Rohr Explains non-invitation of Alampasu & Ajiboye....

IMHO, one MAJOR issue that every one is ignoring is Rohr's current decision not to create a competitive atmosphere among the goalkeepers in terms of making the team to Russia. While many of us agree that goalkeeping is a nightmare for the team, few have been outraged by the fact that Rohr continues to stick to a disappointing crew of three goalkeepers for THREE goalkeeping spots at the WC. Why is there not a fourth or fifth goalkeeper to create a competing atmosphere? Just my tuppence.
Why I left Alampasu, Ajiboye out of friendlies – Rohr
http://punchng.com/why-i-left-alampasu- ... lies-rohr/
Published March 13, 2018

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr believes that it was a ‘logical’ decision to leave Dele Ajiboye out of his latest Super Eagles squad despite his heroics during the African Nations Championship, ESPN reports.

Goalkeeping remains a problematic position for the national side following the retirement of Vincent Enyeama and Carl Ikeme’s leukaemia diagnosis.

However, despite demonstrating his quality with a heroic display during the Eagles’ 1-0 CHAN semi-final victory over Sudan, Ajiboye was overlooked for Nigeria’s squad ahead of their upcoming friendlies against Poland and Serbia.

“They already had their chance,” Goal quoted Rohr as saying when asked about Ajiboye and Dele Alampasu’s non-inclusion in the latest Eagles squad. “Remember that we have invited Dele.

“Dele was second choice in the CHAN team, and it’d be surprising that he was No. 1 and (Ikechukwu) Ezenwa No. 2 in the Super Eagles.

“We must be logical in our choices.

Plateau United’s Ajiboye came off the bench to replace injured captain Ezenwa early into the Eagles’ semi-final against the Falcons of Jeddiane, and ensured it was the West Africans who met Morocco in the final after a series of outstanding blocks.

Alampasu had been another contender to come into the team, but his inactivity looks likely to cost him a World Cup berth. The keeper hasn’t featured for Feirense this term, and hasn’t played a competitive match since April 2017.

“Alampasu, unfortunately, is never playing,” added Rohr. “You cannot take a goalkeeper who is never playing.”

With Ajiboye and Alampasu overlooked, Ezenwa appears favourite to start between the sticks at the World Cup, with Daniel Akpeyi and wonderkid Francis Uzoho his primary rivals.

“Uzoho made his debut for Nigeria against Argentina and did very well,” the coach continued. “He plays for the second team of (Deportivo) La Coruna; we could see him (at the World Cup).”
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Rohr Explains non-invitation of Alampasu & Ajiboye....

Probably because the three are playing to be first choice, not simply make the squad. That's the first level of competition. But yes, it could be enhanced by adding an additional keeper. I'd expect to see at least 4 GKs in the 30-man list.

EII, i am not sure i inderstand your tuppence. Perhaps you should make it threepence. :taunt:

Why do you want to invite a goalkeeper just for the sake of inviting him? Would you honestly feel comfortable taking Dele Ajiboye to the WC given his performance against Morocco? We have our best 2 goalkepers in the team. I could understand wanting a competition between Alampasu and uzuho, but as the coach said, Alampasu has not played in almost a year. Ezenwa and Akpeyi, and now Uzuho are the keepers we have. We can't manufacture one.

Ezenwa is our No 1 at the World Cup. Take it or leave it!

Robotnik wrote:Ezenwa is our No 1 at the World Cup. Take it or leave it!
Leave it.

Still don't understand the crowd who continue to shout for Alampasu's inclusion. Yes he was impressive at the U17 World Cup back in 2013, but that was 5 years ago and it has been stagnant since then.

Uzoho had another clean sheet yesterday. I think he has like 13 in 20 games so far this season. A lot has been made about his weaknesses but those numbers mean something .

People also bringing up the level of play in the Spanish 3rd division should note that the Cameroonian keeper is a bench warmer in that division... the Cameroonians stick to him despite having top goalies like Onana at Ajax and Kameni at Besiktas.

niyi wrote:Uzoho had another clean sheet yesterday. I think he has like 13 in 20 games so far this season. A lot has been made about his weaknesses but those numbers mean something .

People also bringing up the level of play in the Spanish 3rd division should note that the Cameroonian keeper is a bench warmer in that division... the Cameroonians stick to him despite having top goalies like Onana at Ajax and Kameni at Besiktas.
Who are the Cameroonians playing at the World Cup with their bench warmer?

niyi wrote:Uzoho had another clean sheet yesterday. I think he has like 13 in 20 games so far this season. A lot has been made about his weaknesses but those numbers mean something .

What's your point? They won the Nation's cup with him and he was outstanding at the confederations cup.

niyi wrote:

What's your point? They won the Nation's cup with him and he was outstanding at the confederations cup.
Good for them, but what does that have to do with us? Have our GKs been outstanding? Let’s hope they show they are up for it in these friendlies, but none of them have proven to be outstanding. And we shouldn’t be doing something just because another country that will be watching the WC from Home did it...

niyi wrote:

Good for them, but what does that have to do with us? Have our GKs been outstanding? Let’s hope they show they are up for it in these friendlies, but none of them have proven to be outstanding. And we shouldn’t be doing something just because another country that will be watching the WC from Home did it...
and here we go again, bros don't worry Enyeama will be called up so you can finally sleep well at night :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

niyi wrote:

If you know a deserving Nigerian goalkeeper somewhere bring up his name and let's discuss him. For now we have to stick with what we have and I'm pointing out the fact that what we have isn't so bad.

Based on what coach Rohr has said, does it mean our three keepers are known and we are set? Well, fingers crossed, waiting to see the latest development in this our goalkeeping problem.

niyi wrote:
niyi wrote:

If you know a deserving Nigerian goalkeeper somewhere bring up his name and let's discuss him. For now we have to stick with what we have and I'm pointing out the fact that what we have isn't so bad.
I’m just saying it would make more sense if you pointed to other WC bound teams that are taking a similar set of GKs. Cameroon that finished second to last in qualifying with their GK chopping mad goals shouldn’t be the bar.

niyi wrote:

and here we go again, bros don't worry Enyeama will be called up so you can finally sleep well at night :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Sunset wrote:Still don't understand the crowd who continue to shout for Alampasu's inclusion. Yes he was impressive at the U17 World Cup back in 2013, but that was 5 years ago and it has been stagnant since then.

Bros.. i don ask the question tire. I'm glad Rohr has put an end to this absurdity.

Odas wrote:Based on what coach Rohr has said, does it mean our three keepers are known and we are set? Well, fingers crossed, waiting to see the latest development in this our goalkeeping problem.

Nope. All it means is that two fringe players have been ruled out for sure.
“Alampasu, unfortunately, is never playing,” added Rohr. “You cannot take a goalkeeper who is never playing.
Interesting that Alampasu is the only one he singled and rules out in this category at this time. :D

Enugu II wrote:IMHO, one MAJOR issue that every one is ignoring is Rohr's current decision not to create a competitive atmosphere among the goalkeepers in terms of making the team to Russia. While many of us agree that goalkeeping is a nightmare for the team, few have been outraged by the fact that Rohr continues to stick to a disappointing crew of three goalkeepers for THREE goalkeeping spots at the WC. Why is there not a fourth or fifth goalkeeper to create a competing atmosphere? Just my tuppence.
YEa i def see your point. I guess there will be three games after the may 14 30 man deadline to assess any new keeper he adds to this list should he decide to do so. If he decides to stick with the devil he knows and these truly are the 3 dudes going to the WC, like someone said, its a fight for the pecking order. That should still be competitive enough.

Odas wrote:Based on what coach Rohr has said, does it mean our three keepers are known and we are set? Well, fingers crossed, waiting to see the latest development in this our goalkeeping problem.

Nope. All it means is that two fringe players have been ruled out for sure.
“Alampasu, unfortunately, is never playing,” added Rohr. “You cannot take a goalkeeper who is never playing.
Interesting that Alampasu is the only one he singled and rules out in this category at this time. :D
The other player (Bro Vin) is implied. Although he is busy keeping clean sheets on youtube training videos.
Last edited by 1naija on Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The point is that in defense, midfield and forward we have some competition for squad places. In goalkeeping which we consider poor, there is no such competition. Don't tell me that there are no other Nigerians who can compete with Akpeyi if we claim Akpeyi is so poor. Makes little sense.

Please do not limit your imagination by considering only Alampasu and Ajiboye as only options for competition at that position. Surely there are other options.
Last edited by Enugu II on Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

In the big picture, the invitation of 28 players is baffling.

We are supposed to submit a list of 30 players by May ending and these are the last friendlies before the submission. Of the 30 players, 23 will make the final cut while the remaining 7 will be alternate players. One of them should be a goalkeeper, at least.

Well, maybe Rohr will just submit his 23 players. I remember one country did that in 2014.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Enugu II wrote:The point is that in defense, midfield and forward we have some competition for squad places. In goalkeeping which we consider poor, there is no such competition. Don't tell me that there are no other Nigerians who can compete with Akpeyi if we claim Akpeyi is so poor. Makes little sense.

Please do not limit your imagination by considering only Alampasu and Ajiboye as only options for competition at that position. Surely there are other options.
I hear you but the fact that the GK position is a position where only one player can play vs other positions makes it a bit different from those positions. At the end of the day, there is competition between 3 players for 1 starting spot. He could argue that he had a competition of 5 keepers that he has narrowed already down to 3 and he just needs to focus on finding his starter. I am not comfy with it, but he is loathe to bring in new players into his squad.