Sophia Omidiji: My Super Falcons World Cup Dream

Pavarotti

Post by Pavarotti »

The world watched with awe as we launched our Jerseys for the 2018 World cup in Russia at a glamorous event in London

But while most gushed at the awesome designs and at the Super Eagles stars that graced the event our focus was a young woman who wore the Jersey with pride, full of smiles and obviously elated being a part of it all

20 year old Sophia Omotola Omidiji represented Nigerian Female football at the unveiling and looked every bit the part of what she is – a Super Falcon in waiting . . . . http://www.soccerassembly.com/sophia-om ... cup-dream/
muzines
Re: Sophia Omidiji: My Super Falcons World Cup Dream

Post by muzines »

Didn’t know this girl is Nigerian. I though it was a random model posing in the jersey.
Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.

muzines wrote:Didn’t know this girl is Nigerian. I though it was a random model posing in the jersey.
She has a younger brother who several years ago stated his WC dreams.

I never knew he had a sister until recently.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

muzines wrote:Didn’t know this girl is Nigerian. I though it was a random model posing in the jersey.
She plays football, I think she was born in Vegas, she also has a kid brother who plays football as well, they are both naija to the bone

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

I actually know her for a while now.
She was adopted by Lateef Omidiji and raised in the United States.
So biologically she is actually not nigerian but she is very passionate about Nigeria and works hard for her dream to play for Nigeria.
Very lovely girl. I wish her all the best.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:I actually know her for a while now.
So biologically she is actually not nigerian but she is very passionate about Nigeria and works hard for her dream to play for Nigeria.
So she is not biologically related to the brother?
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

Herself and her brother play for teams in the Netherlands. They are half naijas. She was invited for the under 20, but was an unused substitute.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Tbite wrote:
DAgrin wrote:I actually know her for a while now.
So she is not biologically related to the brother?
You can get to know more about her story here:

http://www.goal.com/en-ng/news/12072/ni ... s-dream-to
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

Sophia Omidiji Hopeful Of playing For Falconets

I am surprised the pure breed squad haven't attacked her
skillful

Post by skillful »

nice girl sent me all the pics at the super eagles jersey unveiling.
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

This wan na straight up oyinbo
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

the girl is just about an average player; I doubt she would even make the bench

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Agree.
Love her passion and all but needs to improve SIGNIFICANTLY to make the current Super Falcons team.
Also, I thought I read somewhere that her mother had her before marrying Lateef Omidiji Snr. After which, he formally adopted her and she took his name.
Anyway,...
jette1 wrote:the girl is just about an average player; I doubt she would even make the bench