Rohr Interview

Re: Rohr Interview

Robotnik wrote:South Africa celebrated their victory over Nigeria and lost most of their qualifiers. Nigeria celebrated their victory over Argentina...We should be humble.
Ol boy, who you telling, they will be gunning for us, lets hope we don't need points in that game.
Ah ah now, why you following a collapsed person around? While you are at it u fit help me drop that dancing gif?
:thumbs:

charlie wrote:
• On the Argentina Friendly:
Put the win in context (no Messi + fatigue from playing Russia shortly before). Reckons the win wasn’t to our advantage, as Argentina won’t take us lightly in the next game.
Rohr is very wise. As I have said previously, it is unwise for us to trumpet our recent victory in a friendly against Argentina. We have painted a target on our backs and will need to work twice as hard now to make sure we deserve that target moving forward.

I just hope we dont need 3 points from our 3rd group game against Argentina, because they would love nothing else but to knock us out of the world cup.
Don't tell that to Emir Kongi and et al.
To them, Argentina's game will be a formality as either they or 9ja, would have already qualified.

9jaMan wrote:Rohr is a clown, so he does not believe that Nigeria will make the final? No wonder he is forcing junks like Musa and akpeyi on Nigerians.

He is a realist. " Mere belief gets you absolutely nowhere"

Robotnik wrote:South Africa celebrated their victory over Nigeria and lost most of their qualifiers. Nigeria celebrated their victory over Argentina...We should be humble.
Ol boy, who you telling, they will be gunning for us, lets hope we don't need points in that game.
Ah ah now, why you following a collapsed person around? While you are at it u fit help me drop that dancing gif?
:thumbs:
:woot:

I just got a video of Obong Itatex. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Mane and Mahrez are not Messi! :rotf: :rotf:
miky

Post by miky »

metalalloy wrote:Thank you very much for sharing. Kai some people will not be happy to read that Rohr considers the following as his most important players to the team
Mikel
Onazi
Musa.

Again, the man places a huge amount of importance on experience

pls say it again! especially for musas case! the joker in our team! musa should just work on his crossing, because he is def one of our top platey
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

I think the CHinese league is still hiring. Eyeama should move their asap. or even Dubai, Norway or one of them leagues that commence around this time.

Mr Shows wrote: Below is my summary from the article.....

On the Argentina Friendly:
Put the win in context (no Messi + fatigue from playing Russia shortly before). Reckons the win wasn’t to our advantage, as Argentina won’t take us lightly in the next game.
This is exactly what I thought and said before we played Argentina and some people thought otherwise.
Last edited by Odas on Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The result vs Argentina isn't that important.... surprised by Rohr's angle on it. All he needs to say is that nobody should get carried away and then talk up the positives rather than timid words about a friendly win not being to our advantage.

metalalloy wrote:Thank you very much for sharing. Kai some people will not be happy to read that Rohr considers the following as his most important players to the team
Mikel
Onazi
Musa.

Again, the man places a huge amount of importance on experience
Yeah, no matter what, everybody will not be happy - in some decisions - due to one reason or the other and this will not be different.

Anyway, those who will be unhappy, na dem sabi. The coach don tok.

• On Vincent Enyeama:
Noted he is 3rd choice at Lille, isn’t playing and wasn’t able to get a move in the January window. Consequently, said his return to the SE is “Not really up for debate”.

Two cybereagle members just collapsed :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Now THAT is a clear unambiguous statement on Enyeama.
Finally, all the arguments and et al., are OVER. Now we can all go to the next stage about our team and who our keepers will be, and why

9jaMan wrote:Rohr is a clown, so he does not believe that Nigeria will make the final? No wonder he is forcing junks like Musa and akpeyi on Nigerians.
What? Are you serious or you are simply being sarcastic?

The YeyeMan wrote:The result vs Argentina isn't that important.... surprised by Rohr's angle on it. All he needs to say is that nobody should get carried away and then talk up the positives rather than timid words about a friendly win not being to our advantage.

His answer is very measured and appropriate. Why should he write a check with his mouth he cant cash? The question was "in one of your last friendly games, you faced Argentina and beat them, somewhat surprisingly 4-2. Do you think the game was an indicator of what is to come from your side?"

he rightfully pointed out that the game had to be put in context and gave reasons why. He is 100% correct in stating that we remain cautious , should not overrate the result and that it will make Argentina (and other teams)take us seriously in the WC game.

What is wrong with that?

I agree with him. I understand trying to make us look like the underdog, but I hope he does not actually think we don't have a chance. What actually concerns me the most in the interview is that he said he wishes Germany and France are in the finals. What will be his mindset if we meet either team in the knockout stage?

Rohr is simply keeping his player's feet firmly on the ground..So they don't get carried away. Beating Germany will give him recognition and respect back home, sentiments aside, I am sure Rohr won't mind that..

• On Vincent Enyeama:
Noted he is 3rd choice at Lille, isn’t playing and wasn’t able to get a move in the January window. Consequently, said his return to the SE is “Not really up for debate”.

Two cybereagle members just collapsed :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Now THAT is a clear unambiguous statement on Enyeama.
Finally, all the arguments and et al., are OVER. Now we can all go to the next stage about our team and who our keepers will be, and why
Thank God!

At least, we will never have to hear that name again and he can move on and try to revive his career in the wilderness. Abeg! :clap: :clap:

Obong! how market? :lol: :lol: :lol:

He didn't say we don't have a chance. But no matter how you spin it, nothing changes the fact thats we are the 52nd ranked team and lowest ranked team in our group, and the youngest team in the torunament. We have missed the last couple of nations cups. There is NOTHING that suggests we are in a position to reach the WC final. Setting unrealistic goals at this point is a sure recipe for failure. He has set a fair QF target.

As for wishing for a Germany vs France final, LOL the guy is german and lived and coached in France for years what do you want him to say. IF we happen to meet either team in the knockout stage it is in his interest to defeat them as it boosts his career. There is noting wrong with setting realistic goals and being honest/frank in interviews. I respect him for that.

The YeyeMan wrote:The result vs Argentina isn't that important.... surprised by Rohr's angle on it. All he needs to say is that nobody should get carried away and then talk up the positives rather than timid words about a friendly win not being to our advantage.

His answer is very measured and appropriate. Why should he write a check with his mouth he cant cash? The question was "in one of your last friendly games, you faced Argentina and beat them, somewhat surprisingly 4-2. Do you think the game was an indicator of what is to come from your side?"

he rightfully pointed out that the game had to be put in context and gave reasons why. He is 100% correct in stating that we remain cautious , should not overrate the result and that it will make Argentina (and other teams)take us seriously in the WC game.

What is wrong with that?
Cool. I was going by the summary provided by Mr Shows.

danfo driver wrote:Image

Obong! how market? :lol: :lol: :lol:
soccernut

Post by soccernut »

In my opinion, Vince is still the man!

Yes, he is getting up there in age, but historically the best GKs in the world have mostly been guys in their mid to late 30s.
I just wonder with more intensive cardio training, and 5 friendlies to go - if we won't have gotten our "Enyeamagnet" back.
His reaction time is still unbelievable. Mad respect!

Na wah for you O? Your still showing all these staged videos, huh?
Isn't this obvious to you that this isn't the Lille first team training grounds?
LOSC Lille train at their grounds in Domaine de Luchin. Enyeama trains are Wasquehal, which is 20 mins away.
Obong wrote: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Last edited by Otitokoro on Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.