New World Cup Rule--- 4 substitutions

Re: New World Cup Rule--- 4 substitutions

Great move along with IFAB decision on the VAR as well. Substitution rules have really come a long way from zero to two, then three, and now four.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Not good for Africa

the Deeper the squad.....the more effective substitutions are.

:scared: :scared:

How effective were our substitutions against Spain in the confed cup, or against France in the WC. Abeg.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:Not good for Africa

How effective were our substitutions against Spain in the confed cup, or against France in the WC. Abeg.
Egypt, Senegal and Morocco are not complaining. :)

Just keep pushing for basketball type subs.

What group is Africa in? :roll:

Choose a good squad and there is no disadvantage.

So is the fourth sub only applicable in extra time?

I wonder how managers will abuse this rule.

If Mourinho were at the World Cup, he most certainly would find a way to abuse it.

vancity eagle wrote:So is the fourth sub only applicable in extra time?
Appears so, it won't be a factor in the group stage.

vancity eagle wrote:So is the fourth sub only applicable in extra time?
Basically you can hedge all your bets till extra time - re: "All 4 substitutions could be made in extra time."

If you are playing to defend, it is a fantastic strategy!

Me no like

Great. The problem with the sub rules in the past was that teams would use it to waste time. Now that that has been eliminated with better time management the more the better.

It will also confuse some yeye coaches wen no sabi.

Hehe .. thats the key phrase. Belgium is as deep as Zee's toto, but they have Roberto Martinez as their coach. :lol:

For me the rule retention of only three subs in regulation is insightful.

In essence, the real change is ensuring that teams that play beyond regulation have opportunity for an additional sub and recognizing that an over time game should logically attract an additional sub since it is a third longer than regulation. I believe that was the rational i.e. to ensure that teams have at least opportunity to sub after regulation and acknowledging that over time puts additional time burden on teams.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

...which extra time is this? The 15 mins a-piece or the injury time after 90 mins?

Progressively this sub rule will have to change with time to many more subs during regulation.

mcal wrote:...which extra time is this? The 15 mins a-piece or the injury time after 90 mins?

Progressively this sub rule will have to change with time to many more subs during regulation.
Rule applies to extra time, not injury time.

airwolex wrote:Great. The problem with the sub rules in the past was that teams would use it to waste time. Now that that has been eliminated with better time management the more the better.

They still use it to waste time.
Look at how many late subs come on late in games. They really should have 2 outfield subs and 1 goalie sub in regulation. Then this new sub.

Very soon, the restriction will be lifted and substitution will become used at anytime. I like it :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Hehe .. thats the key phrase. Belgium is as deep as Zee's toto, but they have Roberto Martinez as their coach. :lol:
:bump: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Zee don suffer

Benefits the countries with deep squads (France, Germany, Brazil, Spain...). France could probably make 11 substitutions without massively diluting the quality of their team.

Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:Great. The problem with the sub rules in the past was that teams would use it to waste time. Now that that has been eliminated with better time management the more the better.

They still use it to waste time.
Look at how many late subs come on late in games. They really should have 2 outfield subs and 1 goalie sub in regulation. Then this new sub.
Not as bad as before. Fifa has done a great job stopping teams from wasting time. From the backpass to goalie rule to providing multiple balls. That's why having 4 subs is not such a bad thing, but you do have a point. I always thought it was silly that players needed to go to a specific spot when subbed. They should just exit at the nearest touch-line. It would also be great if all the subs could be done by the 80th minute. That way no one subs on in the 94th minute when the other side is looking for a goal.

wiseone wrote:Benefits the countries with deep squads (France, Germany, Brazil, Spain...). France could probably make 11 substitutions without massively diluting the quality of their team.
Benefits those with deep squad
and or those who manage the game/tactics

There are obviously scenarios wherein the coach (of the team with less depth) could execute a tactic that would give his team the advantage, based on playing conservatively and releasing more players in extra time.

BUT if the two sides were both tactically on par or played the game following roughly the same strategy, then there is no way that this benefits teams without a deep squad (relative to the deeper teams).

I would go onto say that the more FREEDOM is afforded to teams, the harder it will be for the less prepared or capable teams!

The more simple something is, the easier it is to compete. Complexity is the bane of the less prepared.

You want an African team to have a real shot win the World Cup in the next 10 years? Reduce the game to 40 minutes (20 min halves), no substitutions, only 3 rounds in the World Cup. 14 man squad, 3 extra players only for injuries sustained before the matches lol.

Complexity is for the prepared. If the less prepared can find little ways to use this to their advantage then that works, but if they can't.......oh boy.

Prepared teams will use this to tap into their team depth, the less prepared will use it in gimmicky ways like disrupting the flow of the game. Anyway at the end of the day, there is nowhere to hide, the weaker teams just have to get better.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

why stop at 4?
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

or you could use the last sub to swap goalie if the match is in the 2nd extra time and you have a better penalty stopper (but not better goalie) on the bench
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.