How Guardiola is revolutionizing English football

Re: How Guardiola is revolutionizing English football

you no well i swear :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Kaiser1

Post by Kaiser1 »

Joint earliest league win

Potentially highest points ever in the league
Highest number of goals scored

More steak for some of you to lose your minds over :lol:
Pep Guardiola was told to adapt – instead he bent English football to his will
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/spor ... -pqsbx5xf7

Hmm, methinks this video was made for last week's derby with the presumption that City would win that game and the EPL then. :)

cic old boy wrote:Many people are taxed about the "revolutionizing" comment. Some are mixing up "revolutionizing" with winning. You can win without "revolutionizing". You can "revolutionize" without winning. One of the most "revolutionizing" coaches is Marcelo Bielsa and he doesn't have that may titles to his name. "Revolutionizing" is about changing the way the game is played - stuff like sweepers were brought in by "revolutionizing" coaches, overlapping fullbacks, wing-backs, etc, building from the back with the goalie, defensive high line, high press, etc are about "revolutionizing". If you "revolutionize" and win, many will copy you.

Wenger was a "revolutionizing" coach in England when he first came.
Our Gary agrees with me.
"I think unquestionably Guardiola will influence the style of football in this country," Lineker said.

"Not only is it pleasing on the eye, but it's bringing success.

"We all know that success is copied and imitated by other teams, other coaches and children playing the game."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43789027

cic old boy wrote:Many people are taxed about the "revolutionizing" comment. Some are mixing up "revolutionizing" with winning. You can win without "revolutionizing". You can "revolutionize" without winning. One of the most "revolutionizing" coaches is Marcelo Bielsa and he doesn't have that may titles to his name. "Revolutionizing" is about changing the way the game is played - stuff like sweepers were brought in by "revolutionizing" coaches, overlapping fullbacks, wing-backs, etc, building from the back with the goalie, defensive high line, high press, etc are about "revolutionizing". If you "revolutionize" and win, many will copy you.

Our Gary agrees with me.
"I think unquestionably Guardiola will influence the style of football in this country," Lineker said.

"We all know that success is copied and imitated by other teams, other coaches and children playing the game."
Who will copy .......bus parking :bump:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Kaiser1 wrote:Joint earliest league win

Potentially highest points ever in the league
Highest number of goals scored
After spending 600M Pounds...STERLING...

Pa

paj wrote: After spending 600M Pounds...STERLING...

Pa
But he didn't spend a penny on Sterling :lol:
Kaiser1

Post by Kaiser1 »

Pa
Conte spent 260M this season and he is almost 30points behind almost certain to miss top 4
Mourinho has spent over 300M yet to win just one, he is double digits behind

Our Gary agrees with me.

Gary Lineker ... :lol: :lol:

Pep agrees with me on Bielsa. Great football minds think alike. :thumbs:
However, Cruyff is by no means the only influence. Another is Argentine Marcelo Bielsa, the man known affectionately as 'El Loco' - the madman.

The former Chile and Argentina boss - most recently the head coach of Lille at club level - is a man of huge influence but relatively few trophies.

"It is important for me to say this about Marcelo because it doesn't matter how many titles he had in his career," Guardiola has said.

"We are judged by that - how much success we have, how many titles we have won. But his titles are much less important than how he has influenced football and his football players. That is why, for me, he is the best coach in the world."

Bielsa told Guardiola during an 11-hour chat at the Argentine's villa that football is all about an idea, fighting for it, improving players, and never losing the passion.
The rest of the article is a great read: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43486412

Kaiser1 wrote:

Pa
Conte spent 260M this season and he is almost 30points behind almost certain to miss top 4
Mourinho has spent over 300M yet to win just one, he is double digits behind

Conte na special case. Typical example of hiring gone wrong. :taunt:

Kaiser1

Post by Kaiser1 »

While players like Pogba, Martial, Alexis, Mata are getting worse under Mourinho

This is what ESPN researched about players under Guardiola

It was Raheem Sterling's 22nd goal of the season. He had doubled his previous best tally
But he has company. Around an hour earlier, Ilkay Gundogan converted a penalty. His sixth goal of the season was a new personal best. Another German, Leroy Sane, had already rattled the post. His total stayed at 13, still a career high. Injury deprived Sergio Aguero of the chance to participate; otherwise he may have closed in on his biggest haul of 33 which, nevertheless, came under Guardiola's management.

It is part of a trend that dates back a decade. Players become more prolific under Guardiola; not all, obviously, but sizeable numbers, many of whom score far more than before. Thomas Muller, Mario Mandzukic and Arjen Robben -- with 32, 26 and 21, respectively -- had their finest scoring season in his Bayern Munich teams. So, at Barcelona, did Andres Iniesta (nine), Bojan Krkic (12), Xavi (14), Pedro (23) and Lionel Messi (a ludicrous 73).

The Argentinian is the great outlier. Yet it is notable both that, pre-Guardiola, his highest total was 17 and that he improved year on year under a mentor: 38 in his first year, followed by 47, 53 and then 73. But in a way Xavi is as indicative, a distributor becoming a scorer for Guardiola. The playmaker never got more than seven goals in a season for Barcelona under any other manager. Like Sterling, he doubled that for Guardiola.

http://www.espn.com/soccer/club/manches ... -guardiola

Kaiser1 wrote:While players like Pogba, Martial, Alexis, Mata are getting worse under Mourinho

It was Raheem Sterling's 22nd goal of the season. He had doubled his previous best tally
But he has company. Around an hour earlier, Ilkay Gundogan converted a penalty. His sixth goal of the season was a new personal best. Another German, Leroy Sane, had already rattled the post. His total stayed at 13, still a career high. Injury deprived Sergio Aguero of the chance to participate; otherwise he may have closed in on his biggest haul of 33 which, nevertheless, came under Guardiola's management.

It is part of a trend that dates back a decade. Players become more prolific under Guardiola; not all, obviously, but sizeable numbers, many of whom score far more than before. Thomas Muller, Mario Mandzukic and Arjen Robben -- with 32, 26 and 21, respectively -- had their finest scoring season in his Bayern Munich teams. So, at Barcelona, did Andres Iniesta (nine), Bojan Krkic (12), Xavi (14), Pedro (23) and Lionel Messi (a ludicrous 73).

The Argentinian is the great outlier. Yet it is notable both that, pre-Guardiola, his highest total was 17 and that he improved year on year under a mentor: 38 in his first year, followed by 47, 53 and then 73. But in a way Xavi is as indicative, a distributor becoming a scorer for Guardiola. The playmaker never got more than seven goals in a season for Barcelona under any other manager. Like Sterling, he doubled that for Guardiola.

Facts not feelings.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

So he has a chance to break three of Chelsea's/Mourinho's records in just 2 games!

Most goals scored, most points and most wins in a single EPL season.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

:boo: :boo: :boo:
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

City team was average? :blink: :blink: :shock: :shock: Wetin my eyes no go read?

Kaiser1

Post by Kaiser1 »

30wins
93points
102 goals scored
All records about to fall in a week

Records are there to be broken. Another team will still be assembled to break Pep's and City's pending records.

Cally wrote:
Kaiser1 wrote:While players like Pogba, Martial, Alexis, Mata are getting worse under Mourinho

Facts not feelings.
Hehe facts sweet o! You sure sey dem lingard go agree so?

Dion Dublin on City (BBC Football Focus): "I've never seen football played like that in the Premier League. They are the best Premier League team I've seen".
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Hate him all you want but Guardiola is a brilliant manager. Yes, he has inherited great teams but he gets his teams to play with flair that his predecessors and successors have not been able to achieve. So far he has one major blip on his resume and that is failing to win the CL with Bayern. He had no excuses there. Despite City's dominance in the EPL this season, the absence of a CL title makes this year somewhat of a mixed success for Guardiola and the club but he will have a few more opportunities to redeem himself. I do think he will take City to the CL final because they have one of the most skilled 4-5 squads in the world, enormous resources, and the main European competitors are likely to experience lulls in the near future (e.g., Bayern, Real, and Barca). Lets be clear though: his success at City largely depends on him winning at least one CL title as their manager.
Kaiser1

Post by Kaiser1 »

Highest points record
Highest number of wins
Highest goals scored