FA Cup: Kelechi vs Moses, WE 1, US 2

Re: FA Cup: Kelechi vs Moses, WE 1, US 2

charlie wrote:
pajimoh wrote:Why 2 ex Chelsea doing the draw? Msshhheew
Are you claiming na Ojoro in action?
Yep. Just warm up two balls and get them to pick out the two first - fixed

A Conte Vs Jose final would be good. At least I trust Jose to get in his head one more time before Conte gets the sack.

charlie wrote:
Sounds like you have extensive hands on experience... :taunt:

charlie wrote:
Sounds like you have extensive hands on experience... :taunt:
White people don dey cheat long time. Na so Dem take own land wey dia ancestors no even know exist

Ndidi didn't last the full 120, but wow... what a beast performance. Absolute dominance in midfield.
Pavarotti

Post by Pavarotti »

b]Victor Moses Chelsea Knock Iheanacho & Ndidis Leicester Out of FA Cup[/b]

Nigerian winger Victor Moses got the better of his Nigerian Counterparts Kelechi iheanacho and Wilfred Ndidi as Chelsea edged out Leicester city 2-1 in the English FA cup on Sunday

In a fiercely contested game it took an extra time goal from Spanish forward Pedro to send the Blues through to the Semi finals of the FA cup at the expense . . . http://www.soccerassembly.com/victor-mo ... er-fa-cup/

Pavarotti wrote:b]Victor Moses Chelsea Knock Iheanacho & Ndidis Leicester Out of FA Cup[/b]

Nigerian winger Victor Moses got the better of his Nigerian Counterparts Kelechi iheanacho and Wilfred Ndidi as Chelsea edged out Leicester city 2-1 in the English FA cup on Sunday

In a fiercely contested game it took an extra time goal from Spanish forward Pedro to send the Blues through to the Semi finals of the FA cup at the expense . . . http://www.soccerassembly.com/victor-mo ... er-fa-cup/

Ndidi should take time o! why is he trying to quack a fellow Naija player in this pic?

TheHitman47
Re: FA Cup: Kelechi vs Moses, WE 0, US 1

Post by TheHitman47 »

charlie wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:
charlie wrote:Summary of Kelechi's performance:
His a support striker, not a pure striker.
He excels with the ball to his feet and quick, accurate passes through the midfield, with players running into space.

This is the anti-thesis of Leceister football, where they have so many players that like to run forward with possession, only to lift hopeful balls into the 18, hoping Vardy can get on it.

Example: Look at the Leceister equalizer. Mahrez running forward, hopeful pass into the box, poor poor defending from Chelsea, and Vardy who has done nothing all day forcing the ball in.

Kelechi would be better served playing in La Liga, where they play a better, more technical brand of football.
Don't agree with the point you made on him better served playing in La Liga. He has a lot of technical deficiencies in his game that would limit him from playing in a lot of teams, also he seriously lacks work rate and pace. I think the French league or italian league would be better suited for him.
What are his technical deficiencies? Please list them.
Inconsistent first touch.

Inconsistent passing.

Lack of work rate/phyiscality.

Poor awareness in regards to knowing when to challenge and not challenge (he's gotten a lot of yellow cards for this and given up fouls in bad areas)

Lack of aerial threat.

His strength is his finishing, which in all honesty is the only reason why he is a regular number in the super eagles. If Ighalo or Ideye had nacho's finishing they would be regular starters on the team.

TheHitman47 wrote:
charlie wrote:
TheHitman47 wrote:
charlie wrote:Summary of Kelechi's performance:
His a support striker, not a pure striker.
He excels with the ball to his feet and quick, accurate passes through the midfield, with players running into space.

This is the anti-thesis of Leceister football, where they have so many players that like to run forward with possession, only to lift hopeful balls into the 18, hoping Vardy can get on it.

Example: Look at the Leceister equalizer. Mahrez running forward, hopeful pass into the box, poor poor defending from Chelsea, and Vardy who has done nothing all day forcing the ball in.

Kelechi would be better served playing in La Liga, where they play a better, more technical brand of football.
Don't agree with the point you made on him better served playing in La Liga. He has a lot of technical deficiencies in his game that would limit him from playing in a lot of teams, also he seriously lacks work rate and pace. I think the French league or italian league would be better suited for him.
What are his technical deficiencies? Please list them.
Inconsistent first touch.

Inconsistent passing.

Lack of work rate/phyiscality.

Poor awareness in regards to knowing when to challenge and not challenge (he's gotten a lot of yellow cards for this and given up fouls in bad areas)

Lack of aerial threat.

His strength is his finishing, which in all honesty is the only reason why he is a regular number in the super eagles. If Ighalo or Ideye had nacho's finishing they would be regular starters on the team.

Interesting use of the word "Inconsistent". Code word for "he makes mistakes so its not good enough for me".
For every time you can point to a failed attempt, I can point to a successful attempt, but whatever, lets look at stats.

Before we start, let us consider that Ihenacho is 21 years old! Not many 21 years olds in football can be considered as having a "consistent" attribute, but again,...whatever.

Source: https://www.premierleague.com/stats/top/players/touches

Inconsistent first touch and passing
To determine first touch, we will use a combination of "Touches" and "Passes+Shots" completed, with the assumption that the higher the ratio, the better your consistency with your ball control and ability to pass the ball to a team mate or shoot towards goal.

Looking at forwards only:
Jamey Vardy - 687 touches leading to 372 passes and 51 shots = 61.5% completion rate
Shinji Okazaki - 581 touches leading to 353 passes and 28 shots = 65% completion rate
Kelechi Iheanacho - 219 touches leading to 147 passes and 10 shots = 71.5% completion rate

Conclusion: with less touches and playing time, stats show that every time Nacho touches the ball, he has a much high pass completion and shot rate than any other forward in the current Leceister squad. You might argue he can improve and I wont disagree. But to blame his touch consistency when stats clearly show he has the highest consistency when it comes to passes and shots compared per touches in his team is just fake news.

Lack of work rate/physicality
First of all, work rate and physicality are 2 separate things. You cant mix them up as the same stat.
Also, work rate and physicality are not technical stats.

With regards to work rate, agreed, he is not an EPL workhouse like Albrighton or Stilwell, running for 120mins game in game out.
Part of it is that he doesnt play enough minutes to last 90mins. Part of it is also it is just not his game.

With regards to physicality, its kind of hard to measure with stats, so I will give that to you as well. He is only 21 and growing into his body so I expect him to become more physical as player with more experience and as he grows into his body.

Now that is just a pure falsehood! Easy to prove with stats.

Vardy with 29 Appearances, 22 fouls, 3 yellow cards (0.75 fouls per appearance)
Okazaki with 24 Appearances, 18 fouls, 2 yellow cards (0.75 fouls per appearance)
Nacho with 15 Appearances, 10 fouls, 1 yellow card (0.66 fouls per appearance)

So I ask you,...where do you find your points, because the facts dont back them up. He fouls less than his teammates, and has only 1 yellow card this season (dont know where you got your many yellow cards from).

Lack of Aerial Threat
Very hard to measure. Stats dont really track aerial threat, so I will concede this to you. He does score headed goals, but it is clearly not a strength.

To conclude, people like to say lots of stuff about Iheanacho which are just not factual.
I think it is because as an African, he has to work 2wice as hard as anyone else his age to prove himself, even with his own people.
Maybe if you replace your rose tinted glasses with some clear ones, you might start to see that yes this kid has much to learn, but he is well ahead on his growth curve based on the chances he has been given so far and all he needs to improve is more opportunities.

So be it. I still think La Liga will embrace his talents more than the EPL, especially since they value less physicality and gra gra, and value actual skill and football IQ which Nacho has in spades.