Rohr offers Torunarigha World Cup Spot, reports ESPN

Re: Rohr offers Torunarigha World Cup Spot, reports ESPN

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Can someone who watches the Bundeliga please confirm if he plays more as a centreback than as a leftback. He is supposed to be a leftfooted fullback who can also play as a centreback.

I dont think he has played Left back this season at all. Plattenhadt is their starting left back and the only game I have seen of him, this season, he played as a CB.

And from what I saw of him last season, I will say he is " a left footed CENTER BACK WHO CAN PLAY AS A LEFT BACK." So, the other way around.

Him and/or Udokhai will be very helpful for us, with our plans to play 3 at the back in some games.

Seen him in two games at LB this season...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

ANC wrote:honestly, this is becoming unfair...how do you offer someone a ticket even before making sure he is a good fit for SE?
That might be the reprter's spin to get you angry and talking.
It might simply be a case of an invitation to train and join in with the WC preparations.

Agreed.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

ANC wrote:honestly, this is becoming unfair...how do you offer someone a ticket even before making sure he is a good fit for SE?
That might be the reprter's spin to get you angry and talking.
It might simply be a case of an invitation to train and join in with the WC preparations.
Yup. If you also consider Ademola was offered another free spot. It means the rest are only fighting for 21 places

everyone is entitled to a ticket to Russia it doesn't even has to be offered. getting the actual ticket in the 23 man squad is an entirely different thing. And you seem to overlook that this was translated from German to English

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Yiba

Post by Yiba »

It is an open secret that Rohr is trying to seduce Bundesliga players of Nigerian heritage a chance to play in Russia.

Torunarigha has improved his game tremendously, but I am afraid, the most important person in his life who has to give him the go-ahead to play for Nigeria is his father, Ojokojo. Unfortunately, the father never says anything positive about Nigeria.

Yiba wrote:It is an open secret that Rohr is trying to seduce Bundesliga players of Nigerian heritage a chance to play in Russia.

Torunarigha has improved his game tremendously, but I am afraid, the most important person in his life who has to give him the go-ahead to play for Nigeria is his father, Ojokojo. Unfortunately, the father never says anything positive about Nigeria.
It has to take a 'special' kind of African father to want his own son to turn his back on his heritage....if what you say is true.
Polly

Post by Polly »

Polly wrote:
Thank you! I was going to say the same thing. How fair is this? Are we that desperate?
Yes. In the defence we are. Truth, not emotion.
Fine! But wouldn't it have been proper to invite him for the friendlies (granted his has not switched to us) before making or guaranteeing him a world-cup spot, if the title of the article is true?
I completely agree with you.

Yiba wrote:It is an open secret that Rohr is trying to seduce Bundesliga players of Nigerian heritage a chance to play in Russia.

It has to take a 'special' kind of African father to want his own son to turn his back on his heritage....if what you say is true.
And a special kind of Nigerian father who represented Nigeria, himself.

Yup, that in addition.

“ I was told of the interest from Nigeria by my father but as someone who has played for Nigeria in the past, he advised me to focus on progressing through the ranks with Germany instead of considering a switch to Nigeria “, he said.

Read more at: https://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/05/tor ... a-germany/
Maybe his pops went through some stuff when he represented Nigeria that is influencing his POV. As disapointing as it could be if this kid is really SE material, It is not really fair to judge in a vacuum.

Yiba

Post by Yiba »

I am not here to post false stories or attack his father. It is not my style! Please read the following links and find out!

1.http://www.90min.de/posts/4940069-herth ... ia-spielen

2.https://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/05/tor ... a-germany/

niyi wrote:
walesvilla wrote:
And my query is what happens after world cup? will they still committed to future call ups ?? however if Rohr promises him world spot does not mean he will start- all depends on fitness of Balogun and he must at least play one of the friendlies -
It feels very wrong when a player has repeatedly turnwd us down then we try to tempt him with a world cup place. Hopefully the news is false.
I hope is not true,he should be the one begging to play not him offer world cup spot,Abi the guy na Messi or Neymar?His he good at his age like likes of Maldini,Baresi?If not they should stop offer such kids world cup spot.

Yiba wrote:

I am not here to post false stories or attack his father. It is not my style! Please read the following links and find out!

I don't think Damunk or anyone accused you of either. From the links you have posted, while the father didn't say anything positive about Nigeria, he didn't say anything negative either. From the little i can see, he thinks his son has a good shot breaking into the German side due to the rarity of a left center back with a strong left foot.

Yiba

Post by Yiba »

Yiba wrote:

I don't think Damunk or anyone accused you of either. From the links you have posted, while the father didn't say anything positive about Nigeria, he didn't say anything negative either. From the little i can see, he thinks his son has a good shot breaking into the German side due to the rarity of a left center back with a strong left foot.
FYI, the father is in a better position to advice his son because he is an ex-Super Eagle. The last time i followed Jordan's trajectory, the father is stark in his life. I do not know now, if the father still works with Hertha Berlin's youth department. It is a blessing for the family that his son has graduated from the youth team. What i am saying is, the father does not want him to play for Nigeria, and we should accept it and move on.

Yiba wrote:
Yiba wrote:

FYI, the father is in a better position to advice his son because he is an ex-Super Eagle. The last time i followed Jordan's trajectory, the father is stark in his life. I do not know now, if the father still works with Hertha Berlin's youth department. It is a blessing for the family that his son has graduated from the youth team. What i am saying is, the father does not want him to play for Nigeria, and we should accept it and move on.
Hence my very first response above to Damunks post!
Maybe his pops went through some stuff when he represented Nigeria that is influencing his POV. As disapointing as it could be if this kid is really SE material, It is not really fair to judge in a vacuum.

Yiba wrote:

Chill man!
I'm not accusing you of anything at all!
I'm just saying its unusual for a Naija father to discourage his son from reconnecting with his roots by any means necessary. He must be very disillusioned.

Thank you! I was going to say the same thing. How fair is this? Are we that desperate?
It's business. If he's a better player or prospect than what we currently have then I say go for it.

Many players help teams qualify and still get cut. From what I recollect Chidi Nwanu and Peter Rufai didn't play in the USA 94 WCQ and yet both were starters at the tourney.
Last edited by theYemster on Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

How is leaving the options open for his son making him turn his back on his heritage? You made similar choice as did many of us that accepted foreign citizenship to better our lives. Did you turn your back on your heritage?

Yiba wrote:
Yiba wrote:

:lol: Please do tell more. Was he not given his promised match bonus when played for SUPER Eagles?
Damunky, I agree, he is a special kind of father. :sad: Kai some people really dislike that S.h. of a country.

Yiba wrote:What i am saying is, the father does not want him to play for Nigeria, and we should accept it and move on.
Pfff! I say let the boy decide. The father can want whatever he likes.

How is leaving the options open for his son making him turn his back on his heritage? You made similar choice as did many of us that accepted foreign citizenship to better our lives. Did you turn your back on your heritage?
Olodo, the wider point made has again passed over your mononeuronic head.

Me, I was "a Bri'ish" before I ever knew I was Nigerian but accepted my Naija heritage with open arms at the first opportunity....and have never looked back. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Yiba wrote:What i am saying is, the father does not want him to play for Nigeria, and we should accept it and move on.

Would you go against your fathers advise in such circumstance? The father actually had a first hand experience with Nigeria.

IMHO, I totally see where the man (father) is coming from, but he is being short sighted.

ANC wrote:

Would you go against your fathers advise in such circumstance? The father actually had a first hand experience with Nigeria.

IMHO, I totally see where the man (father) is coming from, but he is being short sighted.
I'd make up my own mind on my future.