How Guardiola is revolutionizing English football

Re: How Guardiola is revolutionizing English football

Guardiola just won his 3rd championship of the season.

Good job.

But where is the competition?

Inheritance sweet o!

...FA cup final, not worth watching.
Sensible tv stations decided not carry it as they know the outcome is a forgone conclusion.
Btw, who won :???: :???:

benteke wrote:
The YeyeMan wrote:One can admire City's and Pep's achievements and still be aware of how that achievement is funded.

As for a revolution, well it depends on what lasting effect Pep has on the English game beyond City.

Followers of the Bundesliga can tell us whether Pep revolutionised the game there....
These opinions are a problem sometimes.
If we remember correctly, before Pep arrived in Bundesliga, Bayern was getting into CL finals regularly and we even witnessed an all Bundesliga final Bayern vs Dortmund.
From the time of his arrival there we have not seen any of that, and Bayern has been struggling in CL. By the looks of things we won't be seeing any all German CL final soon.
And other people have some interesting opinions about his long term impact https://www.google.com/amp/s/talksport. ... iegel/amp/

:biggrin:
well, Guardiola was responsible for Germany winning the WC - possession football
before he arrived, Germany had struggled in international tournaments

..or that's what we've been told

If 6 of the starting 11 wasn’t from his squad, it would be easier to say he didn’t have a significant effect. Piece of unsolicited advice. Fighting excellence is futile. It is much easier to learn from it and appreciate it. :idea: But it has become increasingly clear that your height challenges parallel your mental ones.
benteke wrote:
The YeyeMan wrote:One can admire City's and Pep's achievements and still be aware of how that achievement is funded.

As for a revolution, well it depends on what lasting effect Pep has on the English game beyond City.

Followers of the Bundesliga can tell us whether Pep revolutionised the game there....
These opinions are a problem sometimes.
If we remember correctly, before Pep arrived in Bundesliga, Bayern was getting into CL finals regularly and we even witnessed an all Bundesliga final Bayern vs Dortmund.
From the time of his arrival there we have not seen any of that, and Bayern has been struggling in CL. By the looks of things we won't be seeing any all German CL final soon.
And other people have some interesting opinions about his long term impact https://www.google.com/amp/s/talksport. ... iegel/amp/

:biggrin:
well, Guardiola was responsible for Germany winning the WC - possession football
before he arrived, Germany had struggled in international tournaments

..or that's what we've been told

Pep is very much part of the changes we see in English football. I did not want to give him any credit before but it is what it is. Foreign managers are changing the EPL and the money is there for them to buy players.

@Yuj, mechionu! Everytin wey him do, na inheritance be dat. My Onku dey for will reading, no be treble wey dem dash am.

Coach wrote:@Yuj, mechionu! Everytin wey him do, na inheritance be dat. My Onku dey for will reading, no be treble wey dem dash am.
Na so according to the height challenged Ghana man and the Zimbo bro that makes him look like a rocket scientist

The King of England.

How much did he spend after 3 seasons..just another local champ, alas Bayern

cic old boy wrote:The King of England.
Genius :clap: :clap: :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Back when United had more money than the rest of ‘em, not a peep from the bast*rds. Now the tables have turned. It’s all about the money, money, money, money, maaaaaaane!

Manchester City's opponents in cup competitions this season
Competition Opponents
FA Cup Rotherham United, Burnley, Newport County, Swansea City, Brighton & Hove Albion, Watford
League Cup Oxford United, Fulham, Leicester City, Burton Albion, Chelsea
Mind u nah pk vs Chelsea

joplass wrote:Pep is very much part of the changes we see in English football. I did not want to give him any credit before but it is what it is. Foreign managers are changing the EPL and the money is there for them to buy players.
what are thee changes, please and thank you

3 at the back?
5 at the back?
passing from the back?
high press?

before Guardiola came to England, EPL was just kick-and-rush, correct?

YUJAM wrote:
Coach wrote:@Yuj, mechionu! Everytin wey him do, na inheritance be dat. My Onku dey for will reading, no be treble wey dem dash am.
Na so according to the height challenged Ghana man and the Zimbo bro that makes him look like a rocket scientist
but you still have not answer the Q.
WHAT HAS HE REVOLUTIONIZED IN THE LEAGUE??

In summary, prior to Guardiola:
1. GK's in England did not play the ball from the back
2. Possession from the back was unheard of
3. Relentless pressing was not done

cic old boy wrote: There's nothing revolutionary about 93 points in a 1st season. Borinho had 95 in his 1st.
He has changed what is required to be champs
you keep spinning your wheels

1. Pep has changed what is required to win the league
2. IIRC, a team needs maximum points to win the league
3. On the flip side, Mourinho, who had 95 points previously, did not revolutionize the league by collecting_maximum_points

SAF - treble. did that revolutionize the league?

Bigpokey24 wrote:Manchester City's opponents in cup competitions this season
Competition Opponents
FA Cup Rotherham United, Burnley, Newport County, Swansea City, Brighton & Hove Albion, Watford
League Cup Oxford United, Fulham, Leicester City, Burton Albion, Chelsea
Mind u nah pk vs Chelsea

VAR was not used in the Swansea game because the match was played at a non Premier League ground

City win from an offside goal

A fact inscribed on the base of the FA Cup. Chief, e don do. Inheritance left Guardiola a domestic treble, das ah-maysin...

Guardiola is a good coach but I don't see anything revolutionary about him at all. Whether in the EPL or Champions League

joplass wrote:Pep is very much part of the changes we see in English football. I did not want to give him any credit before but it is what it is. Foreign managers are changing the EPL and the money is there for them to buy players.
So is it money or the coaches that is revolutionising the football?

Fulham spent money, a pretty penny and threw a plethora of coaches into the cocktail. Hardly Sex on the Beach, more like Titus Bramble breaking in through the black door and hiding in the bedroom closet.

Many players and managers are part of the changes happening in EPL, it's not all about one man as this thread threatens to do. :biggrin:

Man City’s cup draws this season:

Carabao Cup:
Oxford Utd
Fulham H
Leicester
Burton Albion
Chelsea (Final)

FA Cup:
Rotherham
Burnley
Newport County
Swansea
Brighton
Watford (Final)

UEFA Champions League:
Lyon
Shakhtar
Hoffenheim
Schalke
Tottenham

Then you credit man city???

Revolution..yeah rightttt