Page 10 of 13

Re: How Guardiola is revolutionizing English football

Posted: Wed May 09, 2018 10:29 pm
by balo
Kaiser1 wrote:Highest points record
Highest number of wins
Highest goals scored

Congrats to Citi. A new race to beat these records kick-starts.

Posted: Thu May 10, 2018 4:10 pm
by wiseone
How many managers have won league titles in 3 different countries?

Mourinho (4 different countries)
Ancelotti (4)
Happel (4)
Trappattoni (4)
Guardiola (3)
Van Gaal (3)

Ivic won titles in 6 different countries but never in one of the Big 4 leagues.

Posted: Thu May 10, 2018 10:20 pm
by kajifu
wiseone wrote:How many managers have won league titles in 3 different countries?

Ancelotti (4)
Happel (4)
Trappatoni
Guardiola (3)
Van Gaal (3)

Coaching likes of Bayern,Real,PSG,Barca,Juve you will win those trophies even without a coaching experience.

Posted: Thu May 10, 2018 10:27 pm
by marutimon
I just can't admire a team, that was utterly thrashed and dismantled by Liverpool in three consecutive games.
They may be the best in a league format, but Klopp made beating Man City look absurdly simple. How can Man City be the best team in Europe, when the were so easily disposed of in the Champions League?

Posted: Thu May 10, 2018 11:15 pm
by bk-one
wiseone wrote:How many managers have won league titles in 3 different countries?

Ancelotti (4)
Happel (4)
Trappatoni
Guardiola (3)
Van Gaal (3)

Coaching likes of Bayern,Real,PSG,Barca,Juve you will win those trophies even without a coaching experience.
Jurgen Klinsmann, Gerardo Martino, Luigi Delneri, Antoine Kombouare`........should I go on?

Those guys won nothing despite coaching those big teams you mentioned.......Its not as easy as it seems

Posted: Fri May 11, 2018 12:16 am
by balo
Another revolution from Guardiola
City goalkeeper Ederson has earned a Guinness World Record for the longest drop-kick in football with an effort of 75.35m. (FourFourTwo)
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/gossip

Posted: Fri May 11, 2018 5:21 pm
by txj
“When you’ve been used to playing for Arsenal for eight years, and for City for six, it’s always going to be a shock. When you leave those clubs you can only go down a level. I was lucky for the last 12 months to work with Guardiola and often you think of someone being a genius of football; but if someone is close, he is the one. I am not saying he’s the best, as other managers have had success with different methods, but he certainly shows you a different way of feeling and seeing football. It was a major shock.”

https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... basaksehir

Posted: Sat May 12, 2018 4:38 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
marutimon wrote:I just can't admire a team, that was utterly thrashed and dismantled by Liverpool in three consecutive games.
They may be the best in a league format, but Klopp made beating Man City look absurdly simple. How can Man City be the best team in Europe, when the were so easily disposed of in the Champions League?

OK...you're right. They are a yeye team. It is the fault of others that City gapped Man U by ~ 20 points and Arsenal by about 40 points.

Any team that Liverpool can dismantle back to back is a useless team.

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 9:50 am
by marutimon
marutimon wrote:I just can't admire a team, that was utterly thrashed and dismantled by Liverpool in three consecutive games.

OK...you're right. They are a yeye team. It is the fault of others that City gapped Man U by ~ 20 points and Arsenal by about 40 points.

I'm not saying they are crap, but they are obviously not one of the best ever and obviously not the best team in Europe. You can't get dismantled with ease by Liverpool three consecutive games in a row and claim to be the best.

Also Guardiola only does it thanks to a limitless checkbook. Liverpool spent way less and earned way more in transfers. All they are missing to be a better team than Man City is 1-2 players, one of which Naby Keita is coming in the summer.

Klopp is way more impressive as a manager than Guardiola.

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 11:33 am
by nemi2002
marutimon wrote:

I'm not saying they are crap, but they are obviously not one of the best ever and obviously not the best team in Europe. You can't get dismantled with ease by Liverpool three consecutive games in a row and claim to be the best.

Also Guardiola only does it thanks to a limitless checkbook. Liverpool spent way less and earned way more in transfers. All they are missing to be a better team than Man City is 1-2 players, one of which Naby Keita is coming in the summer.

Klopp is way more impressive as a manager than Guardiola.
Klopp is more impressive on What basis?

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 11:57 am
by marutimon
Klopp did it in Germany and repeated it in England. He doesn't have access to unlimited funds like Pep (checkbook manager). He works with limited funds and you can see he has a more in-depth grasp of tactics.

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 12:17 pm
by ohenhen1
Can Guardiola do it with limited funds?

Klopp did it with Dortmund

Arsene with Arsenal

Mourinhno with Porto.

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 2:34 pm
by Enugu II
ohenhen1 wrote:Can Guardiola do it with limited funds?

Klopp did it with Dortmund

Arsene with Arsenal

Mourinhno with Porto.
Ohenhen1,

It isn't just one coach that is IT. Guardiola is certainly one of few coaches that can be significantly influential on a team. That takes nothing away from those you just named or from others not named. It is a group of excellent coaches.

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 9:25 pm
by Kaiser1
When was the last time Klopp won a trophy?

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 10:30 pm
by spastic
Don't admire then. No be by force :D

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 6:01 am
by nemi2002
marutimon wrote:Klopp did it in Germany and repeated it in England. He doesn't have access to unlimited funds like Pep (checkbook manager). He works with limited funds and you can see he has a more in-depth grasp of tactics.
About the money, can you help look for a side with limited funds for Pep?
Regarding tactics, it's very debatable. The fact today is that over a season Pep has changed the face of English football, you can't take that away and Klopp might just win the ECL and then add more fuel to the fire. Good luck yo Klopp in his quest, Liverpool needs a trophy right now.

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 10:32 am
by cic old boy
Alan Shearer on Match of the Day last night: "City have played a brand of football that has never been seen in the Premier League".

Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 5:51 am
by nemi2002
Best managér in England

Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 5:33 pm
by YUJAM
Just popping in to remind our Ghanaian mental midget that it’s a long, not short, game

Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:46 pm
by tfco
YUJAM wrote:Just popping in to remind our Ghanaian mental midget that it’s a long, not short, game

hes on back-to-back...nice

what has he revolutionized?
tactics?

3 at the back?

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 1:07 am
by YUJAM
YUJAM wrote:Just popping in to remind our Ghanaian mental midget that it’s a long, not short, game

tactics?

3 at the back?
You can’t possibly be that thick. Ball playing goalies. Now all EPL teams try this. Possession out of the back. Tactics to stop this system - the relentless press at the top. Pep has made the EPL better. He’s Also made the English NT better. They play out of the back and use several of his players. His arrival has changed the English game for the better he has changed/revolutionized the game in England.

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 1:58 am
by maceo4
YUJAM wrote:

tactics?

3 at the back?
You can’t possibly be that thick. Ball playing goalies. Now all EPL teams try this. Possession out of the back. Tactics to stop this system - the relentless press at the top. Pep has made the EPL better. He’s Also made the English NT better. They play out of the back and use several of his players. His arrival has changed the English game for the better he has changed/revolutionized the game in England.
:thumbs: :thumbs:

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 2:55 am
by benteke
YUJAM wrote:

tactics?

3 at the back?
Come on bro. You also cannot be that thick, i refuse, i am 100% sure you are much smarter and just winding up tfco. :biggrin:

Ball playing goalies and playing from the back ? We saw it in EPL before Guardiola even agreed coming to City.
I saw it with Van Gaal he even brought Romero and Valdez, and tried to revolutionize Smalling and Jones into ball playing centre backs all to achieve playing from the back.
I'm very sure others have seen such before, the likes of Rodgers have been doing that from Swansea days.
Press at the top. Come on.
None of the concepts he excels in are new, but i would agree he executed them well.
Retaining the title, not new or unique to him.

Much respect but not overboard :thumbs: