Barcelona 3-0 Chelsea

Re: Barcelona 3-0 Chelsea

YUJAM wrote:They are slightly more cynical compared to Peo's teams. But jeez they got some serious balance
YUJAM wrote:Watching the game and Barca played within themselves. It was a measured performance. Barca kept their shape and defensive discipline. They are well balanced both sides of the ball

The match reminds me of two boxers where one simply has the measure if the other. He might even
occasionally let his opponent land multiple blows but he knows no matter what, he can land more blows. It is called an efficient performance. Barca had a hear they didn't even have need to shift to.
Yujam,
Remember when I said Barca are the best team in Europe...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=286204&hilit=Barca

I think more people have come to see the light,...especially Chelsea and ManU fans :biggrin:

For me, the UEFA title is between 4 teams now (depending on how the next draws go of course)...

Real Madrid (can never bet against them)
Barcelona (best team in Europe)
Manchester City (offensive juggernaut)
Juventus (their defense and experience will see them past almost every team, except Barca & Madrid)

Of course, the luck of the draws on friday will decide who really has a chance at the Semis.

People are forgetting Bayern Munchen. Juventus will crack easily as will Man City.

A lot of funny people on this board. You support a team to the point of losing all sense of the game. Barca was way better than Chelsea. Chelsea was in trouble every time even when they pressured the Barca defense you just knew that Barca will get the ball and drive it home.
green4life wrote:No problem. I don't do moral victories so I don't know why you are targeting me. Congrats to una. You have done well.
green4life wrote:Hit bar 4 times in this series. That coupled with a basket in goal haven't helped
Again, how many actual chances did Chelsea create over two legs?

How many thru balls with a 1v1 with Ter Stegen?

Or a clear chance in the box with the Barca defence opened up?
4 balls hitting the bar aren't chances. No problem. They have won. Good work.
You can hit the bar from the center circle. That's not a chance created...

Willian hit the post twice from well outside the box..

The other two came from set pieces. Those are not chances created. They don't even count as shots on target! Sorry...

Cristao II wrote:People are forgetting Bayern Munchen. Juventus will crack easily as will Man City.
Bros, no disrespect to Bayern Munchen, but they are suffering from the PSG syndrome.
In the years where they have showed up in the UCL, they were neck and neck with Dortmund in a title race, which kept them sharp and forced them to raise their game for the big dance.

Its been too easy for them in the Bundesleague league this year. I predict they will fall against Juventus, Madrid or Barca if they get matched against them, but might have a chance against City (they match up well against Pep's strengths/weaknesses and know his system well).

This game told me more about Barca than Chelsea.

Never have I seen Barca so resolute in defense. As much pressure as Chelsea applied there were no wonder saves from Ter Stegen because of the collective discipline from Barca. I mean gosh Dembele was making a sliding tackle in 18 yard box to prevent Alonso scoring! I tried to imagine Hazard doing that......

And then that Umtiti fella. Has any Barcelona player had more blocks/clearances in a game than he did yesterday??? Chelsea put their foot on Barca’s throat and Barca stuffed em right back and sprinkled Messi on top. Courtois being a cheerful giver.

As a Chelsea fan...today made me realize that when it’s not ur day, nothing u can do. Just carry ur ball go house.

Cristao II wrote:People are forgetting Bayern Munchen. Juventus will crack easily as will Man City.
Betting against Juve so easily? Two finals in the last three years no be by mistake bruv.

Senator WIRES wrote::lol: :lol:

the blogger from Enugu said this skirt wearer is the best GK in the Prem

analyzer

Post by analyzer »

joplass wrote:A lot of funny people on this board. You support a team to the point of losing all sense of the game. Barca was way better than Chelsea. Chelsea was in trouble every time even when they pressured the Barca defense you just knew that Barca will get the ball and drive it home.
green4life wrote:No problem. I don't do moral victories so I don't know why you are targeting me. Congrats to una. You have done well.
green4life wrote:Hit bar 4 times in this series. That coupled with a basket in goal haven't helped

The other two came from set pieces. Those are not chances created. They don't even count as shots on target! Sorry...
No vex bro, but you are contributing to the "funny people on CE".. :D :taunt: :taunt:

I don't think anyone here is saying that Barca was not the better team over two legs, but cannot deny that CFC did not have some decent opportunities to keep themselves firmly in this tie. Sometimes difference can be luck. Messi's 1st goal yesterday came off a lucky bounce that put him into space. Alonso found himself in similar positions to Dembele (for 1st goal) but could not execute. If Alonso's FK was just an inch below or he got the PK call..

Barca deserves to advance, but CFC will have to look at how they mismanaged some of their opportunities when they had the ball.
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Ugbowo wrote:This game told me more about Barca than Chelsea.

Never have I seen Barca so resolute in defense. As much pressure as Chelsea applied there were no wonder saves from Ter Stegen because of the collective discipline from Barca. I mean gosh Dembele was making a sliding tackle in 18 yard box to prevent Alonso scoring! I tried to imagine Hazard doing that......

And then that Umtiti fella. Has any Barcelona player had more blocks/clearances in a game than he did yesterday??? Chelsea put their foot on Barca’s throat and Barca stuffed em right back and sprinkled Messi on top. Courtois being a cheerful giver.

As a Chelsea fan...today made me realize that when it’s not ur day, nothing u can do. Just carry ur ball go house.
Bro, I go slow down a bit on hyping up Barca's defense. While Barca's D held up well, I will also point to CFC's lack of execution in final 3rd.. Watching the game, I noticed 3 key things
1. Barca's right side is weak. Think of the number of times Alonso found himself free in the left side of the box 18. A quicker/better player would have taken advantage.

2. Willian and Kante had so much joy driving through Barca's "slow" midfield. Barca's midfield looks like a team that will struggle with fast paced/skillful ball carriers (Sane/Mane/Salah). Granted Paulinho did not start yesterday.

3. When in the offensive 3rd, CFC lacked ideas on how to consistently test Barca's D. There was little intricate passing or off ball movement. Willian & Hazard kept wanting to come to the ball as opposed to making off ball runs. Only Alonso was trying to make runs into the box from the left..

I think a Pool/City are most suited to properly test that Barca defense. Does not mean their Defense might fair well against Messi..
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....

Conte would like to turn Messi into a defender.

Re: Barcelona vs Chelsea

kajifu wrote:Chelsea might hand Barca their first beat down.Hazard will have to take the game as if he is Messi to give Chelsea hope
A True Arsenal fan..........very unrealistic.
Re: Barcelona vs Chelsea

wale1974 wrote:
kajifu wrote:Chelsea might hand Barca their first beat down.Hazard will have to take the game as if he is Messi to give Chelsea hope
A True Arsenal fan..........very unrealistic.
No be Kajifunmilayo? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

analyzer wrote:

Bro, I go slow down a bit on hyping up Barca's defense. While Barca's D held up well, I will also point to CFC's lack of execution in final 3rd.. Watching the game, I noticed 3 key things
1. Barca's right side is weak. Think of the number of times Alonso found himself free in the left side of the box 18. A quicker/better player would have taken advantage.

2. Willian and Kante had so much joy driving through Barca's "slow" midfield. Barca's midfield looks like a team that will struggle with fast paced/skillful ball carriers (Sane/Mane/Salah). Granted Paulinho did not start yesterday.

3. When in the offensive 3rd, CFC lacked ideas on how to consistently test Barca's D. There was little intricate passing or off ball movement. Willian & Hazard kept wanting to come to the ball as opposed to making off ball runs. Only Alonso was trying to make runs into the box from the left..

I think a Pool/City are most suited to properly test that Barca defense. Does not mean their Defense might fair well against Messi..
You sabi ball. This Barca's defensive unit is very English. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

last ditch tackles, riding their luck with shots coming of the ball, brave blocks. This is not a good team defensively. Their fullbacks are poor and Pique and Umiti are both slow.

airwolex wrote:
analyzer wrote:

You sabi ball. This Barca's defensive unit is very English. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

last ditch tackles, riding their luck with shots coming of the ball, brave blocks. This is not a good team defensively. Their fullbacks are poor and Pique and Umiti are both slow.
how many goals did Chelsea score over 2 legs against a team that is not good defensively? How many goals has Ream Madrid scored against them this season?

airwolex wrote:
analyzer wrote:

how many goals did Chelsea score over 2 legs against a team that is not good defensively? How many goals has Ream Madrid scored against them this season?
They have been riding their luck. Alonso alone should have scored 3 yesterday.

airwolex wrote:
analyzer wrote:

Chief, I don't think it was because Barca were so good defensively. It is because Chelsea's attack was so toothless. So bereft of ideas.

airwolex wrote:
analyzer wrote:

you think soccer is basketball?

airwolex wrote:
analyzer wrote:

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

analyzer wrote:
joplass wrote:A lot of funny people on this board. You support a team to the point of losing all sense of the game. Barca was way better than Chelsea. Chelsea was in trouble every time even when they pressured the Barca defense you just knew that Barca will get the ball and drive it home.

No vex bro, but you are contributing to the "funny people on CE".. :D :taunt: :taunt:

I don't think anyone here is saying that Barca was not the better team over two legs, but cannot deny that CFC did not have some decent opportunities to keep themselves firmly in this tie. Sometimes difference can be luck. Messi's 1st goal yesterday came off a lucky bounce that put him into space. Alonso found himself in similar positions to Dembele (for 1st goal) but could not execute. If Alonso's FK was just an inch below or he got the PK call..

Barca deserves to advance, but CFC will have to look at how they mismanaged some of their opportunities when they had the ball.

Plus if the sky was slightly less orange!

And Putin did not commission a hit on that ex spy!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

airwolex wrote:

Are you minding Airwolex? He is probably posting from a peppersoup joint as we speak.

Brazil '82 scores 2 goals against Italy AND still loses, Airwolex claims the Italians were masters of defense on that day, and if the match went on forever, Brazil was never going to win.

Chelsea scores ZERO goals and concedes THREE against Barca. Airwolex claims the Barca's defense was just riding their luck...OK o.

Are you minding Airwolex? He is probably posting from a peppersoup joint as we speak.

Brazil '82 scores 2 goals against Italy AND still loses, Airwolex claims the Italians were masters of defense on that day, and if the match went on forever, Brazil was never going to win.

Chelsea scores ZERO goals and concedes THREE against Barca. Airwolex claims the Barca's defense was just riding their luck...OK o.
I don't believe I said that...I said Italy was better on the day and would have won if the match went on for 1 more hour. I don't think I ever said they were masters fo defense...they outplayed Brazil. Barca defense did ride their luck and was lucky not to concede. I have listed the chances, the fact that a soccer team didn't concede doesn't mean they weren't lucky.

airwolex wrote:

I don't believe I said that...I said Italy was better on the day and would have won if the match went on for 1 more hour. I don't think I ever said they were masters fo defense...they outplayed Brazil. Barca defense did ride their luck and was lucky not to concede. I have listed the chances, the fact that a soccer team didn't concede doesn't mean they weren't lucky.

So has Barca been lucky all season, in Europe and in Spain?