Rohr allays fear of serious Joel Obi injury

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:25 pm
by Ahidjo
The Super Eagles gaffer informed he has been in touch with the former Inter Milan man who said he was only managing the situation, and nothing more
Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr reveals that Joel Obi's absence from action over the weekend was only a 'precaution' and nothing serious.

The midfielder was notably left out of Torino's squad to face AS Roma on Friday evening - a match his side lost 3-0 with second-half goals from Kostas Manolas, Daniele De Rossi and Lorenzo Pellegrini doing the damage - which raised eyebrows as regards the fitness of the injury-ravaged player.

However, the Super Eagles gaffer says the midfielder told him he was only managing the situation as there was no major injury concern."Yes, I called him when I saw that. I called him [on Saturday] night to find out why he did not play," Rohr told Goal.
"He told me that it is precaution because he had some injury problems and but we will keep in touch with Torino’s medical team because in the past he had big number of injuries."
The coach, hoping for Obi to attain full fitness ahead of pre-World Cup friendlies against Poland and Serbia later this month, believes the 26-year-old would give him more option in midfield, with players in that department enduring contrasting fate in their various clubs.

"We have some interesting players, we see all the time [Wilfried] Ndidi does very well for Leicester City, we see some problems for [Ogenyi] Onazi, who is not playing all the time in Turkey, the same for Mikel Agu - who's not in my list this time, but we have John Ogu who is doing very well," he continued.

"We have now Joel Obi; I hope he'd be fit, we have our captain John Obi Mikel who played the whole game [for Tianjin Teda on Saturday].

"All we have to do now is have a very good scouting. To monitor them. Which is why the scouting team around me, each Sunday night we make a meeting via phone to see how they are doing."

Obi has had a decent run this season, having already featured in 18 Serie A games - two short of last term's 20 and nine off his record league appearance [27 at Inter Milan in the 2011/12 campaign].

http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/rohr-all ... bdfl5s0xam

Re: Rohr allays fear of serious Joel Obi injury

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:36 pm
What is "gaffer?" morons

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:04 pm
by Eaglezbeak
At least they checked up on him! :clap:

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:20 pm
danfo driver wrote:What is "gadder?" morons
Simple error. No need for name calling. If he didn’t write you wouldn’t know it.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:23 pm
Simple error. No need for name calling. If he didn’t write you wouldn’t know it.

he didnt make an error. he spelled it right. We dont use the word "gaffer." The English do. The same way the Spanish call their coaches "Mister." We need to stop copying the English on every single thing. Its embarrassing.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:58 pm
by opine

he didnt make an error. he spelled it right. We dont use the word "gaffer." The English do. The same way the Spanish call their coaches "Mister." We need to stop copying the English on every single thing. Its embarrassing.
The sweat merchant :D

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:02 pm
by Sunset

Na wa ohh!! Should we stop speaking English all together then? :lol: :lol:

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:10 pm
opine wrote:

Na our own be that. :clap: :clap: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:13 pm
With Onazi not seeing much time I think Ogu is almost a shoe in to start if he keeps playing well. We’ve no direct replacement for Onazi unless Ndidi plays the DM role and we look for another CM.

Obi and Etebo are not ball winners

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:08 pm
by Cito
Hi
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:With Onazi not seeing much time I think Ogu is almost a shoe in to start if he keeps playing well. We’ve no direct replacement for Onazi unless Ndidi plays the DM role and we look for another CM.

And here I was thinking he will be a ‘bata’ abi na ‘opanka’ in. :D

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:27 pm
by maceo4
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:With Onazi not seeing much time I think Ogu is almost a shoe in to start if he keeps playing well. We’ve no direct replacement for Onazi unless Ndidi plays the DM role and we look for another CM.

If Onazi is fit he will be starting, he played yesterday for his team Trabzonspor.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:04 pm
by eyan
Joel Obi is not someone u can take to a tournament, cos u don't want a case Kanu 2002 to repeat itself.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:17 pm
by metalalloy
eyan wrote:Joel Obi is not someone u can take to a tournament, cos u don't want a case Kanu 2002 to repeat itself.

Cmon You people should quit this fear mongering. We have had "fit" players get injured at tournaments before (Iroha, Mobi, Amokachi, Onazi, Baba Messi etc). If he is healthy by May 13, 2018 and has satisfied all other requirements for selection, he has to go. You cant take some lesser player at his expense because you are scared of a possible injury.

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:00 pm
by eyan
eyan wrote:Joel Obi is not someone u can take to a tournament, cos u don't want a case Kanu 2002 to repeat itself.

Cmon You people should quit this fear mongering. We have had "fit" players get injured at tournaments before (Iroha, Mobi, Amokachi, Onazi, Baba Messi etc). If he is healthy by May 13, 2018 and has satisfied all other requirements for selection, he has to go. You cant take some lesser player at his expense because you are scared of a possible injury.
Those guys except Onazi r not injury prone like Obi? Mobi got injured ke? When? Onazi is injury prone, his backup to some extent is Obi, that can get injured even in training. It’s not about fear, just analyzing facts. Amo still played 3.5 matches before getting injured.

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:43 pm
by Damunk
eyan wrote:

Those guys except Onazi r not injury prone like Obi? Mobi got injured ke? When? Onazi is injury prone, his backup to some extent is Obi, that can get injured even in training. It’s not about just analyzing facts. Amo still played 3.5 matches before getting injured.
But you still cannot compromise on quality just because there's a higher risk of injury in a player that is fit at the time of the commencement of a tournament.

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:47 pm
by mcal
opine wrote:

Na our own be that. :clap: :clap: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
...may be we should stop "storming" english left right and center :lol:

That said, why are they bent on taking an injury prone guy to world cup? Seems every time person check news na Joel Obi is injured :???: