WHY Mikel Agu was not on the list.........

Real Reason Why Bursaspor Midfielder Mikel Agu Was Left Out Of Super Eagles Squad For March Friendlies
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2018/03/07/re ... riendlies/
March 7, 2018054

One name‎ conspicuously missing from the list of players released by coach Gernot Rohr is Mikel Agu, the Bursaspor midfielder who has found favour in the eyes of the Franco-German coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria.

The omission of his name from the list released earlier today for upcoming friendly games against Poland and Serbia respectively left many in shock, as he hasn’t done badly at his Turkish side Bursaspor.

Agu who is on loan to the modest Turkish side from Portuguese giants FC Porto, has been ever present for the coach Paul Le Guen tutored side. A fact which makes his omission more confusing to followers of the Super Eagles of Nigeria.

Owngoalnigeria.com can exclusively report that visa issues made Rohr to remove him from the list of players called up for the friendly games later in the month. A situation which one of his representatives explained to us in a phone conversation.

” Agu got his invitation last week. But his passport is due to expire in less than six months time. Hence he is ineligible for a visa to travel for England, where the game against Serbia will be taking place”, the source told Owngoalnigeria.com in an exclusive chat.

” He ( Agu) has applied for a renewal of his passport and hopefully he will be around when the next set of games comes around. Maybe he should have renewed it earlier but in life we all can’t be perfect in decision making “, he concluded.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: WHY Mikel Agu was not on the list.........

If Joel shines , he is out

osita wrote:If Joel shines , he is out
John Ogu could be the one, Rohr is clearly fond of Agu. I don’t see him getting dropped.

Did Mikel Agu hire your services already?

I don't understand the reason. So you can't get Visa to travel to England if your passport is within 6 months of expiring? Or am I missing something in the explanation?

1naija wrote:I don't understand the reason. So you can't get Visa to travel to England if your passport is within 6 months of expiring? Or am I missing something in the explanation?
1naija,

No be only you ooo! How about the travel to Wroclaw?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

1naija wrote:I don't understand the reason. So you can't get Visa to travel to England if your passport is within 6 months of expiring? Or am I missing something in the explanation?

I think that's right. Quite a few countries require the Nigerian passport to be further than 6 months from expiry.

1naija,

Well I don't believe that . Last December my Nigeria passport was to expire by January 7th I still travelled with it through Germany. Nobody questioned me about it in Europe , only in Nigeria one of the immigration officers reminded me my passport expiration was imminent . Though I have my US. Passport which I never brought out on my way to Nigeria

bully12 wrote:
1naija,

Well I don't believe that . Last December my Nigeria passport was to expire by January 7th I still travelled with it through Germany. Nobody questioned me about it in Europe , only in Nigeria one of the immigration officers reminded me my passport expiration was imminent . Though I have my US. Passport which I never brought out on my way to Nigeria
When did you apply for the Visa? Or did you already have a visa?

truetalk, how far? :D

I found this on the GOV.UK website regarding visitor Visa. No mention of Visa being valid more than 6 months before date of visit.

Documents you must provide

When you apply you’ll need to provide a current passport or other valid travel identification.

You need a page in your passport that’s blank on both sides for your visa. Your passport must be valid for the whole of your stay in the UK.

However I found this requirement for Visiting the US.
A passport or other travel document: Your passport or travel document must be valid for at least six months beyond your stay in the United States and contain at least one blank page. The six-month requirement does not apply to United Kingdom passports

A professional football player that criss crosses countries to play football allows his passport expire within 6 months with the WC and preparations looming. Not a good thing.

felarey wrote:A professional football player that criss crosses countries to play football allows his passport expire within 6 months with the WC and preparations looming. Not a good thing.
Yup. And SE's have had passport issues in the past. There has to be a protocol officer for the SE who handles these things.

felarey wrote:A professional football player that criss crosses countries to play football allows his passport expire within 6 months with the WC and preparations looming. Not a good thing.
I think his agent is blowing smoke up his you know what to explain why he couldn't get him called up.

He damn sure wouldn’t hire you, abi what’s your track record? I single handedly got Joel Obi back into SE, ME! What have you done for SE?! :taunt: :winking:

maceo4 wrote:I single handedly got Joel Obi back into SE, ME! What have you done for SE?! :taunt: :winking:
I have receipts which show otherwise. :D

maceo4 wrote:I single handedly got Joel Obi back into SE, ME! What have you done for SE?! :taunt: :winking:
This guy, receipts can be easily forged.. :tic: :rotf:

Euro bank transfers cannot. :D

Let me find out this boy has been doing us ‘double agent’ this whole time :curse:

I think that's right. Quite a few countries require the Nigerian passport to be further than 6 months from expiry.
Not just a Nigerian passport, but for ALL passports...
Many countries (including all of the GCC countries) require at least 6 months validity for a visa.

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

I don't think Joel needs to shine for Agu to get dropped.
German coaches don't like this kind of lacking professionalism.
Rohr won't like that and plan without him.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

Not just a Nigerian passport, but for ALL passports...
Many countries (including all of the GCC countries) require at least 6 months validity for a visa.
Uncle Gotti, but the UK visa requirement I posted above does not state 6 months validity requirement like the US visa requirement expressly stated. So, I still don't buy his explanation.
mapet

Post by mapet »

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

My tots exactly