Is the Oyinbo Wall Secure?

Re: Is the Oyinbo Wall Secure?

metalalloy wrote:Well reports suggest that Steven Eze will get a call up for the upcoming friendlies. I really like the burgeoning partnership between Balogun and Troost, but we most certainly need to have back ups for them and other players who can push them for starting spots. They have their weaknesses especially with ball distribution and Balogun's speed.
Stephen Eze has the same issues concerning pace and passing...

"We are not fully accepted in both countries. In the Netherlands we are sometimes called foreigner, in Nigeria we are considered white boys."
Taken from the March 2018 edition of Elf Voetball.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Slow news day
...real slow news day, Arsenal play tomorrow so today na free for all :biggrin:

"We are not fully accepted in both countries. In the Netherlands we are sometimes called foreigner, in Nigeria we are considered white boys."
Taken from the March 2018 edition of Elf Voetball.
He can join the queue..
But's its not because of CE headlines when he uses the same moniker himself.

It's more about the sentiment behind the headline. And using the hashtag doesn't necessarily mean he supports that sentiment.

metalalloy wrote:Well reports suggest that Steven Eze will get a call up for the upcoming friendlies. I really like the burgeoning partnership between Balogun and Troost, but we most certainly need to have back ups for them and other players who can push them for starting spots. They have their weaknesses especially with ball distribution and Balogun's speed.
Stephen Eze has the same issues concerning pace and passing...
Not only that, he has a tendency to go into rash tackles. I am not sold on Stephen Eze being ready for World Cup 2018.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The YeyeMan wrote:It's more about the sentiment behind the headline. And using the hashtag doesn't necessarily mean he supports that sentiment.
True, but it would be nice to know their thoughts.
I think the whole experience of having 180m people embrace you - in fact, CLAIM you - as their own after a lifetime living in the white west is something you and I can only imagine (I'm assuming you are not mixed race yourself).
I think it was Balogun that got really emotional on one occasion and spoke about it.

Would be interesting to hear how someone like Osaze feels about this topic
The YeyeMan wrote:It's more about the sentiment behind the headline. And using the hashtag doesn't necessarily mean he supports that sentiment.
True, but it would be nice to know their thoughts.
I think the whole experience of having 180m people embrace you - in fact, CLAIM you - as their own after a lifetime living in the white west is something you and I can only imagine (I'm assuming you are not mixed race yourself).
I think it was Balogun that got really emotional on one occasion and spoke about it.

How do you know what the "sentiment behind the headline" is?
Furthermore, the context of the hashtag's usage does NOT indicate angst or disapproval.

nanijoe wrote:Would be interesting to hear how someone like Osaze feels about this topic
Certainly! Seeing how dude is the author of "oyinbo na oyinbo"! :lol:
Last edited by Gotti on Tue Mar 06, 2018 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

How do you know what the "sentiment behind the headline" is?
Furthermore, the context of the hashtag's usage does NOT indicate angst or disapproval.
I've taken a guess what the sentiment is. The quote I provided by Ekong makes the point that being called "white" (oyinbo) indicates a lack of "acceptance" by those who call them that.

The context of the hashtag doesn't indicate approval either.

The YeyeMan wrote:I've taken a guess what the sentiment is. The quote I provided by Ekong makes the point that being called "white" (oyinbo) indicates a lack of "acceptance" by those who call them that.

Since we are guessing, it indicates MORE approval than disapproval...
Added to the fact that he has PERSONALLY retweeted the moniker SEVERAL times.

Furthermore, abegi quit conflating issues. That some folks make them feel as foreigners in Holland/Nigeria is NOT mutually-exclusive with him approving of the Oyinbo Wall moniker (and again has nothing to do with CE headlines).

The YeyeMan wrote:I've taken a guess what the sentiment is. The quote I provided by Ekong makes the point that being called "white" (oyinbo) indicates a lack of "acceptance" by those who call them that.

Furthermore, abegi quit conflating issues. That some folks make them feel as foreigners in Holland/Nigeria is NOT mutually-exclusive with him approving of the Oyinbo Wall moniker (and again has nothing to do with CE headlines).
I agree with you. They are fondly called, "Oyibo Wall". There's no derision implied nor expressed. Both fellas have actually embraced the title.

Now Cellular has chipped in with is own, I'm more convinced I'm right than ever before. Sorry Gotti. :D

And again, it's not solely about CE headlines - I'm thinking wider than that.

Now Cellular has chipped in with is own, I'm more convinced I'm right than ever before. Sorry Gotti. :D

And again, it's not solely about CE headlines - I'm thinking wider than that.
Of course, you should be more convinced...

Reading a negative meaning into something that was done out of adulation. It says a lot more about your thinking and mindset...

Abeg, carry your Yeyerism dey go.

The YeyeMan wrote:It's thread titles like this which lead Ekong to say he's not fully accepted in Nigeria as a Nigerian. There was an article for a Dutch football magazine where he and Ebuehi spoke about this, and their Nigerian-Dutch duality.
Just like tweets like this?! :blink:
I think Yeyeman has got it wrong.
Methinks they are quite proud of the title 'Oyibo Wall'.
With the two of them in central defence and Ikeme in goal that wall was very aptly titled.
Being called 'Oyibo' in Naija doesn't come with the negative racial undertones that the N-word carries in the west.
Not at all.

The YeyeMan wrote:It's thread titles like this which lead Ekong to say he's not fully accepted in Nigeria as a Nigerian. There was an article for a Dutch football magazine where he and Ebuehi spoke about this, and their Nigerian-Dutch duality.

I think Yeyeman has got it wrong.
Methinks they are quite proud of the title 'Oyibo Wall'.
With the two of them in central defence and Ikeme in goal that wall was very aptly titled.
Being called 'Oyibo' in Naija doesn't come with the negative racial undertones that the N-word carries in the west.
They def are. There was an inteview where Balogun discussed it. Yeyeman is being true to his moniker as always.

Why would he tweet something he doesn't agree with?
They have come to be known as the ‘Oyinbo’ (an often pejorative term for light-skinned foreigners) Wall, a nod to their mixed race heritage. It is endearing that they themselves have adopted the name, and are entirely comfortable with it. It is a very Nigerian trait – thick skin; the sensibility to take things light-heartedly and in good humour, turning a potential negative into a positive.
https://guardian.ng/sport/oyinbo-wall-b ... s-defence/