Belgian league 11.03.2018

Nigerians pretty active:

Sint Truiden - Club Brugge 0:1
69' - assist Dennis Bonaventure (0:1)

Oostende - Standard Liege 2:3
27' - assist Joseph Akpala (1:0)
45' - goal Joseph Akpala (2:0)

Lokeren - Zulte Waregem 0:2
89' - goal Peter Olayinka (0:2)

Genk - Gent 1:2
11' - assist Samuel Kalu (0:1)
77' - goal Samuel Kalu (0:2)
Last edited by marutimon on Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Re: Belgian league 11.03.2018

Kai.... Ajayi is Better than all these guys? Kai.....pure scandal. :shock:

Akpala scored and assisted.

Peter Olayinka scored as well.

Sorry! Right about Akpala scoring.

But Olayinka only scored, no assist.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Kai.... Ajayi is Better than all these guys? Kai.....pure scandal. :shock:
I don't know if Ajayi is better, but Samuel Kalu is supposedly better than Moses Simon, yet Simon gets the call ups.

Also Olayinka looks like an interesting player - 8 goals and 7 assists, pretty tall and has a good frame. Similarly Bonaventure - 12 goals in all competitions plus 5 assists.

I know Moses Simon has done well for the Super Eagles, but he is being outshined by Kalu, Onyekuru, Olayinka and Bonaventure, yet none of them get a call up.

BONAVENTURE ASSIST:

AKPALA GOAL AND ASSIST:

KALU GOAL AND ASSIST:

marutimon wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Kai.... Ajayi is Better than all these guys? Kai.....pure scandal. :shock:
I don't know if Ajayi is better, but Samuel Kalu is supposedly better than Moses Simon, yet Simon gets the call ups.

Also Olayinka looks like an interesting player - 8 goals and 7 assists, pretty tall and has a good frame. Similarly Bonaventure - 12 goals in all competitions plus 5 assists.

I know Moses Simon has done well for the Super Eagles, but he is being outshined by Kalu, Onyekuru, Olayinka and Bonaventure, yet none of them get a call up.

BONAVENTURE ASSIST:

AKPALA GOAL AND ASSIST:

KALU GOAL AND ASSIST:

Rohr is supposed to be looking for the best players to play for SE but he continues to invite junks like Simon and Musa as if we don't have better players. Onyekuru was on fire in Belgium and against Argentina Rohr opted to play Musa as sub. It seems Rohr may just be a puppet. The team selection has bias and favoritism written all over it. Football is about now

9jaman they will soon start calling you an agent now. WE have better players like Kalu, Bonaventure, whom for whatever reason continue to be left out while junk players like Akpeyi, Ecjijile, Musa and Simon constantly get invites. U have people here on CE calling for the likes of Idowu and Ebuehi to be dropped so baba Ecjijile can go to a WC. These are the kind of backward minded people that are holding Nigeria back. Kalu and Bonaventure deserve an invite. They are outshining Simon Moses in his own league FFSs. Anyways na siddon look be dat. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Simon has been injured. Before injury Kalu was not rated higher than him, Simon is a big guy at his club, Kalu is an up and comer compared to him.

True about Moses Simon.
But Samuel Kalu seems to get much more hype in Belgium than Moses Simon ever did.

bret- hart wrote:9jaman they will soon start calling you an agent now. WE have better players like Kalu, Bonaventure, whom for whatever reason continue to be left out while junk players like Akpeyi, Ecjijile, Musa and Simon constantly get invites. U have people here on CE calling for the likes of Idowu and Ebuehi to be dropped so baba Ecjijile can go to a WC. These are the kind of backward minded people that are holding Nigeria back. Kalu and Bonaventure deserve an invite. They are outshining Simon Moses in his own league FFSs. Anyways na siddon look be dat. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Kalu IMO yes, but a definite no for Bonaventure!! He has been way too inconsistent this season for my liking, the talent i definitely there though.

Simon has spent too much time out injured to be compared to them.

Sunset wrote:
bret- hart wrote:9jaman they will soon start calling you an agent now. WE have better players like Kalu, Bonaventure, whom for whatever reason continue to be left out while junk players like Akpeyi, Ecjijile, Musa and Simon constantly get invites. U have people here on CE calling for the likes of Idowu and Ebuehi to be dropped so baba Ecjijile can go to a WC. These are the kind of backward minded people that are holding Nigeria back. Kalu and Bonaventure deserve an invite. They are outshining Simon Moses in his own league FFSs. Anyways na siddon look be dat. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Kalu IMO yes, but a definite no for Bonaventure!! He has been way too inconsistent this season for my liking, the talent i definitely there though.

Simon has spent too much time out injured to be compared to them.
What's your opinion on Dessers?

Some of yall are very funny.
Of all the fellows you named who are supposedly better than Moses Simon, not a single one of them comes anywhere CLOSE to his workrate. You all need to invest the time to watch their whole matches, instead of getting excited over short clips which are just highlights.

In the case of Bonaventure, there is a reason why he is behind the likes of Vossen, Diaby and Wesley in the Club Brugge pecking order. His off the ball work is absolutely poor. No way will he displace ANYONE on the current SE team. Neither would any one of Olayinka, Kalu, Akpala or even Onyekuru displace any of the guys currently in the SE team. They do not do any of the dirty work - tracking back, defending and performing all the ancillary off-the-ball work that the likes of Musa, Moses (Victor and Simon) and Iwobi do, which is CRUCIAL to team success.

Rohr is absolutely spot on in leaving them out. They simply are not good enough at this point in time.

Dude started off well at the beginning of the season but has since cooled off.
He is a bench warmer with FC Utrecht and is not good enough at this time.
The YeyeMan wrote: What's your opinion on Dessers?

Otitokoro wrote:Dude started off well at the beginning of the season but has since cooled off.
Thanks. How about Bazee?

Injured for the most part of the season with 96 Hannover.
Don't see him being physically or match fit before the WC.
Otitokoro wrote:Dude started off well at the beginning of the season but has since cooled off.
Thanks. How about Bazee?

Otitokoro wrote:Injured for the most part of the season with 96 Hannover.
Don't see him being physically or match fit before the WC.
Thanks. How about Bazee?
Dang! Thanks.

Otitokoro wrote:Some of yall are very funny.
Of all the fellows you named who are supposedly better than Moses Simon, not a single one of them comes anywhere CLOSE to his workrate. You all need to invest the time to watch their whole matches, instead of getting excited over short clips which are just highlights.

In the case of Bonaventure, there is a reason why he is behind the likes of Vossen, Diaby and Wesley in the Club Brugge pecking order. His off the ball work is absolutely poor. No way will he displace ANYONE on the current SE team. Neither would any one of Olayinka, Kalu, Akpala or even Onyekuru displace any of the guys currently in the SE team. They do not do any of the dirty work - tracking back, defending and performing all the ancillary off-the-ball work that the likes of Musa, Moses (Victor and Simon) and Iwobi do, which is CRUCIAL to team success.

Rohr is absolutely spot on in leaving them out. They simply are not good enough at this point in time.

Not the "work rate", "hustler" excuse again, una nor dey tire for junk? Numbers don't lie, Simon is not a defender, Musa is not expected to do any "dirty work". Of all the Nigerians playing similar positions as attack minded players Simon falls way "short" and you have to come up with this daft workaholic nonsense. Ebuehi showed the world the difference between talent and gra gra hustle in 45 minutes against Argentina. Nigeria will remain underachievers if y'all continue to celebrate mediocre players like Musa and Simon. Football is about intelligent players that can get results effortlessly. How can any sane human conclude that Simon is better than onyekuru? Forget bias, think numbers and facts

The sooner you come to grips with the reality of the situation, the more palatable the realization will be for you that Onyekuru will not make the team. No one is saying he is not talented - you could argue that he is even the most talented player on the SE or out of Africa if you want. The question is that does his current skill set (as is) fit into this particular SE team? I believe you already know the answer and that's why he has failed to break into the team after many tries.

The hard truth is work-rate DOES matter in modern day football. The German team that walloped the Brazilian team in the 2014 WC were not more talented than the Brazilian team (Skill wise) but they outworked the Brazilians on the day. History will always judge any team by the final scoreline in its matches, not whether a particular player did or did not play.

Finally, the comparisons you've made between Onyejuru and Simon really are a matter of conjecture. Some might believe it is a perfectly sane decision, while others like yourself might believe otherwise. Rohr, who is the final decider, believes its a perfectly sane decision. He is the coach and has his reasons, which you have every right to disagree with.
9jaMan wrote: Not the "work rate", "hustler" excuse again, una nor dey tire for junk? Numbers don't lie, Simon is not a defender, Musa is not expected to do any "dirty work". Of all the Nigerians playing similar positions as attack minded players Simon falls way "short" and you have to come up with this daft workaholic nonsense. Ebuehi showed the world the difference between talent and gra gra hustle in 45 minutes against Argentina. Nigeria will remain underachievers if y'all continue to celebrate mediocre players like Musa and Simon. Football is about intelligent players that can get results effortlessly. How can any sane human conclude that Simon is better than onyekuru? Forget bias, think numbers and facts

Otitokoro wrote:The sooner you come to grips with the reality of the situation, the more palatable the realization will be for you that Onyekuru will not make the team. No one is saying he is not talented - you could argue that he is even the most talented player on the SE or out of Africa if you want. The question is that does his current skill set (as is) fit into this particular SE team? I believe you already know the answer and that's why he has failed to break into the team after many tries.

The hard truth is work-rate DOES matter in modern day football. The German team that walloped the Brazilian team in the 2014 WC were not more talented than the Brazilian team (Skill wise) but they outworked the Brazilians on the day. History will always judge any team by the final scoreline in its matches, not whether a particular player did or did not play.

Finally, the comparisons you've made between Onyejuru and Simon really are a matter of conjecture. Some might believe it is a perfectly sane decision, while others like yourself might believe otherwise. Rohr, who is the final decider, believes its a perfectly sane decision. He is the coach and has his reasons, which you have every right to disagree with.
9jaMan wrote: Not the "work rate", "hustler" excuse again, una nor dey tire for junk? Numbers don't lie, Simon is not a defender, Musa is not expected to do any "dirty work". Of all the Nigerians playing similar positions as attack minded players Simon falls way "short" and you have to come up with this daft workaholic nonsense. Ebuehi showed the world the difference between talent and gra gra hustle in 45 minutes against Argentina. Nigeria will remain underachievers if y'all continue to celebrate mediocre players like Musa and Simon. Football is about intelligent players that can get results effortlessly. How can any sane human conclude that Simon is better than onyekuru? Forget bias, think numbers and facts

Rohr is not a know it all, he left Ebuehi on the bench and we all thought he was not good enough until we saw him in the second half against Argentina. Germany won against Brazil because the Germans were more skillful and efficient, not because they "out worked" the Brazilians. Yes the Germans were more skillful in attack and precise with their passes, it had nothing to do with "work rate". Where did Simon's work rate get Nigeria against Zambia in a must win match? It took an intelligent positioning by an intelligent Iwobi and the results is history. Stats are kept to monitor progress, and the current stats from Belgium show that Simon is not good enough for SE. The best players make the difference. Yes onyekuru is injured and may not make the WC, but Simon does not deserve to go to the WC with all the other available options. It's that simple but I understand if you don't get it. The issue of a players' skills set not fitting in a team is utter rubbish. A good coach will play his best players and create a system to fit them all. So can any team drop messi because his skill set does not fit their present team?

CE na wa. People watch highlights on tv then start picking players for the coach. :laugh:

Rohr's absolute unjustified allegiances to certain players in spite the glaring weaknesses and superior competitor is inordinately mind boggling. If he is a local coach I could have attributed his gratuitous allegiances to malfeasances, nepotism and depravity. There is no question Nigeria has better talented and skilled players than what Musa and Simon Moses can offer.

marutimon wrote:Nigerians pretty active:

Sint Truiden - Club Brugge 0:1
69' - assist Dennis Bonaventure (0:1)

Oostende - Standard Liege 2:3
27' - assist Joseph Akpala (1:0)
45' - goal Joseph Akpala (2:0)

Lokeren - Zulte Waregem 0:2
89' - goal Peter Olayinka (0:2)

Genk - Gent 1:2
11' - assist Samuel Kalu (0:1)
77' - goal Samuel Kalu (0:2)

marutimon wrote:True about Moses Simon.
But Samuel Kalu seems to get much more hype in Belgium than Moses Simon ever did.
False, Moses is a major player in his team than kalu