattack chances (willian was good but he really missed some delicious counters), and kept their shape brilliantly.

Messi can now retire in peace. He has scored against Chelsea.

Agreed that Kante had a very good game. Willian is the obvious man of the match.
Thought Vicmo had a slightly above average game. Good with his defensive responsibility and pressing. Below average with his offensive game.
Decent game from him.

Glad if anyone was to make a mistake it was Christensen... his overall good play allows him the luxury of an error now and then
Barca tilted focus to Hazard and Willian punished them. Honestly while he was MoM, i thought he had chances to really kill barca today and failed to do so...his final pass on those counter attacks was lacking today. Too many counters died at his feet for my liking. Conte will let him know about it without a doubt.

VM was tentative going forward but I think that was intentional. I think both he and alonso were mainly tasked with playing safe offensively.

I thought the game would end in a 1-1 draw all along but as it progressed, i really thought chelsea had the capacity to win 1-0. They were disciplined. There's a good chance they get knocked out in Spain, 2-0 or something along those lines. Today's strategy was nice but they'll need a target man to play off of in the return leg.

I thought the big problem for Barca today was Paulinho's lack of effectiveness in his other role of pushing up close to Messi and Suarez. Started well but seemed to lose confidence after the headed chance...

Interesting how Conte deployed the switch, much like Madrid, but without the necessary compliment of players...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote:I thought the big problem for Barca today was Paulinho's lack of effectiveness in his other role of pushing up close to Messi and Suarez. Started well but seemed to lose confidence after the headed chance...

Interesting how Conte deployed the switch, much like Madrid, but without the necessary compliment of players...

Yea too often messi and suarez ended up with 2 v 4 in the middle. They needed another outlet for their quick passing game and flicks.

analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Encouraging performance. Was not a fan of the false 9 or so lineup but the whole team played well and I will give Conte's his dues. Took a silly error to undo the hard work but the team maintained composure.

Nou camp will not be easy. But a commendable performance today.
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

txj wrote:I thought the big problem for Barca today was Paulinho's lack of effectiveness in his other role of pushing up close to Messi and Suarez. Started well but seemed to lose confidence after the headed chance...

Yea too often messi and suarez ended up with 2 v 4 in the middle. They needed another outlet for their quick passing game and flicks.
This was an away game for Barca and I think they played a bit more cautiously in order not to be caught out on the counter. They have ageing legs in Midfield. I will expect things to be different in Camp Nou. The good thing doe CFC is that I don't see Barca playing cautiously at home despite having the result advantage. CFC will have to do better on the counter. Will still be a tough ask to get the desired result in Spain
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....